horse racing info

Sydney Cup

The Sydney Cup is a Group 1 open handicap race held annually each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 3200 metres and worth $2,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Sydney Cup was won by Who Shot Thebarman from Zacada with Sir Charles Road third.

With the introduction of the $18 Million The Championships for the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Sydney Cup now takes place on second day of The Championships, alongside the feature race of the day, the $4 Million Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks.

Sydney Cup info

Date: Saturday 13th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 3200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,000,000
2018 Winner: Who Shot Thebarman

The Sydney Cup is the major handicap distance race of the Sydney autumn carnival for open horses and it's run over 3200m (2 miles), which is the same distance as Australia's most famous race, the Melbourne Cup. The race generally attracts the best available local stayers and any interstate raiders up to the challenge, but is typically not a high quality affair ike its Melbourne counterpart.

Over the years classy gallopers such as Makybe Diva (2004), Tie The Knot (1998-99) and Count Chivas (1996) have all won this race and Makybe Diva went on to win the Melbourne Cup that same year on the way to claiming three consecutive wins in the great race.

The Gr2 Chairman's Handicap held on the first day of the Randwick carnival is generally a good guide to the Sydney Cup with The Offer (2014), Jessicabeel (2010), No Wine No Song (2008), Henderson Bay (2002), Linesman (1997) and King Aussie (1990) all taking out the Chairmans Hcp & Sydney Cup double in recent times.

Who Shot Thebarman (2018) ran third in the Gr1 The BMW over 2400m at Rosehill before scoring a well deserved win in this event and recent Sydney Cup winners include Polarisation (2017) and Gallante (2016).

sportsbet odds

Terms & conditions apply. Excludes VIC, NSW, SA & WA.

2018 Sydney Cup result

1. $18.00 Who Shot Thebarman 55.0 Blake Shinn
2. $91.00 Zacada 50.5 Dean Holland
3. $7.00 Sir Charles Road 50.0 Andrew Adkins

then followed
4. $13.00 Auvray 53.0 Glyn Schofield
5. $151.00 Lasqueti Spirit 51.0 Jay Ford
6. $41.00 Patrick Erin 51.0 Craig Newitt
7. $101.00 Doukhan 50.0 Yusuke Ichikawa
8. $3.70 Almandin 57.0 Damien Oliver
9. $9.50 Ventura Storm 53.5 Glen Boss
10. $41.00 Five To Midnight 52.5 Michael Dee
11. $151.00 Admiral Jello 50.0 Grant Buckley
12. $61.00 Libran 54.0 Brenton Avdulla
13. $10.00 Lord Fandango 51.5 Craig Williams
14. $31.00 Peribsen 50.0 Corey Brown
15. $51.00 Cismontane 50.0 James Innes Jnr (a)
16. $21.00 Ormito 50.0 Dean Yendall
FF $6.00 Aloft 51.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 0.1 len, 1 len
Time: 3:20.04

Bet now on the Sydney Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sydney Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Sydney Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Who Shot Thebarman Zacada Sir Charles Road 3:20.0
2017 Polarisation Who Shot Thebarman Big Duke 3:29.1
2016 Gallante Libran Grand Marshal 3:24.5
2015 Grand Marshal Who Shot Thebarman Like A Carousel 3:24.7
2014 The Offer Opinion Sertorius 3:23.8
2013 Mourayan Norsqui Aliyana Tilde 3:24.2
2012 Niwot Efficient Once Were Wild 3:20.4
2011 Stand To Gain Older Than Time Solid Billing 3:29.1
2010 Jessicabeel Divine Rebel Harris Tweed 3:21.8
2009 Ista Kareem Divine Rebel Mr Tipsy 3:27.4
2008 No Wine No Song Pentathon Lang 3:25.5
2007 Gallic Irazu No Wine No Song 3:27.3
2006 County Tyrone Zabeat Three Chimneys 3:22.6
2005 Mahtoum County Tyrone Philosophe 3:27.6
2004 Makybe Diva Manawa King Mummify 3:21.2
2003 Honor Babe County Tyrone Grey Song 3:30.5
2002 Henderson Bay Mr. Prudent Spirit of Westbury 3:26.7
2001 Mr. Prudent Prophet's Kiss Starina 3:26.9
2000 Streak Sharscay Ears' Ronny 3:30.3
1999 Tie The Knot Praise Indeed Lahar 3:22.8
1998 Tie The Knot Doriemus Praise Indeed 3:25.7
1997 Linesman Nothin' Leica Dane Ebony Grosve 3:20.5
1996 Count Chivas The Bandette Beaux Art 3:26.3
1995 Daacha Dark Ksar Gold Sovereign 3:24.3
1994 Cross Swords Hear That Bell Azzaam 3:28.8
1993 Azzaam Te Akau Nick Subzero 3:28.3
1992 My Eagle Eye Aquidity Castletown 3:23.8
1991 Just A Dancer Castletown I'm In Heaven 3:19.0
1990 King Aussie Chaleyer Palace Revolt 3:36.6
1989 Palace Revolt Coshking Regal Chela 3:38.1
1988 Banderol Round The World Equity Girl 3:34.1