horse racing info

Phar Lap Stakes

The Phar Lap Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds that takes place each year in March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the autumn carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Phar Lap Stakes was won by Unforgotten from Holy Snow with Hiyaam third.

The race is named after legendary Australian racehorse Phar Lap and is held on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Classic.

Phar Lap Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2018 Winner: Unforgotten

The Phar Lap Stakes is a set weight race for three-year-olds that favours the more talented gallopers entered for the event due to the level weights conditions of the race. It's typically a race won by a more than handy galloper, rather than a topliner, and is tends to suit those horses who do not plan to go on to the longer three-year-old events of the autumn carnival.

In recent years the Phar Lap Stakes has proven a reliable guide to upcoming feature 3yo group races during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. Hauraki (2nd in 2015) and Fast Clip (2nd in 2011) went on to win the Gr2 Tulloch Stakes at Rosehill while Al Dhafra (2nd in 2010) went on to snare the Gr3 ATC Carbine Club Stakes at Randwick.

Classy Melbourne galloper Whobegotyou (2nd in 2009) ran third in the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap after finishing runner-up here, while Predatory Pricer (3rd in 2009) went on to run third in the Gr1 ATC Australian Derby later in the carnival.

Unforgotten (2018) resumed from a spell to score a sizzling victory in this event and recent Phar Lap Stakes winners include Foxplay (2017) and Hattori Hanzo (2016).

2018 Phar Lap Stakes result

1. $9.50 Unforgotten 54.5 Jason Collett
2. $5.50 Holy Snow 56.5 Blake Shinn
3. $13.00 Hiyaam 54.5 Michael Walker

then followed
4. $6.50 Renewal 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
5. $2.90 Shumookh 54.5 Tim Clark
6. $31.00 Sanctioned 56.5 Corey Brown
7. $10.00 Muraaqeb 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $21.00 Paret 56.5 Glyn Schofield
9. $31.00 Octabello 56.5 Michael Dee
10. $10.00 Calculated 56.5 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.1 len, 2.8 len
Time: 1:29.12

Bet now on the Phar Lap Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Phar Lap Stakes odds.

Phar Lap Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Unforgotten Holy Snow Hiyaam 1:29.1
2017 Foxplay Zenalicious Comic Set 1:30.5
2016 Hattori Hanzo Man Of Choice Believe 1:29.9
2015 Winx Hauraki Supara 1:30.2
2014 Traitor Define Guelph 1:29.4
2013 Toydini Ninth Legion Force Command 1:28.9
2012 Colorado Claire Rekindled Alliance Wild And Proud 1:32.2
2011 Blackie Fast Clip Sworn To Secrecy 1:30.0
2010 Tickets Al Dhafra Descarado 1:29.6
2009 Heart Of Dreams Whobegotyou Predatory Pricer 1:29.9
2008 Acey Ducey Voice Commander Our Mosstique 1:32.1
2007 Just Mambo Raheeb Amory Lane 1:31.7
2006 Apache Cat Racing To Win Wasp 1:30.6
2005 Shania Dane Al Maher Svenska 1:32.1
2004 Only Words Kingside Skittles 1:28.5
2003 Thorn Park Sportsman Bumptious 1:28.6
2002 Arlington Road Ugachaka Gordo 1:30.5
2001 Maitland Gold Star Satire Glenrowan 1:27.9
2000 Lord Essex Dangerous Over 1:28.8
1999 Mr Innocent Zola No Alimony 1:28.4
1998 Northern Drake Dodge Noise 1:28.8
1997 Monet's Cove Anthems Tarnpir Lane 1:29.0
1996 Encores Kidman's Cove Catalan Opening 1:28.7
1995 Brave Warrior Ivory's Irish Vedodara 1:28.6
1994 Arborea Nias Futile 1:31.4
1993 Kaaptive Edition Bundy Lad Burst 1:29.2
1992 My Wanderin' Star Social Rule Romanee Conti 1:30.0
1991 Be Happy Bold Rancher Marinella 1:28.6
1990 Solar Circle Hermoso Pumpernickel 1:30.0
1989 Flight Schedule Merimbula Bay Shipwreck 1:32.6
1988 Marwong Lanyard Pleasant Express 1:29.8