horse racing info

Memsie Stakes

The Memsie Stakes is a Group 1 race held annually each year in August at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prize money. The 2019 Memsie Stakes was won by Scales Of Justice from So Si Bon with Alizee third.

Held during the during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in Victoria, the Memsie Stakes was elevated from Group 2 to Group 1 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and is held on the same day as the Gr3 HDF McNeil Stakes for three-year-olds.

Memsie Stakes info

Date: Saturday 29th August 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000
2019 Winner: Scales Of Justice

The Memsie Stakes is a weight-for-age race that generally attracts a number of gallopers returning from a spell for the big spring races ahead. It can often make for a tricky affair for punters, with so many horses early in their preparation. Being the first Group 1 race of the new racing season now, classy types are likely to assemble to kick off their spring campaigns.

Some quality thoroughbreds have their name etched on the Memsie Stakes honour roll over the years and the race itself has proven to be a great guide to the Group 1 WS Cox Plate in recent times. So You Think (2010), El Segundo (2006), Makybe Diva (2005), Sunline (2000-01) and Dane Ripper (1998) all managed to win the WS Cox Plate either before or after winning this race.

Always a pivotal race of the spring, the Memsie Stakes can often provide a springboard for a classy galloper to make a name for themselves on the spring racing stage. Happy Trails (2nd in 2012) and Green Moon (5th in 2012) went on to quinella the Gr2 Data Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley at their next start before going on to win the Group 1 Emirates Stakes and Group 1 Melbourne Cup respectively.

Scales Of Justice (2019) finished runner-up to Dalasan in the Gr3 Spring Stakes over 1200m at Morphettville in Adelaide before returning to Melbourne to win this event in quality style for the Lindsay SMith stable.

Recent Memsie Stakes winners include Humidor (2018) and Vega Magic (2017).

sportsbet racing form

Spring Carnival Guide

Begood Toya Mother (2019) captured the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield following his sixth place finish in this event. The popular win gave trainer Daniel Bowman his first group one victory.

Grunt (8th in 2018), Humidor (8th in 2017) and Palentino (5th in 2016) all captured the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington at their next start. Black Heart Bart (2016) and (2nd in 2017) went on to run second and third respectively in the Makybe Diva Stakes, while he captured the Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield in 2016. Lindsay Park's He Or She (7th in 2016) went on to run third in the Makybe Diva Stakes and second in the Underwood Stakes.

Stratum Star (3rd in 2015), another Weir trained galloper, claimed the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at his next start after finishing third in the Memsie Stakes.

Classy mare Atlantic Jewel (2013) won the Gr2 Stock Stakes, finished runner-up in the Underwood Stakes, before winning the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes after winning the Memsie Stakes. It's A Dundeel (4th in 2013) took out a stellar edition of the Underwood Stakes at Caulfield his next start, defeating the previously unbeaten Atlantic Jewel (2013) by a narrow margin.

The 2012 Memsie Stakes proved a pivotal race of the spring with Green Moon going on to win the Melbourne Cup at Flemingon on Melbourne Cup Day, while Happy Trails took out the Feehan Stakes at Moonee Valley in September before claiming the Emirates Stakes at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival. Sincero (2012) finished third in the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes after winning the Memsie Stakes.

King's Rose (2011) went on to have a successful spring winning the Stocks Stakes at Moonee Valley before finishing runner-up in the Group 1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield and the Emirates Stakes at Flemington. After finishing fourth in the Memsie Stakes, Rekindled Interest (4th in 2011) claimed the Data Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley before running third in the WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley and Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington.

So You Think (2010) had a big spring after winning this race and went on to win the Group 1 Underwood Stakes and Caulfield Stakes at Caulfield before going on to win his second succesive WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley.

Interestingly enough, outstanding mare Makybe Diva captured three Melbourne Cups in 2003-05 before returning to win this race in 2006. Cast a keen eye over the Memsie Stakes and you may very well find an upcoming star of the spring in the midst.

2019 Memsie Stakes result

1. $3.70 Scales Of Justice 59.0 Dean Yendall
2. $21.00 So Si Bon 59.0 Luke Nolen
3. $2.70 Alizee 57.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $10.00 Hartnell 59.0 Craig Williams
5. $31.00 Despatch 59.0 Jamie Kah
6. $11.00 Begood Toya Mother 59.0 Declan Bates
7. $31.00 Oohood 56.5 Luke Currie
8. $61.00 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
9. $17.00 Fundamentalist 56.5 Michael Walker
10. $26.00 Humidor 59.0 Damian Lane
11. $12.00 Cliff's Edge 59.0 Mark Zahra
12. $31.00 Sesar 58.5 Dwayne Dunn
13. $101.00 Material Man 59.0 Rhys McLeod

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:22.14

Bet now on the Memsie Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Memsie Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Memsie Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Scales Of Justice So Si Bon Alizee 1:22.1
2018 Humidor Kementari Kings Will Dream 1:23.2
2017 Vega Magic Black Heart Bart Tosen Stardom 1:23.3
2016 Black Heart Bart Rising Romance Mahuta 1:23.9
2015 Boban Entirely Platinum Stratum Star 1:24.6
2014 Dissident Sweet Idea Puissance De Lune 1:22.7
2013 Atlantic Jewel Ferlax Super Cool 1:24.4
2012 Sincero Happy Trails Second Effort 1:23.2
2011 King's Rose Heart Of Dreams Red Colossus 1:23.4
2010 So You Think Whobegotyou Shoot Out 1:26.6
2009 Mic Mac Whobegotyou Zarita 1:24.4
2008 Weekend Hussler Maldivian Pompeii Ruler 1:23.2
2007 Miss Finland Haradasun Tipungwuti 1:24.2
2006 El Segundo Casual Pass Apache Cat 1:23.2
2005 Makybe Diva Barely A Moment Regal Roller 1:26.7
2004 Regal Roller Pacific Dancer Delzao 1:23.0
2003 Le Zagaletta Super Elegant Out Of Options 1:25.2
2002 Magical Miss Fields Of Omagh Dash For Cash 1:24.0
2001 Sunline Piavonic Rum 1:25.5
2000 Sunline Umrum Oliver Twist 1:25.4
1999 Sir Boom The Message Londolozi 1:24.8
1998 Dane Ripper Willoughby La Volta 1:22.8
1997 Tarnpir Lane Bradson Doriemus 1:23.9
1996 Sir Boom Seascay Poetic King 1:23.9
1995 Island Morn Station Hand Blevic 1:23.2
1994 Bundy Lad Spanish Mix Redding 1:23.2
1993 Palace Reign Never Undercharge Naturalism 1:25.4
1992 Naturalism Star Of The Realm Durbridge 1:27.1
1991 Redelva Street Ruffian Mannerism 1:25.9
1990 The Phantom Pago Mystery Ark Regal 1:25.6
1989 Almurtajaz Dark Beau Kairau Lad 1:27.7
1988 Rancho Ruler My Steely Dan Fair Sir 1:26.6
1987 Rubiton Society Bay Cossack Warrior 1:27.9
1986 Dazzling Duke King Phoenix Lockleys Tradition 1:25.2
1985 Delightful Belle Bow Mistress Contemplation 1:27.3
1984 King Delamere Alibhai Bow Mistress 1:27.7
1983 Red Tempo Strawberry Road Holsam 1:31.4
1982 Manikato Galleon Lawman 1:24.0
1981 Silver Bounty Top Of The Ladder Lawman 1:27.6
1980 Tolhurst Turf Ruler Marjoleo 1:24.5