horse racing info

Epsom Handicap

The Epsom Handicap is a Group 1 handicap race that takes place each October at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Epsom Handicap was won by Hartnell from D'argento with Unforgotten third.

One of the toughest handicap events on the Australian racing calendar each year, the Epsom Handicap is the premier mile race during the Sydney spring racing carnival. Epsom Day features three other quality Group 1 races alongside the feature race of the day. These are the Spring Champion Stakes for three-year-olds, The Metropolitan for stayers, and the Flight Stakes for 3yo fillies.

Epsom Handicap info

Date: Saturday 5th October 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2018 Winner: Hartnell
spring racing Epsom Handicap odds

The Epsom Handicap is the major race of the Randwick spring carnival and is one of two tough Group 1 mile races held at Randwick each year, with the other being the Doncaster Handicap in April.

Rich in history, the Epsom Handicap always attracts many of Australia's best milers. It's been won by some talented gallopers over the years, including Theseo (2008), Racing To Win (2006), Shogun Lodge (2000), Dodge (1998), Filante (1996), and the grand miler Super Impose, who was a memorable dual winner of this race in 1990-91.

Outstanding mare Winx (2015) scored a scintillating victory in this race before heading to Melbourne at her next start to win Australia's greatest weight-for-age race, the Gr1 WS Cox Plate, in outstanding fashion.

In recent years Boban (2013) and Spurtonic (4th in 2013) also headed to the Melbourne spring racing carnival to win the Gr3 Moonga Stakes and Gr2 David Jones Cup respectively at Caulfield. Boban also managed to win the Gr1 Emirates Stakes on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Rangiragdoo (2nd in 2009) took out the Gr2 Crystal Mile (1600m) at Moonee Valley later in the spring on Cox Plate day in Melbourne.

Hartnell (2018) ran fourth in the Gr2 Feehan Stakes over 1600m at Moonee Valley in Melbourne before heading to Sydney to win this event in stylish fashion for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Epsom Handicap winners include Happy Clapper (2017) and Hauraki (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Epsom Handicap result

1. $20.00 Hartnell 57.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $4.40 D'argento 53.5 James McDonald
3. $4.40 Unforgotten 52.5 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $26.00 Shillelagh 53.0 Michael Walker
5. $26.00 Muraaqeb 50.0 Cory Parish
6. $31.00 Arbeitsam 52.5 Tim Clark
7. $19.00 Siege Of Quebec 50.0 James Innes Jnr
8. $15.00 Mister Sea Wolf 52.5 Jason Collett
9. $6.00 Pierata 54.0 Corey Brown
10. $31.00 Invictus Prince 50.0 Andrew Adkins
11. $26.00 Lanciato 52.0 Ms Rachel King
12. $17.00 Tom Melbourne 51.5 Dean Yendall
13. $151.00 Red Excitement 51.0 Damien Thornton
14. $31.00 Champagne Cuddles 51.0 Craig Newitt
15. $101.00 Goodfella 50.0 Jean Van Overmeire
16. $51.00 New Tipperary 51.0 Craig Williams
17. $101.00 Duca Valentinois 53.5 Glyn Schofield
18. $81.00 Paret 50.0 Michael Dee
19. $101.00 Religify 52.5 Jay Ford
20. $61.00 Single Gaze 52.5 Ms Kathy O'Hara

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.8 len
Time: 1:32.73

Bet now on the Epsom Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Epsom Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Epsom Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Hartnell D'argento Unforgotten 1:32.7
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne Snitzson 1:33.1
2016 Hauraki Dibayani Mackintosh 1:33.8
2015 Winx Ecuador Sons Of John 1:34.5
2014 He's Your Man Royal Descent Hooked 1:33.3
2013 Boban Streama Toydini 1:34.4
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rolling Pin 1:34.5
2011 Secret Admirer Pinker Pinker Red Tracer 1:35.5
2010 Captain Sonador Trusting Sacred Choice 1:34.1
2009 Rock Kingdom Rangirangdoo Road To Rock 1:38.6
2008 Theseo Bank Robber Gallant Tess 1:36.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Racing To Win Desert War Malcolm 1:35.1
2005 Desert War Johan's Toy Lotteria 1:34.5
2004 Desert War Our Egyptian Raine Tsuimai 1:37.2
2003 Clangalang Grand Armee Forum Floozie 1:35.2
2002 Excellerator Kingsgate Gordo 1:35.5
2001 Final Fantasy Kingsgate Crawl 1:22.5
2000 Shogun Lodge Landsighting Chinhoyi 1:33.5
1999 Allez Suez Referral Zastov 1:33.7
1998 Dodge Super Slew Iron Horse 1:34.0
1997 Iron Horse Tarnpir Lane Blazing Steel 1:33.5
1996 Filante All Our Mob Iron Horse 1:33.3
1995 Nick's Joy Danewin Juggler 1:34.9
1994 Navy Seal Cobbora Tenor 1:34.9
1993 Golden Sword Telesto Cuidado 1:35.4
1992 Kinjite Prince Of Praise Palatin 1:34.1
1991 Super Impose Livistona Lane Bold Rancher 1:34.7
1990 Super Impose Our Poverty Bay Ricochet Rosie 1:36.1
1989 From The Planet Don't Play Vitalic 1:34.5
1988 Regal Native Imposera Never Quit 1:34.8
1987 Sound Horizon Groucho Tierra Rist 1:35.2
1986 Chanteclair Ma Chiquita Kui-Kong 1:34.9
1985 Magnitude Colour Page Double Dandy 1:35.3
1984 Riverdale Tandrio Hussar's Command 1:35.5
1983 Cool River Leica Planet Ringtrue 1:35.7
1982 Dalmacia Rare Form Ksar Royal 1:36.0
1981 Gold Circle Arbogast Cobra 1:35.0
1980 Bold Diplomat Ariva Landing Prince Pherozshah 1:34.4
1979 Imposing Steel Blade Never Despair 1:35.0
1978 Leontis Blockbuster Lloyd Boy 1:38.2
1977 Raffindale Always Welcome Blockbuster 1:33.8
1976 La Neige Tiger Town Somerset Pride 1:37.1
1975 Authentic Heir Cap D'Antibes Skyjack 1:36.0
1974 Citadel Martindale Itchy Feet 1:36.3
1973 Lord Nelson Samist Portico 1:35.1
1972 Triton Gunsynd Beaches 1:37.2
1971 Gunsynd Genty's Pride Welsh Prince 1:35.8
1970 Ricochet Golden Sound Swift And Sure 1:36.1