horse racing info

Kindergarten Stakes

The Kindergarten Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds that takes place in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Kindergarten Stakes was won by Paquirri from Legend Of Condor with Lean Mean Machine third.

Following the revamp of the Sydney autumn racing carnival the Kindergarten Stakes is now one of a number of feature races on the first day of The Championships, with the main race of the day being the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap.

Kindergarten Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Paquirri

The Kindergarten Stakes is a race for two-year-olds only and suits speedy youngsters who may not be able to run a strong 1200m. Horses who may have contested the premier 2yo event of the autumn, the $3.5Million Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes the previous week at Rosehill may consider backing up in this event.

Races like the Gr2 Magic Night Stakes for fillies and Gr2 Pago Pago Stakes for colts & geldings held earlier in the carnival at Rosehill are ideal lead-up events as they are run under similar conditions, although both of those races are over 1200m, while the Kindergarten Stakes is only 1100m.

In recent years the Kindergarten Stakes has provided multiple group race winners with Wanted (2009) winning Flemington's premier autumn sprint, the Gr1 Newmarket Handicap the following year, and Solar Charged (2010) taking out the Gr3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield later in the spring.

Paquirri (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr2 Todman Stakes over 1200m at Randwick before scoring in this event at big odds and recent Kindergarten Stakes winners include Property (2017) and El Divino (2016).

2018 Kindergarten Stakes result

1. $51.00 Paquirri 56.5 Andrew Adkins
2. $4.40 Legend Of Condor 56.5 Mark Zahra
3. $3.80 Lean Mean Machine 56.5 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $5.50 Stunts 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $7.50 Ennis Hill 54.5 Stephen Baster
6. $16.00 Munich 56.5 Glyn Schofield
7. $10.00 Vendome 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
8. $5.50 Enbihaar 54.5 Cory Parish
9. $301.00 Mandalong Emperor 56.5 Jay Ford

Margins: 1.5 len, 1 len
Time: 1:03.25

Bet now on the Kindergarten Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Kindergarten Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Kindergarten Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Paquirri Legend Of Condor Lean Mean Machine 1:03.2
2017 Property Condor Heroes Sheikha 1:06.7
2016 =1 El Divino =1 Astern Geneteau 1:04.9
2015 Furnaces Regatta Rebel Redzel 1:04.8
2014 Hallowed Crown Washington Heights Klammer 1:06.2
2013 Safeguard Everage Diamond Oasis 1:04.5
2012 Dances On Stars Agueda Ichihara 1:03.8
2011 Anise Queenian Hot Snitzel 1:04.6
2010 Solar Charged Elimbari Georgette Silk 1:04.6
2009 Wanted Purdey Our Joan Of Arc 1:03.2
2008 Mr. Profumo Krupt Mazuka 1:05.1
2007 Forensics Warhead I Am Invincible 1:04.4
2006 Plagiarize Gold Edition Big Joker 1:03.8
2005 Flying Pegasus Mnemosyne Assertive Choice 1:04.0
2004 Crimsom Reign Segments Charge Forward 1:04.0
2003 Niello Dorky Secret Land 1:04.4
2002 Snowland Planchet Kidman 1:04.0
2001 Royal Courtship Ha Ha Donna Natalia 1:04.9
2000 Belle Du Jour Continuum Fetes Galantes 1:05.1
1999 Easy Rocking Align Smarts 1:05.5
1998 Peat Bog Manana Electrifying 1:04.6
1997 Guineas All The Rave Encounter 1:04.6
1996 Armidale The Oscars Intergaze 1:03.9
1995 Furacao Brummel Show Of Force 1:09.0
1994 Dr. Zackary Simulcast Dapper Magic 1:04.8
1993 Bint Marscay Danger Blue Fields 1:03.4
1992 Slight Chance Khoshaf My Marilyn 1:03.8
1991 Vionnet Electrique If I'm Special 1:06.3
1990 Bold Tie St. Jude Lavinia's Prayer 1:03.8
1989 Show County Paris Opera Tiny Arch 1:03.6
1988 Star Watch Tattwood Run Straight Run 1:04.1