July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

TJ Smith Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The TJ Smith Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each year in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $2,500,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 TJ Smith Stakes was won by Chautauqua from English with Fell Swoop third.

With the introduction of The Championships to the Sydney autumn racing carnival, The TJ Smith Stakes takes its place on the first day, alongside the feature race of the day, the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap.

2017 TJ Smith Stakes info
Date: Saturday 1st April 2017
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,500,000
2017 Winner: Chautauqua

The TJ Smith Stakes is a good quality weight-for-age race over the sprint distance of 1200m and tends to attract the best sprinters going around at this time of year. It has grown to become a race for good horses and is named after legendary Sydney trainer, and father of Gai Waterhouse, Tommy Smith.

The level weight conditions favour the best horses in the race and more often than not, with any luck in running, the best horses will figure in the finish due to the weight advantage. A number of classy gallopers have won the TJ Smith Stakes over the years including champion mare Black Caviar (2013 & 2011), Takeover Target (2009) and Apache Cat (2008).

Races such as the Gr2 Canterbury Stakes and Gr1 George Ryder Stakes are typical lead up events, while the Gr1 Newmarket Handicap in Melbourne has provided multiple recent winners in Chautaqua (2015), Lankan Rupee (2014) and Black Caviar (2011).

The upcoming Gr1 All Aged Stakes on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival may be on the cards for horses contesting this event and the most recent horses to claim the TJ Smith Stakes & All Aged Stakes double are Bentley Biscuit (2007) and Shamekha (2005).

Classy mare Melito (2010) travelled to Eagle Farm in Brisbane after winning this race and finished second in the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap before winning the Gr1 Winter Stakes.

Chautauqua (2015-2017) finished third in the Gr1 Ryder Stakes over 1200m at Rosehill before storming home from last on the tuirn to score an outstanding victory in this event for the third year in a row and recent TJ Smith Stakes winners include Lankan Rupee (2014) and Black Caviar (2013).

2017 TJ Smith Stakes result
1. $5.50 Chautauqua 58.5 Tommy Berry
2. $12.00 English 56.5 Blake Shinn
3. $21.00 Fell Swoop 58.5 Joao Moreira

then followed
4. $31.00 Tivaci 58.5 Damien Oliver
5. $11.00 Voodoo Lad 58.5 Damian Lane
6. $3.40 Russian Revolution 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $11.00 Malaguerra 58.5 Ben Melham
8. $51.00 Derryn 56.5 Regan Bayliss
9. $51.00 Rebel Dane 58.5 Craig Williams
10. $9.00 Spieth 58.5 Hugh Bowman
11. $41.00 Japonisme 58.5 Glyn Schofield
12. $41.00 Target In Sight 58.5 Brenton Avdulla
13. $7.00 Astern 56.5 James Doyle
14. $41.00 Rock Magic 58.5 Jarrad Noske
15. $41.00 Terravista 58.5 Corey Brown

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:12.44

Other group races on TJ Smith Stakes Day include the Gr2 Chairmans Handicap, Gr3 PJ Bell Stakes, Gr3 ATC Carbine Club Stakes, Gr3 Adrian Knox Stakes and Gr3 Kindergarten Stakes.

Bet now on the TJ Smith Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
TJ Smith Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Chautauqua English Fell Swoop 1:12.4
2016 Chautauqua Fell Swoop English 1:10.1
2015 Chautauqua Lord Of The Sky Terravista 1:11.0
2014 Lankan Rupee Rebel Dane Buffering 1:12.1
2013 Black Caviar Epaulette Bel Sprinter 1:09.6
2012 Master Of Design Rain Affair Hallowell Belle 1:08.8
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Triple Honour 1:08.7
2010 Melito Hot Danish Mic Mac 1:09.2
2009 Takeover Target Northern Meteor Apache Cat 1:09.0
2008 Apache Cat Reigning To Win Takeover Target 1:11.8
2007 Bentley Biscuit Black Ink Virage De Fortune 1:10.6
2006 Red Oog Glamour Puss Snitzel 1:09.8
2005 Shamekha Fastnet Rock Only Words 1:12.1
2004 Dilly Dally Legally Bay Mistegic 1:09.9
2003 Spinning Hill Yell Bel Esprit 1:10.7
2002 Phoenix Park Fair Embrace Spinning Hill 1:10.3
2001 Century Kid Spinning Hill Falvelon 1:09.8
2000 Shy Hero Easy Rocking High Rolling 1:39.3
1999 Ab Initio Padstow Life Of Riley 1:10.7
1998 La Baraka Masked Party Coogee Walk 1:11.6
1997 Mahogany Ruffles Clang 1:09.1

Best Australian Bookmaker for TJ Smith Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.