horse racing info

ATC Australian Oaks

The ATC Australian Oaks is a Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place in April each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over 2400 metres under set weight conditions and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2019 ATC Australian Oaks was won by Verry Elleegant from Scarlet Dream with Frankely Awesome third.

Taking place on the second day of 'The Championships', which is one of the biggest race days of the autumn at Randwick, the ATC Australian Oaks is held alongside the $4 Million Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Group 1 Sydney Cup and Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

ATC Australian Oaks info

Date: Saturday 11th April 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2019 Winner: Verry Elleegant

The ATC Australian Oaks is is the premier staying race for three-year-old fillies during the Sydney autumn carnival and is run over the classic oaks distance of 2400m at set weights which favours the better females in the race.

The race is a blue ribbon event for young females on the Australian racing calendar and can increase the winner's value immeasurably should they go on to become a broodmare at the end of their career.

Any three-year-old fillies competing in the Oaks may come via the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes held earlier in the carnival at Rosehill or the Group 2 Adrian Knox Stakes the previous week at Randwick. Verry Elleegant (2019) is the most recent winner of the Storm Queen Stakes and ATC Australian Oaks double, while Royal Descent was the last filly to take out the Adrian Knox Stakes & ATC Australian Oaks double.

The ATC Oaks has been won by some classy fillies over the years including Streama (2012), Grand Archway (1999), Triscay (1991) and Research (1989), who all went on to become quality mares of the Australian turf.

Winx (2nd in 2015), Dear Demi (2nd in 2013) and Gondokoro (3rd in 2013) went on to taste black type success during the Brisbane winter racing carnival in Queensland after placing in the ATC Oaks. Winx took out the Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas at the Sunshine Coast, Dear Demi snared the Group 3 Doomben Roses at Doomben and Gondokoro claimed the Group 2 PJ O'Shea Stakes at Eagle Farm.

Verry Elleegant (2019) took out the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes over 2000m at Rosehill before scoring an easy victory in this event for the Chris Waller stable.

Recent ATC Australian Oaks winners include Unforgotten (2018) and Bonneval (2017).

sportsbet racing form

2019 ATC Australian Oaks result

1. $2.00 Verry Elleegant 56.0 James McDonald
2. $12.00 Scarlet Dream 56.0 Blake Shinn
3. $5.00 Frankely Awesome 56.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $26.00 Aliferous 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $41.00 Maracaibo 56.0 Stephen Baster
6. $26.00 Clementina 56.0 Opie Bosson
7. $21.00 Autumn 56.0 Tim Clark
8. $101.00 Miss Moana 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
9. $71.00 Romani Girl 56.0 Tommy Berry
10. $51.00 Rocknavar 56.0 Jason Collett
11. $5.50 Aristia 56.0 Damian Lane
12. $201.00 Happy Every Day 56.0 Travis Wolfgram
13. $81.00 Imelda Mary 56.0 Glen Boss
FF $101.00 Bye Bye Belle 56.0 John Allen

Margins: 1.8 len, 2.5 len
Time: 2:31.26

Other group races on AJC Australian Oaks day include the Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes, Group 2 Sapphire Stakes and Group 3 Percy Sykes Stakes.

Bet now on the ATC Australian Oaks

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best ATC Australian Oaks odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

ATC Australian Oaks winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Verry Elleegant Scarlet Dream Frankely Awesome 2:31.2
2018 Unforgotten Hiyaam Miss Admiration 2:27.2
2017 Bonneval Perfect Rhyme Lasqueti Spirit 2:36.2
2016 Sofia Rosa Ambience Believe 2:34.2
2015 Gust Of Wind Winx Candelara 2:32.4
2014 Rising Romance Zanbagh Lucia Valentina 2:31.7
2013 Royal Descent Dear Demi Gondokoro 2:34.1
2012 Streama Aliyana Tilde Thy 2:31.
2011 Absolutely Shamrocker Pinker Pinker 2:35.6
2010 Once Were Wild Faint Perfume Run For Naara 2:30.4
2009 Daffodil Think Money Miss Darcey 2;33.3
2008 Heavenly Glow Boundless Galileo's Daughter 2:34.8
2007 Rena's Lady Perfect Drop Tuesday Joy 2:33.7
2006 Serenade Rose Flora Danica Beauty Watch 2:28.6
2005 Dizelle She's Justa Tad Gee That's Tops 2:34.2
2004 Wild Iris French Lady Boulevard Of Dreams 2:30.5
2003 Sunday Joy Shower Of Roses Bramble Rose 2:32.5
2002 Republic Lass Elegant Fashion Quays 2:31.0
2001 Rose Archway Tempest Morn Asia 2:35.8
2000 Coco Cobanna Tributes Miss Zoe 2:32.5
1999 Grand Archway Light Work Camarena 2:33.0
1998 On Air Champagne Star Alight 2:05.5
1997 Danendri Assertive Lass Ellakapella 2:32.3
1996 Kenbelle Eureka Jewel Isolda 2:31.1
1995 Circles Of Gold Love Dance Northwood Plume 2:32.5
1994 Alcove Seto Flowerian Booked 2:34.3
1993 Mahaya Slight Chance Lady Agnes 2:35.7
1992 My Brilliant Star Swiss Cotton Regal Sea 2:32.6
1991 Triscay Lee's Bid Mannerism 2:30.0
1990 Domino Sunshine Sally Kensington Gardens 2:37.0
1989 Research Courtalista Salisopra 2:34.9
1988 Savana City Lady Liberty It's Candide 2:34.9