, Tulloch Stakes Preview - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Tulloch Stakes

The Tulloch Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-old colts & geldings held each year in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Tulloch Stakes was won by Quick Thinker from Zebrowski with Diasonic third.

The Tulloch Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Tancred Stakes and Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes on the final day of Rosehill's three-day Golden Slipper Festival during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Tulloch Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th March 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Colts & Geldings - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Quick Thinker

The Tulloch Stakes is held one week before the Group 1 ATC Australian Derby at Randwick and gives three-year-old colts & geldings a final hit out at 2000m in preparation for the extra 400 metres of the Derby the following week.

In recent times Angel Of Truth (2019), Levendi (2018) and Jon Snow (2017) have all taken out the Tulloch Stakes & ATC Derby double, with Starcraft (2004) prior to that.

A race like the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes at Rosehill provides a good lead-up to the Tulloch Stakes and Hauraki (2015) finished runner-up in the Phar Lap Stakes before winning here.

Typically assembling a field of more than handy types rather than superstars, good horses such as Ivory's Irish (1995), Mahogany (1994) and Durbridge (1991) were all successful in this race before going on to win the Derby.

Angel Of Truth (2019) ran fifth in a BM78 race over 1900m at Rosehill before leading all the way to win this event for Kembla Grange trainer Gwenda Maxwell.

Recent Tulloch Stakes winners include Levendi (2018) and Jon Snow (2017).

2020 Tulloch Stakes result

1. $2.70 Quick Thinker 56.0 James McDonald
2. $4.00 Zebrowski 56.0 Hugh Bowman
3. $13.00 Diasonic 56.0 Nash Rawiller

then followed
4. $10.00 Relucent 56.0 Tommy Berry
5. $26.00 Blazing Sunrise 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
6. $10.00 Fortress Command 56.0 Jason Collett
7. $91.00 Highmaster 56.0 Glen Boss
8. $6.00 Pride Of Adelaide 56.0 Tim Clark
9. $19.00 Sirmaze 56.0 Tom Marquand

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.8 len
Time: 2:05.75

Other group races on Tulloch Stakes day include the Group 2 Emancipation Stakes, Group 3 Star Kingdom Stakes, Group 3 TL Baillieu Handicap and Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes.

Bet now on the Tulloch Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Tulloch Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Tulloch Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Quick Thinker Zebrowski Diasonic 2:05.7
2019 Angel Of Truth Madison County Cossetot 2:08.9
2018 Levendi Astoria Weather With You 2:04.1
2017 Jon Snow Prized Icon Captain Duffy 2:09.8
2016 Old North Torgersen Multifacets 2:01.9
2015 Hauraki Omeros Merion 2:03.1
2014 Gallatin Singing Flame Best Case 2:07.5
2013 Philippi Hippopus Sir Denzel 2:05.0
2012 Polish Knight Iggi Pop Rekindled Alliance 2:01.7
2011 Fast Clip I Think I Do Shootoff 2:03.8
2010 Count Encosta Descarado Maluckyday 2:03.9
2009 Harris Tweed Dr Doutes Old Jock 2:07.2
2008 Book Of Kells Rios Prince De Galles 2:08.0
2007 Tipungwuti Pacino Carnegie House 2:01.8
2006 Manton Sepia Goldtown 2:02.1
2005 Stella Grande Roving Owl King Johny 2:03.0
2004 Starcraft Strafed Delzao 2:01.6
2003 Natural Blitz Platinum Scissors So Assertive 2:00.9
2002 Prince Of War Valedict My Tally 2:02.0
2001 Zareyev Universal Prince Off Guard 2:00.7
2000 Shogun Lodge Now Voyager Padfoot Charlie 2:02.3
1999 Lease Lawyer Allez Suez 2:04.3
1998 Northern Drake Dodge Adam 2:01.3
1997 Heroes Return Torbellino Emerald Cut 2:01.7
1996 Peep On The Sly Al Faaris Pay Back Time 2:00.3
1995 Ivory's Irish Few Are Chosen Blevic 2:02.6
1994 Mahogany Tenor Sable Dreamer 2:02.6
1993 The Bill Take Home Pay Telesto 2:01.6
1992 Zamination My Wanderin' Star Cobbora 2:03.8
1991 Durbridge Siegfried Bold Rancher 2:00.3
1990 Fill The Bill Fastarc Century Reign 2:08.9
1989 Our Krona Royal Pardon Pabulum 2:06.7
1988 Mighty Willem Big Top Prince Lochinvar 2:09.0