horse racing info

Adrian Knox Stakes

The Adrian Knox Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race for three-year-old fillies that takes place annually each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales.The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Adrian Knox Stakes was won by Luvaluva from Pretty To Sea with Chilly Cha Cha third.

With the advent of the newly formed The Championships for this year's Sydney Autumn racing carnival, the Adrian Knox Stakes finds itself on the first day of the two-day extravaganza, alongside the feature race of the day, the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap. The winner of this race is exempt from a ballot on the Gr1 ATC Australian Oaks for fillies the following week.

Adrian Knox Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Luvaluva

The Adrian Knox Stakes takes place seven days before the AJC Australian Oaks over 2400m at Randwick and gives three-year-old fillies a final hit out at 2000m in preparation for the extra 400 metres of the Oaks the following Saturday. The Adrian Knox Stakes is generally a race for more than handy fillies rather than the silk department.

The Adrian Knox Stakes has proven to be a more than handy guide to the ATC Oaks in recent years with Royal Descent (2013), Rena's Lady (2007), Wild Iris (2004) and Republic Lass (2002) all managing to claim the Adrian Knox Stakes & ATC Oaks double. Gust Of Wind (4th in 2015) managed to win the ATC Australian Oaks at her next start, while Candlebra (2015) & Miss Darcey (2009) both went on to finish third in the ATC Oaks.

A race like the Gr3 Frank Packer Plate on the last day of the autumn carnival at Randwick may also be next on the agenda for any fillies that want to take on the males, and Arabian Gold (2014) is the last galloper to claim the Adrian Knox & Frank Packer Plate double.

Luvaluva (2018) took out the Gr3 Keith F Nolan Classic over 1600m at Kembla Grange before scoring a stylish victory in this event and recent Adrian Knox Stakes winners include Walking Moment (2017) and Diamond Made (2016).

2018 Adrian Knox Stakes result

1. $5.00 Luvaluva 60.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $14.00 Pretty To Sea 53.0 Michael Dee
3. $10.00 Chilly Cha Cha 53.0 Jason Collett

then followed
4. $2.45 Harmattan 53.0 Michael Walker
5. $17.00 Jungle Fish 53.0 Craig Williams
6. $13.00 She's A Treasure 53.5 Damian Lane
7. $6.50 Wedgie 53.0 Tim Clark
8. $41.00 One Fire Beach 53.0 Andrew Adkins
9. $51.00 Missybeel 53.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
10. $101.00 Discreet Charm 53.0 Jay Ford
11. $81.00 The Promise 53.0 Ms Rachel King
12. $31.00 Aonair 53.0 Brenton Avdulla
13. $151.00 Roc Sands 53.0 Cory Parish

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:03.92

Bet now on the Adrian Knox Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Adrian Knox Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Adrian Knox Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Luvaluva Pretty To Sea Chilly Cha Cha 2:03.9
2017 Waking Moment Perfect Rhyme Fallacy 2:12.3
2016 Diamond Made Alaskan Rose Zasorceress 2:08.0
2015 Candelara Rustic Melody Maastricht 2:09.0
2014 Arabian Gold Missvinn Lady Cumquat 2:11.9
2013 Royal Descent Express Power Unimpeachable 2:04.0
2012 Full Of Spirit Plumm Secret Liaison 2:03.1
2011 Crafty Irna Raspberries Becerra 2:04.6
2010 Speedy Natalie Status Quo Spinnawitch
2009 Miss Darcey Above Perfection Nothin' Leica Cat 2:04.0
2008 Raise Dandee Topwin Hey Pretty Katie 2:08.8
2007 Rena's Lady Perfect Drop Upper Echelon 2:09.9
2006 Operetta Lass Anapine Alberghetti 2:03.9
2005 Don't Tell Clang Ponte Piccolo Clevedon 2:07.6
2004 Wild Iris Revolutions Saporito 2:07.5
2003 Crianca Ain't Seen Nothin' Flidais 2:03.7
2002 Republic Lass Factional Moonflute 2:03.6
2001 Lady Mulan Calm Smytzer Life is Beautiful 2:05.8
2000 Dottoressa Avilde Kirkstall Lane 2:05.4
1999 Starry Way Carmelina La Moulin 2:05.3
1998 Star Alight Lahar Novanediym 2:08.4
1997 Sybeel Danceabeel Inshallah 2:02.9
1996 Eureka Jewel Usha Ester Kelly 2:04.7
1995 Circles Of Gold Staying Alive Lament 2:07.7
1994 Seto Flowerian Booked Oaks Day 2:09.0
1993 Lady Agnes Filament Astrolarb 2:04.5
1992 Alma Mater Many Hands Kalamarco 2:06.2
1991 Lee's Bid Marinella Holyport Lass 2:05.9
1990 Dual Treasures Hysterical Aretha 2:08.1
1989 Chaleyer Bay Tree Sober Dancer 2:04.6
1988 Lady Liberty Bravery Palace Revolt 2:07.8