horse racing info

TL Baillieu Handicap

The TL Baillieu Handicap is a Group 3 handicap race for two-year-old gallopers held annually in April at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and offers $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 TL Baillieu Handicap was won by The Mission from Astoria with Muraahib third.

This race has been run as 'The Schweppervescence' in recent years and takes place on Group 1 The BMW day on the final day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival.

2018 TL Baillieu Handicap info

Date: Saturday 31st March 2018
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 2yo Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2017 Winner: The Mission

The TL Baillieu Handicap is raced over a distance of 1400 metres and the handicap conditions of this race suits improving two-year-olds who can beat the handicapper and get in with a light weight.

Suiting those 2yo gallopers who might not be up the high pressure scamper of the feature race of the day, the Golden Slipper Stakes, the TL Baillieu Handicap provides the ideal lead up to the Gr1 ATC Champagne Stakes over 1600m on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival at Randwick.

Both Skilled (2010) and Onemorenomore (2009) won the TL Baillieu Handicap on their way to winning the ATC Champagne Stakes while prior to that Mentality (2006) took out both races.

The Mission (2017) ran fourth in the Gr2 Pago Pago Stakes over 1200m at Rosehill before scoring an easy victory in this event and recent TL Baillieu Handicap winners include Attention (2016) and Takedown (2015).

2017 TL Baillieu Handicap result

1. $21.00 The Mission 56.5 Corey Brown
2. $3.00 Astoria 57.0 James Doyle
3. $7.00 Muraahib 58.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $8.50 Smooth Landing 54.0 Jay Ford
5. $9.00 All Too Huiying 56.5 Tim Clark
6. $7.00 Marsupial 57.0 Brenton Avdulla
7. $7.50 Villa Carlotta 55.5 Hugh Bowman
8. $19.00 She's On Que 54.0 Regan Bayliss
9. $12.00 Albumin 57.0 Jason Collett

Margins: 2.5 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:27.51

Bet now on the TL Baillieu Handicap

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

TL Baillieu Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 The Mission Astoria Muraahib 1:27.5
2016 Attention Prized Icon Crafty Cop 1:23.8
2015 Takedown Street Rapper Mine Two 1:24.1
2014 Bachman Scratch Me Lucky Veuvelicious 1:26.8
2013 Champollion Ideal Guide Rightoncue 1:26.2
2012 Flying Snitzel Dear Demi Strength 1:23.4
2011 Do You Think Cocky Raider Satirical Boy 1:24.5
2010 Skilled Fashion Kudakulari 1:24.5