horse racing info

Emancipation Stakes

The Emancipation Stakes is a Group 2 race for fiiles & mares that takes place each April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight & penalty conditions with $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Emancipation Stakes was won by Prompt Response from Oregon's Day with Dixie Blossoms third.

Held on the final day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival during the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Emancipation Stakes takes place alongside the Group 1 The BMW.

Emancipation Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Prompt Response

The Emancipation Stakes is a race for fillies & mares only over a mile that usually sees more than handy females going around for the spoils on offer. The set weight & penalty conditions of the race gives an advantage to the better performed fillies & mares and the winner is usually an above average galloper who can hold their own in stronger races.

A mares only race such as the Gr1 Coolmore Classic held earlier in the carnival at Rosehill is a possible lead up race for females contesting this event and generally the winner is a well performed mare just below the upper echelon of females.

The better class mares contesting this race will more than likely go on to the upcoming Gr1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes at Randwick which is a females only race. In recent times Amanpour (2nd in 2015) and Diamond Drille (4th in 2014) went on to victory in the Queen Of The Turf Stakes after performing admirably in the Emancipation Stakes.

Occasionally a high class mare such as the ill-fated Hot Danish (2007) will tackle this race and prove too good on the day due to the weighted conditions of the race.

Prompt Response (2018) ran fifth in the Coolmore Classic over 1500m at Rosehill before winning this event and recent Emancipation Stakes winners include Zanbagh (2016-2017) and Catkins (2014-15).

2018 Emancipation Stakes result

1. $5.00 Prompt Response 57.0 Damien Oliver
2. $9.00 Oregon's Day 55.0 Michael Dee
3. $4.00 Dixie Blossoms 57.0 Corey Brown

then followed
4. $6.00 Foxplay 58.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $3.70 Daysee Doom 58.0 Andrew Adkins
6. $7.00 Eckstein 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
7. $31.00 Zanbagh 57.0 Mark Zahra

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.3 len
Time: 1:31.11

Bet now on the Emancipation Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Emancipation Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Emancipation Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Prompt Response Oregon's Day Dixie Blossoms 1:31.1
2017 Zanbagh Daysee Doom Dixie Blossoms 1:34.5
2016 Zanbagh Supara Amicus 1:28.4
2015 Catkins Amanpour Gypsy Diamond 1:29.2
2014 Catkins Sharnee Rose Angel Of Mercy 1:31.9
2013 Skyerush Floria Cathay Lady 1:35.4
2012 Skyerush Fibrillation Divorces 1:35.3
2011 Sworn To Secrecy Skyerush Shannara 1:39.4
2010 Sacred Choice Gold Water Strawberry Field 1:35.1
2009 Amberino Bernicia Reggie 1:38.3
2008 Kosi Bay Translate Camarilla 1:37.4
2007 Hot Danish Kosi Bay More Than Lucky 1:37.1
2006 Fantasia Octapussy Villa Bled 1:34.5
2005 Perfect Promise Uprize Tui Song 1:37.0
2004 Hec of a Party Zanna In a Bound 1:35.9
2003 Faith Hill Moon Dragon Barawin 1:38.2
2002 Miss Zoe Sibyl Call Me Lily 1:36.0
2001 Heather Poppett More Haste 1:37.1
2000 Beat The Fade Mary Machree Camena 1:39.3
1999 Staging Come On Grace Zastov 1:38.4
1998 Palia Amber Shindig 1:40.2
1997 Almazyoon Admiring Glances Kenbelle 1:35.9
1996 Star County Money Thinks Nobellotto 1:36.3
1995 Vital Consent Futile Centisle 1:35.5
1994 Ausmart Lady's Way Balmeressa 1:39.0
1993 Hysterical Tarare Beachside 1:36.4
1992 Romanee Conti Hysterical Grillita 1:35.0
1991 Ice Cream Sundae Princess Pushy Mammy 1:38.1
1990 Top Dance Richochet Rosie Pagan Dance 1:45.0
1989 Twining Sharmeen Jacobite Queen 1:41.5
1988 Balmoral Careless Love Shinakima 1:44.8