horse racing info

Storm Queen Stakes

The Storm Queen Stakes is a Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies held annually in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weights and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Storm Queen Stakes was won by Hiyaam from Unforgotten with Aloisia third.

In recent years the Storm Queen Stakes has been run as the 'Vinery Stud Stakes' and takes place on the final day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival on the same day as the Group 1 The BMW during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Storm Queen Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2018 Winner: Hiyaam
bet now 2018 Storm Queen Stakes odds

The Storm Queen Stakes is a fillies only event and the first autumn race over 2000m specifically for fillies, providing the perfect lead up race to the Gr1 ATC Australian Oaks over 2400m in a fortnight at Randwick. In recent times Heavenly Glow (2008) and Serenade Rose (2006) have taken out the Storm Queen Stakes & ATC Oaks double.

Smart filly Purple (2009) failed in the ATC Oaks after winning this race, but was good enough to win the Gr1 Queensland Oaks during the Brisbane winter carnival in May.

Generally attracting quality fillies, some memorable Storm Queen Stakes winners include Mosheen (2012), Miss Finland (2007), Special Harmony (2004), Champagne (1998) & Research (1989), who all continued on to become top class mares of the Australian turf.

Hiyaam (2018) ran third in the Gr2 Phar Lap Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill before leading all the way in this event and recent Storm Queen Stakes winners include Montoya's Secret (2017) and Single Gaze (2016).

2018 Storm Queen Stakes result

1. $12.00 Hiyaam 56.0 Michael Dee
2. $3.70 Unforgotten 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $5.00 Aloisia 56.0 Mark Zahra

then followed
4. $7.00 Alizee 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
5. $12.00 Danzdanzdance 56.0 Michael Walker
6. $21.00 Torvill 56.0 Christian Reith
7. $201.00 Madame Markievicz 56.0 Corey Brown
8. $10.00 Semari 56.0 Craig Williams
9. $101.00 Miss Admiration 56.0 Tim Clark
10. $9.50 Bring Me Roses 56.0 Luke Currie
11. $16.00 Rimraam 56.0 Damien Oliver
12. $26.00 Dancers 56.0 Jason Collett
13. $21.00 All Too Soon 56.0 Tye Angland

Margins: 1.8 len, 2.3 len
Time: 2:03.52

Other group races on Storm Queen Stakes day feature the Gr2 Tulloch Stakes, Gr3 Star Kingdom Stakes, Gr3 TL Baillieu Handicap and Gr3 Neville Sellwood Stakes.

Bet now on the Storm Queen Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Storm Queen Stakes odds.

Storm Queen Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Hiyaam Unforgotten Aloisia 2:03.5
2017 Montoya's Secret Nurse Kitchen Harlow Gold 2:09.7
2016 Single Gaze Valley Girl Happy Hannah 2:03.0
2015 Fenway First Seal Thunder Lady 2:03.2
2014 Lucia Valentina Solicit Forever Loved 2:07.0
2013 Norzita Longport Habibi 2:06.1
2012 Mosheen Streama Aliyana Tilde 2:02.3
2011 Mirjulisa Lass Fibrillation Brazilian Pulse 2:03.4
2010 Faint Perfume Valdemoro Absolute Faith 2:02.5
2009 Purple Gold Water Gallica 2:07.0
2008 Heavenly Glow Galileo's Daughter Pentura 2:09.2
2007 Miss Finland Banc De Fortune Just Dancing 2:03.8
2006 Serenade Rose Beauty Watch Flora Danica 2:01.3
2005 Hollow Bullet Lotteria She's Justa Tad 2:00.5
2004 Special Harmony Shamekha Ike's Dream 2:01.8
2003 Shower Of Roses Bramble Rose Rasberry Ripple 2:04.4
2002 Sixty Seconds Hosannah Quays 2:00.1
2001 Tempest Mom Rose Archway Calm Smytzer 2:02.9
2000 Hill Of Grace Kirkstall Lane Miss Zoe 2:02.4
1999 Savannah Success Light Work Camarena 2:02.4
1998 Champagne On Air For The Moment 2:02.4
1997 Danendri Ellakapella Assertive Lass 2:01.4
1996 Saleouos Kenbelle Hello Darl 2:03.0
1995 Northwood Plume Vedodara Euphoria 2:02.9
1994 Alcove Sky Watch Nobellotto 2:03.9
1993 Slight Chance Burst Orsay 2:01.6
1992 Electrique My Brilliant Star Richfield Lady 2:03.4
1991 All Mine Marinella Mannerism 2:02.6
1990 A Little Kiss Kensington Gardens Domino 2:08.8
1989 Research Courtalista Salisopra 2:07.7
1988 Tennessee Vain Savana City Constant Star 2:10.5