horse racing info

Queensland Oaks

The Queensland Oaks is a Group 1 classic race for fillies that takes place annually in June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Queensland Oaks was won by Egg Tart from Pygmy with Oklahoma Girl third.

The Premier event for three-year-old fillies during the Brisbane winter racing carnival, the Queensland Oaks will take place on Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap day after the Oaks Day meeting was cancelled due to inclement weather.

2018 Queensland Oaks info

Date: Saturday 26th May 2018
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2017 Winner: Egg Tart

The Queensland Oaks was first run in 1951 and typically attracts mainly local fillies plus any interested visitors from interstate. The Oaks field is generally not as strong as the Gr1 AJC Oaks at Randwick in Sydney or the Gr1 VRC Oaks at Flemington in Melbourne.

The Gr3 Doomben Roses over 2000m earlier in the carnival at Doomben is the most common Oaks lead up race and Heavenly Glow (2008), Cinque Cento (2005) and The Jewel (2003) all won the Doomben Roses before going on to run a place in this race, while Scarlett Lady (2011) was the most recent filly to claim the Doomben Roses & Queensland Oaks double.

Classy galloper Purple (2009) ran third in the Doomben Roses prior to winning this race and she ventured to Melbourne the following spring to win the Gr2 Matriarch Stakes at Flemington before finishing runner-up in the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown.

After winning the Queensland Oaks as a three-year-old Quintessential (2012) returned the following year to win the Gr3 Chairman's Handicap at Doomben and Gr2 PJ O'Shea Stakes at Eagle Farm.

Egg Tart (2017) won the Gr1 Australasian Oaks over 2010m at Morphettville in Adelaide, South Australia, before heading to Brisbane to win this event and recent Queensland Oaks winners include Provocative (2016) and Winx (2015).

2017 Queensland Oaks result

1. $3.10 Egg Tart 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $41.00 Pygmy 56.5 Tommy Berry
3. $9.00 Oklahoma Girl 56.5 Blake Shinn

then followed
4. $8.00 Kenedna 56.5 John Allen
5. $41.00 Cross Stitch 56.5 Tim Clark
6. $41.00 Invincibella 56.5 Larry Cassidy
7. $61.00 Baysa 56.5 Leith Innes
8. $10.00 Ana Royale 56.5 Mark Zahra
9. $4.00 Dawn Wall 56.5 Hugh Bowman
10. $17.00 Shenandoah 56.5 Damien Oliver
11. $151.00 Kirini 56.5 Ben Melham
12. $26.00 Mia Rosa 56.5 Patrick Moloney
13. $41.00 Blanco Cara 56.5 Jason Collett
14. $101.00 Isn't She Elegant 56.5 Damian Lane
15. $61.00 Perilous Love 56.5 Jeff Lloyd
16. $201.00 Sharp Speedo 56.5 Paul Hammersley

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:16.01

Bet now on the Queensland Oaks

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Queensland Oaks recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Egg Tart Pygmy Oklahoma Girl 2:16.0
2016 Provocative Ambience Falkenberg 2:32.6
2015 Winx Ungrateful Ellen Imperial Lass 2:14.0
2014 Tinto Arabian Gold Sister Souss 2:29.4
2013 Gondokoro Miss Zenella Vaquera 2:32.1
2012 Quintessential Eliza Blues Vittoria 2:38.4
2011 Scarlett Lady Becerra Shez Shez Sinsational 2:29.6
2010 Miss Keepsake Marheta Danaupair Starlet 2:29.4
2009 Purple Nothin Leica Cat Walk In The Park 2:34.3
2008 Riva San Rathsallagh Heavenly Glow 2:36.4
2007 Eskimo Queen Dougs Mate Rose Of Sharon 2:32.6
2006 Allow Vietnam Stars In Flight 2:31.4
2005 Vitesse Dane Cinque Cento Tick By 2:27.4
2004 Vouvray Zumanity Winning Belle 2:27.0
2003 Zagalia The Jewel Penny Gem 2:29.2
2002 Mon Mekki Night Chaser Quays 2:28.8
2001 Ethereal Tempest Morn Altiero 2:28.5
2000 Giovana Citirecruit Figurante 2:27.3
1999 Miss Danehill Episode Lady Elsie 2:34.0
1998 Zacheline Midnight Babe Melora 2:28.0
1997 Crystal Palace Royal Sencherec Calm Abiding 2:35.7
1996 Arctic Scent Sonata Aphasia 2:27.0
1995 Joie Denise Circles Of Gold Kin Narita 2:27.1
1994 Booked Lamour Pindi 2:28.9
1993 Slight Chance Royal Tiara And A Hug 2:31.4
1992 Royal Magic Regal Sea Ramyah 2:30.7
1991 Triscay Lees Bid Volcanic 2:33.0
1990 A Little Kiss Silver Eskimo Gamine 2:31.6
1989 Triumphal Queen Iroquois Miss Gentle Persuasion 2:45.4
1988 Bravery Judyann Ironic Lady 2:29.5