, Chipping Norton Stakes - Warwick Farm Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Chipping Norton Stakes

The Chipping Norton Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $600,000 in prize money. The 2020 Chipping Norton Stakes was won by Te Akau Shark from Verry Elleegant with Fierce Impact third.

The winner of the Chipping Norton Stakes is exempt from ballot for both the Doncaster Handicap & Sydney Cup and is the first city group race of the autumn over 1600 metres at weight-for-age.

Chipping Norton Stakes info

Date: Saturday 27th February 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $600,000
2020 Winner: Te Akau Shark
bet now Chipping Norton Stakes odds

The Chipping Norton Stakes is the first Group 1 race of the Sydney autumn racing carnival and generally takes place at Warwick Farm. It is raced under weight-for-age conditions, providing a decided advantage to the better class gallopers engaged.

Top class gallopers Shoot Out (2012-13), Lonhro (2003), Octagonal (1997), Juggler (1996) and Super Impose (1991-92) have all won this race, while both Winx (2016-2019) and Tie The Knot (1999-2002) greeted the judge first on four consecutive occasions.

The Group 2 Apollo Stakes has been a good guide to this race in recent years with Winx (2016), Contributer (2015), Grand Armee (2005) and Tuesday Joy (2009) all taking out the Apollo Stakes & Chipping Norton Stakes double, while multiple gallopers have won or placed in both races.

A race such as the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes at Rosehill may be next on the cards for staying types and Theseo (2010), Grand Armee (2005) and Tie The Knot (2000-01) all managed to take out the Chipping Norton Stakes & Ranvet Stakes double in recent times. Talented John O'Shea trained import Hartnell took out the Group 3 Sky High Stakes after finishing runner-up in the Chipping Norton Stakes beforehand.

Te Akau Shark (2020) took out the BCD Group Sprint over 1400m at te Rapa in New Zealand before producing a strong finish to win this event for Kiwi trainer Jamie Richards.

Recent Chipping Norton Stakes winners include Winx (2016-2019) and Contributer (2015).

2020 Chipping Norton Stakes result

1. $2.80 Te Akau Shark 59.0 Opie Bosson
2. $21.00 Verry Elleegant 57.0 James McDonald
3. $7.00 Fierce Impact 59.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $6.00 Avilius 59.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $16.00 Happy Clapper 59.0 Tommy Berry
6. $101.00 Life Less Ordinary 59.0 Jason Collett
7. $9.50 Homesman 59.0 Ben Melham
8. $5.00 Dreamforce 59.0 Blake Shinn
9. $201.00 Angel Of Truth 59.0 Sam Clipperton
10. $101.00 Djukon 58.5 Glyn Schofield
11. $201.00 Carif 59.0 Tim Clark
12. $21.00 Danceteria 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
13. $201.00 Come Play With Me 59.0 Joshua Parr

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:33.87

Other group races on Chipping Norton Stakes day include the Group 2 Surround Stakes, Group 2 Guy Walter Stakes and Group 3 Liverpool City Cup.

Bet now on the Chipping Norton Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Chipping Norton Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Chipping Norton Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Te Akau Shark Verry Elleegant Fierce Impact 1:33.8
2019 Winx Happy Clapper Unforgotten 1:33.2
2018 Winx Prized Icon Classic Uniform 1:34.9
2017 Winx Lasqueti Spirit Who Shot Thebarman 1:40.3
2016 Winx Dibayani Hauraki 1:33.9
2015 Contributer Hartnell He's Your Man 1:36.5
2014 Boban It's A Dundeel Hawkspur 1:38.1
2013 Shoot Out Monton Danleigh 1:35.8
2012 Shoot Out Danleigh Trusting 1:37.4
2011 Danleigh Centennial Park Sacred Choice 1:35.7
2010 Theseo Rangirangdoo Danleigh 1:37.4
2009 Tuesday Joy Vision And Power Gallant Tess 1:34.8
2008 Casino Prince Tuesday Joy Sniper's Bullet 1:36.4
2007 He's No Pie Eater Desert War Mentality 1:37.6
2006 Desert War Eremein Ike's Dream 1:36.3
2005 Grand Armee Court's In Session Winning Belle 1:35.4
2004 Starcraft Ambulance Gentle Genius 1:40.8
2003 Lonhro Shogun Lodge Dress Circle 1:37.9
2002 Tie The Knot Freemason Universal Prince 1:37.3
2001 Tie The Knot Dottoressa Referral 1:35.8
2000 Tie The Knot Adam Staging 1:37.7
1999 Tie The Knot Forgotten Hero Darazari 1:37.6
1998 Encounter Our Air Filante 1:36.7
1997 Octagonal Juggler Dupain 1:36.3
1996 Juggler March Hare The Penny 1:36.1
1995 Pharaoh Air Seattle Big Dreams 1:38.2
1994 Telesto Clearly Chosen Burst 1:36.4
1993 Kingston Bay Kinjite Planet Ruler 1:36.3
1992 Super Impose Quick Score Kinjite 1:35.0
1991 Super Impose Royal Creation Dr Grace 1:36.0
1990 Dr Grace Lygon Arms Billy Asset 1:37.2
1989 Flotilla Beau Zam Research 1:35.3
1988 Wong Bonhomie Rajamah 1:35.0