horse racing info

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each year in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $4,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was won by Winx from Gailo Chop second and Happy Clapper third.

The $18 Million two-day 'The Championships' during the Sydney autumn racing carnival resulted in a huge prizemoney boost for the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes. It's now a $4 Million event and the world's richest turf race over 2000 metres.

This race is held on the second day of The Championships, along with the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks, Group 1 Sydney Cup and Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes. The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes now attracts plenty of interest in the autumn.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes info

Date: Saturday 14th April 2018
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $4,000,000
2018 Winner: Winx

The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a good horse's race and the 2000m distance at level weights makes it a very attractive race for quality thoroughbreds to contest during The Championships in the autumn. The massive prizemoney on offer will make this race a tempting one for many trainers and owners, with overseas interest sure to see a classy galloper or two make the trip to Sydney in April

The race generally assembles a top class field of gallopers and some outstanding horses have saluted over the years, including the likes of Winx (2017-18), More Joyous (2012), Grand Armee (2004-05), Lonhro (2003), Might And Power (1998), Rough Habit (1992) and Our Poetic Prince (1989).

Races such as the Gr1 Ranvet Stakes run under the same conditions earlier in the carnival are good lead up races to this event, while three-year-olds who contested the Gr1 ATC Derby or Gr1 Rosehill Guineas might consider running here. Metal Bender (2nd in 2009) won the Rosehill Guineas prior to dead-heating for second in this race.

Middle distance types who ran in the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap the week before might also be tempted to go on and tackle this race, especially those horses better suited to the 2000m distance of this race.

Oustanding mare More Joyous (2012) won the Doncaster on her way to winning this race and claimed the Doncaster Mile & ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes double in the process.

Winx (2017-2018) scored a brilliant win in the Gr1 George Ryder Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill before producing another classy victory in this event and recent ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners include Lucia Valentina (2016) and Criterion (2015).

sportsbet odds

2018 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes result

1. $1.24 Winx 57.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $26.00 Gailo Chop 59.0 Mark Zahra
3. $11.00 Happy Clapper 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $14.00 Humidor 59.0 Blake Shinn
5. $51.00 Comin' Through 59.0 Michael Walker
6. $201.00 Consensus 57.0 Jason Collett
7. $101.00 Odeon 59.0 Damian Lane
8. $31.00 Ambitious 59.0 Craig Williams
9. $151.00 Classic Uniform 59.0 Andrew Adkins
10. $61.00 Success Days 59.0 Joao Moreira

Margins: 3.8 len, 0.3 len
Time: 2:01.65

Other group races on AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes day include the Gr2 Royal Sovereign Stakes, Gr2 Sapphire Stakes and Gr3 Percy Sykes Stakes.

Bet now on the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes odds.

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Winx Gailo Chop Happy Clapper 2:01.6
2017 Winx Hartnell Sense Of Occasion 2:07.2
2016 Lucia Valentina The United States Happy Clapper 2:04.8
2015 Criterion Red Cadeaux Royal Descent 2:05.3
2014 It's A Dundeel Sacred Falls Carlton House 2:03.7
2013 Reliable Man It's A Dundeel Happy Trails 2:01.8
2012 More Joyous Manighar Secret Admirer 2:05.3
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Sacred Choice Syreon 2:07.7
2010 Road To Rock Triple Honour Monaco Consul 2:03.8
2009 Pompeii Ruler =2 Sarrera =2 Metal Bender 2:07.1
2008 Sarrera Nom Du Jeu Tuesday Joy 2:03.5
2007 Desert War Haradasun Spirit of Tara 2:04.2
2006 Eremein Aqua d' Amore Ike's Dream 2:02.4
2005 Grand Armee Delzao Mummify 2:02.6
2004 Grand Armee Lonhro Pentastic 2:03.2
2003 Lonhro Pentastic Republic Lass 2:04.8
2002 Defier Freemason Emission 2:04.3
2001 Shogun Lodge Go Flash Go El Mirada 2:05.5
2000 Georgie Boy Cronus Referral 2:07.7
1999 Intergaze Istidaad Sky Heights 2:03.8
1998 Might And Power Champagne Catalan Opening 2:05.1
1997 Intergaze Octagonal All Our Mob 2:01.2
1996 Doriemus Juggler Super Slew 2:01.3
1995 Jeune Danewin March Hare 2:02.9
1994 Durbridge Romanee Conti Maraakiz 2:03.9
1993 Veandercross Durbridge Rough Habit 2:01.7
1992 Rough Habit My Eagle Eye Aquidity 2:03.8
1991 Stylish Century Royal Creation Livistona Lane 2:02.9
1990 Sydeston Better Loosen Up Rajamah 2:17.0
1989 Our Poetic Prince Dandy Andy Beau Zam 2:10.3
1988 Authaal Ostensible Algonquin Club 2:13.2