horse racing info

Star Kingdom Stakes

The Star Kingdom Stakes is a Group 3 open handicap race held annually each March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Star Kingdom Stakes was won by Jungle Edge from Dal Cielo with Impending third.

Run as the 'Sebring Stakes' in recent years, the Star Kingdom Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 The BMW on the final day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

2018 Star Kingdom Stakes info

Date: Saturday 31st March 2018
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2017 Winner: Jungle Edge

The Star Kingdom Stakes is an open handicap that typically attracts solid, in-form sprinters or horses who cannot run out a strong 1200m and tend to race best at the shorter distance of 1100 metres.

A race such as the Gr2 Challenge Stakes is a good lead up race to this event and the Star Kingdom Stakes is generally taken out by above average types rather than the elite. In recent times Master Of Design (3rd in 2012) went on to win the Gr1 TJ Smith Stakes after running third in this race.

Jungle Edge (2017) ran third in the Gr1 The Galaxy over 1100m at Rosehill before leading all the way to win this event and recent Star Kingdom Stakes winners include Malaguerra (2016) and Generalife (2015).

2017 Star Kingdom Stakes result

1. $2.80 Jungle Edge 56.0 Kevin Forrester
2. $6.50 Dal Cielo 54.0 Glyn Schofield
3. $5.00 Impending 56.0 James Doyle

then followed
4. $12.00 Kudero 54.0 Christian Reith
5. $4.60 Danish Twist 57.5 Hugh Bowman
6. $26.00 Wouldnt It Be Nice 54.0 Andrew Adkins
7. $8.00 Sort After 54.0 Tim Clark

Margins: 2 len, 1.8 len
Time: 1:13.19

Bet now on the Star Kingdom Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Star Kingdom Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Jungle Edge Dal Cielo Impending 1:13.1
2016 Malaguerra Target In Sight Coolring 1:09.4
2015 Generalife Target In Sight Hot Snitzel 1:09.6
2014 Flamberge Hot Snitzel Bennetta 1:11.7
2013 Hot Snitzel Smokin' Joey See The World 1:10.7
2012 Zaratone Winter King Master Of Design 1:03.0
2011 Swift Alliance News Alert Cardinal Virtue 1:03.4
2010 Swift Alliance Welkom Gold Typhoon Zed 1:04.2
2009 The Jackal Black Prince Kiloton 1:03.8
2008 Hoystar Strong Choice Master Magic 1:09.0
2007 Posadas Century Serb New Edge 1:05.0
2006 Mustard Shannon Bank Denmarket 1:04.4
2005 Red Oog Presently Damigos 1:04.2
2004 Taikun Bradshaw Naden 1:03.0
2003 Bradshaw Into The Night Pompeii 1:02.8
2002 Bradshaw Canny Fly Pembleton 1:03.9
2001 Camena Steel City Cosset 1:02.7
2000 King Of Acapulco Bradshaw Stanzaic 1:04.0
1999 Return To Go Catalan Opening Just Like Crystal 1:03.6
1998 Hockney Hot As Hell Regal Curator 1:03.0
1997 Citi Success Montana Sands Another Victor 1:03.3
1996 Moss Rocket Identikit Batwing 1:03.9
1995 Legal Agent Vibrant Delight Marcede 1:03.1
1994 Jetball Clan O'sullivan Welsh Miner 1:05.1
1993 Friend's Venture Sublimate Classic Magic 1:03.1
1992 Friend's Venture Noble Lancer Final Card 1:04.0
1991 Kessem The Bullfighter Sanction 1:03.0
1990 Investor West Dancer Boasting 1:04.7
1989 Magic Gleam Ima Carpenter Lygon Arms 1:05.6
1988 Lunch On Sunday Nova Edition Rendoo 1:04.6