horse racing info

Hobartville Stakes

The Hobartville Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds that takes place annually in late February or early March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight conditions and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Hobartville Stakes was won by Kementari from Pierata with D'Argento third.

Held on the same day as the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes and Group 3 Millie Fox Stakes, the Hobartville Stakes signals bigger races on the horizon for 3yo gallopers during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Hobartville Stakes info

Date: Saturday 23rd February 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $400,000
2018 Winner: Kementari

The Hobartville Stakes is a good quality race for three-year-olds and offers the ideal lead up race to the Gr1 Randwick Guineas in a a couple of weeks time at Randwick. Both races are run under set weights which favours the better class gallopers going around, and the 1400m of this race provides a natural progession to the 1600m trip of the Guineas. Both Hallowed Crown (2015) & Dissident (2014) claimed the Hobartville Stakes & Randwick Guineas double in recent years, while Le Romain (2nd in 2016) won the Randwick Guineas at his next start.

Any 3yo tackling the Hobartville Stakes will most likely head towards the better class three-year-old races to come during the carnival, including the Gr3 Phar Lap Stakes or Gr1 Rosehill Guineas at Rosehill in March.

The 2013 Hobartville Stakes provided multiple Group 1 winners later in the carnival with Pierro (2013) going on to win the Gr1 Canterbury Stakes & Gr1 George Ryder Stakes before finishing runner-up in the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap, while It's A Dundeel (4th in 2013) won the Gr1 Rosehill Guineas and Gr1 ATC Australian Derby.

The Peter Moody trained Dissident (2014) went on to win multiple Group 1 races during the following spring & autumn in Melbourne after winning the Hobartville Stakes, including the Memsie Stakes & CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield and the Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington.

Kementari (2018) claimed the Gr3 Eskimo Prince Stakes over 1200m at Warwick Farm before scoring a classy victory in this event and recent Hobartville Stakes winners include man From Uncle (2017) and Press Statement (2016).

2018 Hobartville Stakes result

1. $3.20 Kementari 56.5 Glyn Schofield
2. $4.60 Pierata 56.5 Corey Brown
3. $6.00 D'argento 56.5 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $4.20 Trapeze Artist 56.5 Tim Clark
5. $31.00 Ace High 56.5 Tye Angland
6. $91.00 Luvaluva 54.5 Jay Ford
7. $51.00 Brave Song 56.5 Andrew Adkins
8. $18.00 Assimilate 56.5 Blake Shinn
9. $11.00 Siege Of Quebec 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
10. $151.00 Capital Gain 56.5 Jason Collett
11. $151.00 Lord Cecil 56.5 Christian Reith

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:22.43

Bet now on the Hobartville Stakes

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Hobartville Stakes odds.

Hobartville Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Kementari Pierata D'Argento 1:22.4
2017 Man From Uncle Echo Effect Comin' Through 1:24.1
2016 Astern Defcon Mount Panorama 1:22.5
2015 Hallowed Crown Sweynesse Kermadec 1:23.7
2014 Dissident Atlante Savvy Nature 1:25.0
2013 Pierro Rebel Dane Proisir 1:24.7
2012 Wild And Proud Manawanui Moment Of Change 1:26.5
2011 Ilovethiscity Retrieve Skilled 1:22.5
2010 Monton Shoot Out Captain Sonador 1:22.9
2009 Mic Mac Caymans Desuetude 1:22.9
2008 Serious Speed Murtajill Turffontein 1:23.4
2007 Mutawaajid Gold Edition Upper Echelon 1:23.3
2006 Racing To Win De Beers Flying Pegasus 1:22.9
2005 Outback Prince Eremein Dance Hero 1:21.9
2004 Impaler Allgunnadoit Handsome Ransom 1:23.8
2003 Thorn Park Hydrometer Shower Of Roses 1:22.5
2002 Lonhro Athens Moonflute 1:23.6
2001 Sir Clive Debrief Fouardee 1:26.4
2000 Fairway Over Condotti 1:28.3
1999 Arena Shinkansea Dracula 1:21.9
1998 Pleasure Giver Brave Prince Adam 1:24.3
1997 Monet's Cove Star Covet Anthems 1:24.2
1996 Nothin' Leica Dane Octagonal Catalan Opening 1:22.7
1995 Danewin Perfect World Marwina 1:26.8
1994 Clearly Chosen The Heavyweight Tenor 1:23.7
1993 Navy Seal Kingston Bay Chagall 1:21.8
1992 Take The Road Big Dreams Heroicity 1:24.0
1991 Pre Record Somalia Dodecanise 1:25.1
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Majestic Boy Procol Harum 1:21.4
1989 Swiftly Carson Research From The Planet 1:22.0
1988 High Regard Park Express Beau Zam 1:22.0