, Apollo Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Apollo Stakes

The Apollo Stakes is a Group 2 Weight-for-age race held each February at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and is worth $250,000 in prize money. The 2020 Apollo Stakes was won by Alizee from Dreamforce with Happy Clapper third.

Taking place on the same day as the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes, the Apollo Stakes is the first 1400m group race of the Sydney autumn run under weight-for-age conditions.

Apollo Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th February 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
2020 Winner: Alizee

The Apollo Stakes is a weight-for-age race that tends to attract quality horses and has been won by some good types over the years. Top gallopers such as Melito (2011), Lonhro (2003), Sunline (2000-01), Juggler (1996-7), Naturalism (1993) and At Sea (1988) have all won the Apollo.

The 1400m distance suits good, in form sprinters or classy types returning from a spell and the Group 2 Expressway Stakes held earlier in the carnival at Rosehill is the ideal lead up race for horses contesting this event. Smart mare Appearance (2014) was the last galloper to claim the Expressway Stakes & Apollo Stakes double.

The 2012 Expressway Stakes provided the first three placegetters of the Apollo Stakes with Rain Affair (2012) claiming the Expressway Stakes & Apollo Stakes double, while Shoot Out (2nd in 2012) ran third in the Expressway and Danleigh (3rd in 2012) finished sixth.

The Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes may be next on the agenda for horses contesting this event and classy gallopers Boban (4th in 2014) and Shoot Out (2nd in 2012) went on to win the Chipping Norton Stakes after running in the Apollo Stakes. Winx (2016) was the last galloper to claim the Apollo Stakes & Chipping Norton Stakes double.

Alizee (2020) finished runner-up to Standout in the Group 2 Expressway Stakes over 1200m at Randwick before proving too classy for her rivals in this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Apollo Stakes winners include Winx (2019) and Endless Drama (2018).

2020 Apollo Stakes result

1. $3.60 Alizee 57.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $2.50 Dreamforce 59.0 Nash Rawiller
3. $5.50 Happy Clapper 59.0 Tommy Berry

then followed
4. $9.00 Verry Elleegant 57.0 Tim Clark
5. $16.00 Danzdanzdance 57.0 Tom Marquand
6. $61.00 Life Less Ordinary (Ire) 59.0 Jason Collett
7. $31.00 Hush Writer 59.0 Ms Rachel King
8. $61.00 Angel Of Truth 59.0 Glen Boss
9. $51.00 Come Play With Me 59.0 Brenton Avdulla
10. $21.00 Glenall 59.0 Jamie Spencer

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:24.10

Bet now on the Apollo Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Apollo Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Apollo Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Alizee Dreamforce Happy Clapper 1:24.1
2019 Winx Happy Clapper Egg Tart 1:20.8
2018 Endless Drama Global Glamour Comin' Through 1:22.4
2017 Winx Hartnell Endless Drama 1:22.6
2016 Winx Solicit Hauraki 1:22.0
2015 Contributer Ninth Legion Weary 1:22.0
2014 Appearance Speediness Moriarty 1:21.9
2013 Alma's Fury Tougher Than Ever Daneigh 1:27.3
2012 Rain Affair Shoot Out Danleigh 1:22.3
2011 Melito Hot Danish Centennial Park 1:22.2
2010 Danleigh Rangirangdoo Palacio De Cristal 1:22.9
2009 Tuesday Joy Hurried Choice Gallant Tess 1:25.7
2008 Racing To Win Tuesday Joy Falaise 1:24.3
2007 Desert War Mentality Eremein 1:22.2
2006 Ike's Dream Shania Dane Desert War 1:22.2
2005 Grand Armee Court's In Session Desert War 1:21.1
2004 Private Steer Excellerator Zanna 1:23.5
2003 Lonhro Hoeberg Carael Boy 1:22.5
2002 Ha Ha El Mirada Tie The Knot 1:23.1
2001 Sunline Celestial Choir Referral 1:25.5
2000 Sunline Adam Hire 1:27.7
1999 Kidman's Cove General Nediym Tie The Knot 1:21.3
1998 Quick Flick Future King Masked Party 1:23.4
1997 Juggler Octagonal Circles Of Gold 1:23.8
1996 Juggler Saintly Kingston Bay 1:22.3
1995 Pharaoh March Hare Arborea 1:26.9
1994 Burst Telesto Double Your Bet 1:23.7
1993 Naturalism Kinjite Burst 1:21.9
1992 Quick Score Super Impose Not Related 1:23.0
1991 Triscay Magic Gleam A Little Kiss 1:21.7
1990 Key Dancer Groucho Chaleyer 1:22.9
1989 Beau Zam Eye Of The Sky Never Quit 1:22.3
1988 At Sea High Regard Periscope 1:22.3