, PJ Bell Stakes Preview - Randwick - The Championships
horse racing info

PJ Bell Stakes Preview

The PJ Bell Stakes is a Group 3 event for three-year-old Fillies held at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales, during The Championships in April. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight plus penalties conditions and is worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 PJ Bell Stakes was won by Rubisaki from Wayupinthesky with Akari third.

Upgraded to a Group 3 event for the 2013/2014 racing season, the PJ Bell Stakes is held on the same day as the $3 million Group 1 Doncaster Mile on the first day of The Championships.

PJ Bell Stakes info

Date: Saturday 3rd April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Rubisaki

The PJ Bell Stakes is feature sprint event for three-year-old fillies on the first day of The Championships and generally attracts the best 3yo females going around at the time. A number of classy gallopers have won the PJ Bell Stakes over the years including Red Tracer (2011), Ortensia (2009), Private Steer (2003) and Dane Ripper (1997).

With the 2014 changes in progamming for the Sydney autumn racing carnival and the increased prize money for the PJ Bell Stakes, this race is sure to gain more prominence in coming years. Cosmic Endeavour (2nd in 2014) went on to win the Group 3 Sapphire Stakes on the second day of 'The Championships' after finishing runner-up in this race.

Rubisaki (2020) captured the Group 2 Kewney Stakes over 1400m at Flemington in Melbourne before heading north to Sydney to score a classy victory in this event for the Patrick Payne stable.

Recent PJ Bell Stakes winners include Multaja (2019) and Houtzen (2018).

2019 PJ Bell Stakes result

1. $2.70 Rubisaki 57.0 Nash Rawiller
2. $8.50 Wayupinthesky 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
3. $17.00 Akari 55.5 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $6.50 Kiamichi 59.0 James McDonald
5. $101.00 St Covet's Spirit 54.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
6. $15.00 Sangria 55.0 Tommy Berry
7. $17.00 Heart Of The Oak 54.0 James Innes Jnr
8. $15.00 Dazzling Damsel 54.0 Adam Hyeronimus
9. $7.00 Juan Diva 54.0 Jason Collett
10. $16.00 Plaquette 54.0 Ms Rachel King
11. $31.00 Pin Sec 56.0 Hugh Bowman
12. $151.00 Saas Fee 54.0 Jay Ford
13. $31.00 Regimental Band 54.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 1.5 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:12.74

Bet now on the PJ Bell Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best PJ Bell Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

PJ Bell Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Rubisaki Wayupinthesky Akari 1:12.7
2019 Multaja Into The Abyss So Taken 1:12.6
2018 Houtzen =2 Manicure =2 Problem Solver 1:08.6
2017 Diddums Prompt Response Smart Amelia 1:12.3
2016 Tempt Me Not Pearls Egyptian Symbol 1:11.0
2015 Miss Cover Girl Peeping Matilija 1:11.6
2014 Politeness Cosmic Endeavour Miniature 1:12.4
2013 Catkins Diamond Earth Brave Soul 1:10.8
2012 Ever The Same Aerobatics Leviosa 1:10.0
2011 Red Tracer Steps In Time Palomares 1:10.8