horse racing info

Chairmans Handicap

The Chairmans Handicap is a Group 2 open handicap race held each year in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2600 metres and worth $300,000 in prize money. The 2020 Chairmans Handicap was won by Raheen House from Carif with Mirage Dancer third.

The winner of the Chairman's Handicap race is exempt from a Sydney Cup ballot & penalty and the race is held on the first day of The Championships, alongside the feature race of the day, the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap.

Chairmans Handicap info

Date: Saturday 4th April 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2600 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
2020 Winner: Raheen House

The Chairmans Handicap is a 2600m distance race run under handicap conditions and has traditonally been used as a lead up race to the Group 1 Sydney Cup over 3200m on the second day of The Championships. It is typically a more than handy race for staying types who are looking for an event somewhat closer in distance to the two mile journey of the upcoming Sydney Cup and the field quality tends to vary each year.

A race like the Group 3 NE Manion Cup is a good lead up event and both Big Duke (2017) and Lidari (2016) won the Manion Cup prior to winning the Chairman's Handicap.

As far as the Sydney Cup goes, in recent times The Offer (2014), Jessicabeel (2010), No Wine No Song (2008), Henderson Bay (2002), Linesman (1997) and King Aussie (1990) all won this race and then went on to win the Sydney Cup at their next start. Grand Marshal (4th in 2015) & Mourayan (4th in 2013) proved too strong in the Sydney Cup after running fourth in the Chairman's Handicap beforehand, while Aliyana Tilde (3rd in 2013) ran third in both races.

A number of horses including Older Than Time (2nd in 2012), Once Were Wild (2011), Harris Tweed (3rd in 2010) and Divine Rebel (2009) all managed to place in the Sydney Cup after this race, with Ista Kareem (4th in 2009) winning the Sydney Cup following his fourth here.

Gallic Chieftain (2019) ran fifth in the Yarra Valley Cup over 1950m at Yarra Valley in Victoria before heading north to win this event for Ballarat trainer Archie Alexander.

Recent Chairman's Handicap winners include Sir Charles Road (2018) and Big Duke (2017).

2019 Chairmans Handicap result

1. $16.00 Gallic Chieftain 54.0 Damian Lane
2. $8.00 Shraaoh 53.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $19.00 Semari 53.0 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $10.00 Sir Charles Road 55.5 Blake Shinn
5. $14.00 Self Sense 55.5 Luke Nolen
6. $3.50 Supernova 53.0 Brenton Avdulla
7. $10.00 Goathland 53.0 Jason Collett
8. $51.00 Auvray 55.0 Christian Reith
9. $71.00 Rodrico 53.0 Sam Clipperton
10. $21.00 Vengeur Masque 56.5 Patrick Moloney
11. $15.00 One Foot In Heaven 54.0 Tommy Berry
12. $41.00 Etymology 54.0 Craig Williams
13. $10.00 The Taj Mahal 58.5 James McDonald
14. $51.00 Casterton 53.5 Karis Teetan
15. $101.00 Zacada 54.5 Luke Currie
16. $31.00 Vin De Dance 54.5 Opie Bosson
17. $61.00 High Bridge 53.0 Corey Brown
18. $41.00 Ventura Storm 55.5 Brett Prebble
19. $31.00 Muntahaa 59.0 Mark Zahra

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:47.95

Bet now on the Chairmans Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Chairmans Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Chairmans Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Raheen House Carif Mirage Dancer 2:47.8
2019 Le Juge Igraine Haripour 2:03.7
2019 Gallic Chieftain Shraaoh Semari 2:47.9
2018 Sir Charles Road Ventura Storm Peribsen 2:41.5
2017 Stampede The Chairman Chocante 2:05.2
2017 Big Duke Aloft Rock On 2:52.4
2016 Libran Alegria Cafe Society 2:48.1
2015 Tremec Sir John Hawkwood Grand Marshal 2:49.4
2015 Epingle Index Linked Volkhere 2:18.3
2014 The Offer Tremec Hippopus 2:51.6
2013 Tremec Blood Brotha Aliyana Tilde 2:44.4
2012 Permit Older Than Time Nextanix 2:41.9
2011 Once Were Wild Anudjawun C'est Le Guerre 2:43.4
2010 Jessicabeel No Wine No Song Harris Tweed 2:44.6
2009 Divine Rebel Ice Chariot Common Objective 2:45.9
2008 No Wine No Song Sky Biscuit Resolution 2:49.8
2007 No Wine No Song Prince Arthur Magic Instinct 2:48.1
2006 Fooram Three Chimneys Cross Bar 2:45.0
2005 Philosophe Padfoot Charlie County Tyrone 2:51.1
2004 Mummify County Tyrone Saturday Fever 2:47.7
2003 Grey Song Honor Babe County Tyrone 2:32.4
2002 Henderson Bay Homewrecker Asia 2:29.7
2001 Steel Phoenix Giovana Wellington 2:32.0
2000 Pravda Consolidator Regal Touch 2:31.2
1999 Steel Phoenix Lahar For The Moment 2:48.2
1998 Joss Sticks Pharagrove Court of Honour 2:47.3
1997 Linesman Nimzo Indian Aurum Heights 2:42.6
1996 Cornwall King Racing Writer Seto Bridge 2:44.8
1995 Spiritual Star Daacha Balmeressa 2:50.5
1994 Paris Fire Cross Swords Red For Go 2:49.4
1993 Te Akau Nick Chishendo Mercator 2:43.7
1992 Demerit Val D'Arno Magnolia Hall 2:44.7
1991 Prizaan String Quartet Fill The Bill 2:44.4
1990 King Aussie Chaleyer Gopak 2:47.6
1989 Just Trish Palace Revolt Tawriffic 2:46.5
1988 Round The World Banderol Our Palliser 2:49.4