horse racing info

ATC Carbine Club Stakes Preview

The ATC Carbine Club Stakes is a Group 3 races for three-year-olds that takes place in April each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 ATC Carbine Club Stakes was won by Muraaqeb from Dissolution with Holy Snow third.

One of a big number of feature races held on the first day of The Championships, including the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap, the ATC Carbine Club Stakes was awarded Group 3 status for the 2010/2011 racing season.

ATC Carbine Club Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Set Weight + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Muraaqeb

The ATC Carbine Club Stakes tends to attract those three-year-old gallopers who may not be up to better quality 3yo events held during the carnival such as the Gr1 ATC Derby or Gr1 ATC Oaks and the race generally assembles a field of more than handy types.

Good types such as Le Zagaletta (1999), Juggler (1995) and Golden Sword (1993) have managed to claim victory over the years but the race itself tends to produce better than average types rather than any superstars of the turf.

A race like the Gr2 Phar Lap Stakes at Rosehill provides a good lead-up race to this event, although the Phar Lap is run at level weights whereas this event is run under set weight + penalty conditions, favouring the better performed horses engaged. Toydini (2013) managed to take out the Phar Lap Stakes & ATC Carbine Club Stakes double.

The Gr3 Frank Packer Plate may be next on the agenda for horses contesting this race and in recent times He's Our Rokki (2016), Hi World (2015) and Fat Al (2012) have all taken out the Carbine Club Stakes & Frank Packer Plate double.

Muraaqeb (2018) finished unplaced in the Gr2 Phar Lap Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill before taking out this event and recent ATC Carbine Club Stakes winners include Acatour (2017) and He's Our Rokkii (2016).

2018 ATC Carbine Club Stakes result

1. $21.00 Muraaqeb 56.0 Damien Oliver
2. $10.00 Dissolution 56.0 Christian Reith
3. $4.20 Holy Snow 59.0 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $10.00 Villermont 59.0 Mark Zahra
5. $18.00 Icon Of Dubai 56.0 Zac Purton
6. $8.50 Beau Geste 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $12.00 Sondelon 56.0 Tim Clark
8. $8.00 Sambro 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
9. $4.60 Assimilate 57.0 Tye Angland
10. $19.00 Think Straight 56.0 Glyn Schofield
11. $51.00 Charlie Chap 56.0 Michael Walker

Margins: 0.8 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:34.91

Bet now on the ATC Carbine Club Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best ATC Carbine Club Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

ATC Carbine Club Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Muraaqeb Dissolution Holy Snow 1:34.9
2017 Acatour Theanswermyfriend Veladero 1:41.0
2016 He's Our Rokkii Odyssey Moon Queen Of Wands 1:37.8
2015 Hi World Farolitos Inauguration 1:38.0
2014 Gypsy Diamond Casino Dancer Rock Sturdy 1:40.3
2013 Toydini Hawkspur Bradman 1:36.1
2012 Fat Al Now You Know Galah 1:34.0
2011 Needs Further Divorces Shadows In The Sun 1:35.9
2010 Al Dhafra Euphemism Shamardashing 1.37:1
2009 Orca The Astronomer Rhyno Chaser 1.36.3
2008 Roas To Rock Rockwood Running to Win 1.39.0
2007 Yasumori Empires Choice Raheeb 1.39.0
2006 Belmonte Prince Arthur Zenarta 1.37.1
2005 Magnetism Afraah Sobraine 1.38.8
2004 Toulouse Lautrec Red Terror Harley Ma 1.36.6
2003 Who Did It Galante Mythological 1.37.6
2002 Wet Lips Grand City Raise A King 1.36.7
2001 Spurred On Restless Pennywort 1.36.0
2000 Valuate Akhenaton Sports Freak 1.35.4