horse racing info


The BMW is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held annually in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $1,500,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 The BMW was won by Jameka from Humidor with Exospheric third.

Previously known as the 'Tancred Stakes', The BMW takes place during the Golden Slipper Festival at Rosehill.

2018 The BMW info

Date: Saturday 31st March 2018
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,500,000
2017 Winner: Jameka
bet now 2018 The BMW odds

The BMW is the premier distance race of the Rosehill autumn carnival and the assembled field is generally of high quality. The race is run at weight-for-age and has grown into one of the most anticipated races on the Australian racing calendar each year in Sydney. In form New Zealand stayers often make their presence felt in this race.

Many classy gallopers have won The BMW including outstanding mare Makybe Diva (2005), Ethereal (2002), Tie The Knot (1999-2000), Might And Power (1998), Octagonal (1996-97) and New Zealander Our Poetic Prince (1989).

In recent times the Gr1 Ranvet Stakes has been a reasonable guide to this race, with Silent Achiever (2014), Manighar (2012), Tuesday Joy (2008), Eremein (2006)band Tie The Knot (2000) all winning the Ranvet Stakes & BMW double in the same year.

It's worth noting that It's A Dundeel went on to win the Gr1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Randwick after finishing second in this event, while Niwot (4th in 2012) won the Gr1 Sydney Cup following his fourth placing finish here.

Jameka (2017) finished runner-up in the Gr1 Australian Cup over 2000m at Flemington in Melbourne before making the trek to Sydney to donkey lick them in this event and recent The BMW winners include Preferment (2016) and Hartnell (2015).

2017 The BMW result

1. $3.10 Jameka 56.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $3.70 Humidor 58.5 Damian Lane
3. $8.00 Exospheric 59.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $18.00 Who Shot Thebarman 59.0 Tim Clark
5. $18.00 Lasqueti Spirit 52.0 Brenton Avdulla
6. $31.00 Libran 59.0 Glyn Schofield
7. $41.00 Grand Marshal 59.0 Jason Collett
8. $4.40 Tavago 58.5 Blake Shinn

Margins: 6.5 len, 1.8 len
Time: 2:35.65

Other group races on BMW day include the Gr1 Vinery Club Stakes, Gr2 Tulloch Stakes, Gr2 Emancipation Stakes, Gr3 Star Kingdom Stakes, Gr3 TL Baillieu Handicap and Gr3 Neville Sellwood Stakes.

Bet now on the The BMW

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

The BMW recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Jameka Humidor Exospheric 2:35.6
2016 Preferment Who Shot Thebarman Grand Marshal 2:28.6
2015 Hartnell To The World Beaten Up 2:29.5
2014 Silent Achiever It's A Dundeel Fiorente 2:34.2
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Silent Achiever Sangster 2:33.7
2012 Manighar Americain Drunken Sailor 2:28.3
2011 Cedarberg Mourayan Linton 2:29.7
2010 Littorio Zavite No Wine No Song 2:29.3
2009 Fiumicino Thesio Viewed 2:34.2
2008 Tuesday Joy Princess Coup Sirmoine 2:35.8
2007 Blutigeroo Railings Gorky Park 2:26.5
2006 Eremein Railings Our Smoking Joe 2:27.0
2005 Makybe Diva Grand Armee Vouvray 2:26.9
2004 Grand Zulu Mummify Makybe Diva 2:25.7
2003 Freemason Northerly Republic Lass 2:26.8
2002 Ethereal Universal Prince Rain Gauge 2:29.3
2001 Curata Storm Kaapstad Way Giovana 2:27.7
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella 2:30.8
1999 Tie The Knot Intergaze Arena 2:29.0
1998 Might And Power Gold Guru Doriemus 2:27.2
1997 Octagonal Arkady Istidaad 2:27.4
1996 Octagonal Count Chivas Saintly 2:27.3
1995 Stony Bay Jeune Turridu 2:27.2
1994 Miltak Dark Ksar It's All In Fun 2:29.5
1993 Kaaptive Edition Rough Habit Veandercross 2:27.1
1992 Heroicity Aquidity Rough Habit 2:29.1
1991 Dr Grace Shuzohra Castletown 2:28.1
1990 Sydeston Lord Hybrow Horlicks 2:38.1
1989 Our Poetic Prince Top Class Apollo Run 2:32.2
1988 Beau Zam Highland Chieftain Vaguely Pleasant 2:36.2