May: BTC Cup
June: Queensland Oaks : Stradbroke : Queensland Derby : Atkins Stakes : Tatts Tiara

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Winter Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Winter Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for fillies & mares that takes place annually each June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Winter Stakes was won by Miss Cover Girl from Azkadellia with Sultry Feeling third.

Run as the 'Tatt's Tiara' in recent years, the Winter Stakes is usually held on the final day of the Eagle Farm racing carnival alongside the Gr3 Tattersall's Cup and Gr3 WJ Healy Stakes, but was held at the Gold Coast racecourse for the 2014/2015 racing season.

2017 Winter Stakes info
Date: Saturday 24th June 2017
Track: Gold Coast racecourse, Gold Coast
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Weight for age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2016 Winner: Miss Cover Girl

The Winter Stakes is a good quality race for fillies & mares only and is the final Group 1 race of the Brisbane winter racing carnival. The weight-for-age conditions of the race provides a distinct advantage to the better performed females contesting the event and more often than not the best filly or mare will greet the judge.

Some classy mares have won the Winter Stakes over the years including the likes of Red Tracer (2013), Melito (2010), Dane Ripper (1997), Tripping (1996) and Mamzelle Pedrille (1995).

Female gallopers who contested the Gr3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes at Doomben earlier in the carnival or the Gr2 Dane Ripper Quality at Eagle Farm are most likely to go on and tackle the Winter Stakes, as they are both run under similar conditions for fillies & mares only. In recent times Red Tracer (2013) and Cosmic Endeavour (2014) borh claimed the Dane Ripper Quality & Winter Stakes double.

Srikandi (2015) won the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap over 1350m at Doomben on her way to winning this event and recent Winter Stakes winners have been Cosmic Endeavour (2014) and Red Tracer (2013).

2016 Winter Stakes result
1. $21.00 Miss Cover Girl 57.0 Damian Browne
2. $3.00 Azkadellia 57.0 Nicholas Hall
3. $26.00 Sultry Feeling 57.0 James Orman

then followed
4. $61.00 Onemorezeta 57.0 Jeff Lloyd
5. $20.00 Jessy Belle 57.0 Chris Symons
6. $7.50 Cradle Me 57.0 Zac Purton
7. $5.50 Precious Gem 57.0 Blake Shinn
8. $7.00 Danish Twist 57.0 Hugh Bowman
9. $21.00 Scarlet Billows 57.0 Jack Hill
10. $12.00 Artistry 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
11. $26.00 Blueberry Hill 55.5 Jim Byrne
12. $51.00 Beatniks 57.0 Paul Hammersley
13. $41.00 Echo Gal 57.0 Ms Tegan Harrison
14. $81.00 Palazzo Pubblico 57.0 Michael Cahill
15. $51.00 Press Report 57.0 Ryan Wiggins

Margins: 1L, 1.3L
Time: 1:24.90

Winter Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Miss Cover Girl Azkadellia Sultry Feeling 1:24.9
2015 Srikandi Avoid Lightning Lumosty 1:24.3
2014 Cosmic Endeavour Angel Of Mercy Avoid Lightning 1:22.0
2013 Red Tracer Streama Floria 1:24.2
2012 Pear Tart Skyerush Gai's Choice 1:23.3
2011 Yosei Beaded Born To Rock 1:22.2
2010 Melito Wealth Princess Beaded 1:21.8
2009 Russeting Prima Nova Subtle Cove 1:22.6
2008 Absolut Glam Fritzs Princess Alverta 1:24.0
2007 Nova Star Fashions Afield J Adane 1:22.0
2006 La Sizeranne Gee I Jane Villa Bled 1:31.2
2005 Charmview Tui Song Yvonne 1:28.9
2004 Miss Potential Paraca Rodrigo Rose 1:28.1
2003 Mon Mekki With My Recurring 1:27.7
2002 Heptonstall Princess Clang Omens 1:28.6
2001 Porto Roca Dynamic Love Heather 1:28.7
2000 Bonanova Crestfallen Stella Maree 1:28.6
1999 Bonanova Staging Amnesia 1:31.3
1998 Razer Blade Zalinda Gunalda 1:28.5
1997 Dane Ripper Amber Monica 1:34.1
1996 Tripping Bionic Bess Mamzelle Pedrille 1:28.9
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille Futile Lady Nickelii 1:19.3
1994 Zetoile Danjiki Racing Ruler 1:28.7
1993 Rich Pageantry Bankers Hope Ivy Cottage 1:27.7
1992 Blushing Bijou Miss Muncher Guilded Queen 1:28.0
1991 Rose Road Hysterical Fanfrelita 1:28.2
1990 Pipers Belle Astral Whistling 1:30.2
1989 La Posette Shuzohra Christen 1:29.5

Best Australian Bookmaker for Winter Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.