, Doncaster Handicap - Randwick Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Doncaster Handicap

The Doncaster Handicap is a Group 1 open handicap that takes place annually each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and offers $3,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 Doncaster Handicap was won by Nettoyer from Star Of The Seas with Brandenburg third.

Also known as the Doncaster Mile, the race is now the feature event on the first day of the 'The Championships', the newly introduced two-day $18 Million autumn racing initiative that has completely revamped the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

As a result of the revamp, the TJ Smith Stakes, Group 1 ATC Australian Derby and Group 1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes all received prize money boosts and were added to the first day of The Championships to set up a huge day of feautre racing action this autumn.

Doncaster Handicap info

Date: Saturday 3rd April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $3,000,000
2020 Winner: Nettoyer

The Doncaster Handicap is one of the premier mile races on the Australian racing calendar each year and the highlight of the Randwick autumn racing carnival. It is one of the toughest 1600m handicap events in Australian racing and the assembled field is typically filled with top quality gallopers, which tends to make finding the winner a tough assignment, unless there is an outstanding galloper entered.

Four-year-olds have a good record of winning this race in recent times and if they can race on the pace then they are even more suited. The race is the autumn equivalent of the other great Randwick mile race of the spring, the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, and the talented Racing To Win (2006) was the last galloper to win the Epsom Handicap & Doncaster Mile double.

Multiple horses have claimed successive Doncaster Handicap victories in recent years including Sacred Falls (2013-14), Pharoah (1994-95) and grand miler Super Impose (1990-91).

The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes, held during the Rosehill carnival, has proven a good guide to the winner of this race over the past few years, with Winx (2016), Vision And Power (2009), Haradasun (2007), Racing To Win (2006) and Grand Armee (2nd in 2003) all going on to win this race after winning the Ryder. The brilliant Winx claimed the Group 2 Apollo Stakes, Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes and George Ryder Stakes before scoring a stirring victory here.

Outstanding galloper Pierro (2nd in 2013) won the George Ryder Stakes before finishing runner-up in this event, while Love Conquers All (2nd in 2011) ran second in both races.

Happy Clapper (2018) finished second in the Group 1 Ryder Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill before scoring a quality victory in this event and recent Doncaster Mile winners include It's Somewhat (2017) and Winx (2016).

2209 Doncaster Handicap result

1. $41.00 Nettoyer 51.5 James Innes Jnr
2. $20.00 Star Of The Seas 53.0 Sam Clipperton
3. $7.50 Brandenburg 50.5 Glen Boss

then followed
4. $6.00 Melody Belle 57.0 Opie Bosson
5. $31.00 Kings Will Dream 56.5 Joshua Parr
6. $21.00 Con Te Partiro 53.5 Tim Clark
7. $15.00 Kolding 57.0 Hugh Bowman
8. $17.00 Super Seth 55.0 Robbie Dolan
9. $17.00 Cascadian 54.0 Tommy Berry
10. $31.00 Mr Quickie 55.0 Glyn Schofield
11. $19.00 Yulong Prince 54.5 Brenton Avdulla
12. $21.00 Mister Sea Wolf 56.0 James McDonald
13. $61.00 Night's Watch 54.0 Adam Hyeronimus
14. $8.50 Shared Ambition 52.5 Jay Ford
15. $201.00 Tally 53.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
16. $13.00 Imaging 53.5 Kerrin McEvoy
17. $21.00 Prince Fawaz 50.5 Jean Van Overmeire
18. $16.00 Quackerjack 53.5 Ms Rachel King
19. $14.00 Homesman 56.5 Nash Rawiller
20. $61.00 Best Of Days 55.5 Jason Collett

Margins: 0.5 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:37.77

Other group races on Doncaster Day include the Group 2 Chairmans Handicap, Group 3 PJ Bell Stakes, Group 3 ATC Carbine Club Stakes, Group 3 Kindergarten Stakes and Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes.

Bet now on the Doncaster Handicap

We recommended Unibet for the best Doncaster Handicap odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Doncaster Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Nettoyer Star Of The Seas Brandenburg 1:37.7
2019 Brutal Dreamforce Hartnell 1:37.6
2018 Happy Clapper Comin' Through Arbeitsam 1:33.1
2017 It's Somewhat Happy Clapper Sense Of Occasion 1:39.1
2016 Winx Happy Clapper Azkadellia 1:35.2
2015 Kermadec Real Impact Royal Descent 1:37.6
2014 Sacred Falls Royal Descent Weary 1:39.5
2013 Sacred Falls Pierro Norzita 1:37.9
2012 More Joyous Shoot Out Yosei 1:35.5
2011 Sacred Choice Love Conquers All Bold Glance 1:39.4
2010 Rangirangdoo Road To Rock Brilliant Light 1:34.2
2009 Vision And Power Black Piranha Whobegotyou 1:36.6
2008 Triple Honour Casino Prince Pinnacles 1:38.6
2007 Haradasun Mentality Divine Madonna 1:38.0
2006 Racing To Win Johan's Toy Bentley Biscuit 1:34.1
2005 Patezza Court's In Session Danni Martine 1:35.9
2004 Private Steer Grand Armee Ambulance 1:35.5
2003 Grand Armee Dash For Cash Boreale 1:36.8
2002 Sunline Shogun Lodge Defier 1:35.2
2001 Assertive Lad Shogun Lodge Weasel Will 1:35.9
2000 Over Sunline Zastov 1:35.0
1999 Sunline Lease Juggler 1:36.4
1998 Catalan Opening Juggler Iron Horse 1:38.0
1997 Secret Savings All Our Mob Ravarda 1:35.5
1996 Sprint By Danasinga Juggler 1:35.4
1995 Pharaoh Aunty Mary Brave Warrior 1:38.0
1994 Pharaoh Kingston Bay Telesto 1:38.2
1993 Skating Soho Square Gifted Poet 1:34.0
1992 Soho Square Old Role Prince Sallieri 1:35.7
1991 Super Impose Royal Creation Shaftesbury Avenue 1:36.5
1990 Super Impose Shaftesbury Avenue Our Grey Invader 1:38.4
1989 Merimbula Bay Tjarra Lygon Arms 1:34.7
1988 Lygon Arms Sound Horizon Our Waverley Star 1:37.2