, Tancred Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Tancred Stakes

The Tancred Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for stayers that takes place in March each year at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and offers prize money of $1,500,000 for entrants.

Verry Elleegant won the 2020 Tancred Stakes from Mustajeer second and Avilius third.

Run as the 'The BMW' in recent years, the Tancred Stakes features one week after the Golden Slipper Stakes meeting at Rosehill during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Tancred Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th March 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,500,000
2020 Winner: Verry Elleegant
bet now Tancred Stakes odds

The Tancred Stakes is the premier distance race of the Rosehill autumn carnival and awlays attracts a strong field. It's run at weight-for-age and has grown into one of the most anticipated races on the Australian racing calendar each year in Sydney. In form New Zealand stayers often make their presence felt in this race.

Many classy gallopers have won Tancred Stakes including outstanding mare Makybe Diva (2005), Ethereal (2002), Tie The Knot (1999-2000), Might And Power (1998), Octagonal (1996-97) and New Zealander Our Poetic Prince (1989).

In recent times the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes has been a reasonable guide to this race with Avilius (2019), Silent Achiever (2014), Manighar (2012), Tuesday Joy (2008), Eremein (2006) and Tie The Knot (2000) all winning the Ranvet Stakes & BMW double in the same year.

It's worth noting that It's A Dundeel went on to win the Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Randwick after finishing second in this event, while Niwot (4th in 2012) won the Group 1 Sydney Cup following his fourth placing finish here.

Avilius (2019) captured the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes over 2000m at Rosehill before scoring a classy victory in this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Tancred Stakes winners include Almandin (2018) and Jameka (2017).

2020 Tancred Stakes result

1. $2.15 Verry Elleegant 56.5 James McDonald
2. $7.00 Mustajeer 59.0 Nash Rawiller
3. $5.50 Avilius 59.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $15.00 Mirage Dancer 59.0 Tommy Berry
5. $41.00 Carif 58.5 Tim Clark
6. $9.50 Mugatoo 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $21.00 Angel Of Truth 58.5 Glen Boss
8. $41.00 Danceteria 59.0 Brenton Avdulla
9. $14.00 Southern France 59.0 Tom Marquand

Margins: 4.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:31.25

Other group races on Tancred Stakes day include the Group 1 Vinery Club Stakes, Group 2 Tulloch Stakes, Group 2 Emancipation Stakes, Group 3 Star Kingdom Stakes, Group 3 TL Baillieu Handicap and Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes.

Bet now on the Tancred Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Tancred Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Tancred Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Verry Elleegant Mustajeer Avilius 2:31.2
2019 Avilius Big Duke Rondinella 2:37.1
2018 Almandin Ambitious Who Shot Thebarman 2:30.1
2017 Jameka Humidor Exospheric 2:35.6
2016 Preferment Who Shot Thebarman Grand Marshal 2:28.6
2015 Hartnell To The World Beaten Up 2:29.5
2014 Silent Achiever It's A Dundeel Fiorente 2:34.2
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Silent Achiever Sangster 2:33.7
2012 Manighar Americain Drunken Sailor 2:28.3
2011 Cedarberg Mourayan Linton 2:29.7
2010 Littorio Zavite No Wine No Song 2:29.3
2009 Fiumicino Thesio Viewed 2:34.2
2008 Tuesday Joy Princess Coup Sirmoine 2:35.8
2007 Blutigeroo Railings Gorky Park 2:26.5
2006 Eremein Railings Our Smoking Joe 2:27.0
2005 Makybe Diva Grand Armee Vouvray 2:26.9
2004 Grand Zulu Mummify Makybe Diva 2:25.7
2003 Freemason Northerly Republic Lass 2:26.8
2002 Ethereal Universal Prince Rain Gauge 2:29.3
2001 Curata Storm Kaapstad Way Giovana 2:27.7
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella 2:30.8
1999 Tie The Knot Intergaze Arena 2:29.0
1998 Might And Power Gold Guru Doriemus 2:27.2
1997 Octagonal Arkady Istidaad 2:27.4
1996 Octagonal Count Chivas Saintly 2:27.3
1995 Stony Bay Jeune Turridu 2:27.2
1994 Miltak Dark Ksar It's All In Fun 2:29.5
1993 Kaaptive Edition Rough Habit Veandercross 2:27.1
1992 Heroicity Aquidity Rough Habit 2:29.1
1991 Dr Grace Shuzohra Castletown 2:28.1
1990 Sydeston Lord Hybrow Horlicks 2:38.1
1989 Our Poetic Prince Top Class Apollo Run 2:32.2
1988 Beau Zam Highland Chieftain Vaguely Pleasant 2:36.2