horse racing info

Millie Fox Stakes

The Millie Fox Stakes is a Group 2 quality handicap race for fillies and mares that takes place each year in late February at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres under set weights & penalty conditions and has prizemoney of $200,000. The 2017 Millie Fox Stakes was won by In Her Time from Euro Angel with Daysee Doom third.

Held on Group 2 Hobartville Stakes day, the Millie Fox Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Millie Fox Stakes info

Date: Saturday 24th February 2018
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: In Her Time

The Millie Fox Stakes is a nice little race for fillies and mares only that generally attracts the better class females going around. The Gr2 Breeders Classic held earlier in the carnival at the same track is generally a good guide to this race as it is raced under the same weighted conditions, but for mares only. In Her Time (2017) and Catkins (2015) are the most recent winners of the Breeders Classic & Millie Fox Stakes double, while Red Tracer (2013) ran second in the Breeders Classic before winning this race at her next start.

Fillies & mares contesting this event will most likely have their eye on the premier race for females during the autumn, the Gr1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes in April. Neroli (2009) was the most recent galloper to take out the Millie Fox Stakes & Queen Of The Turf Stakes double in the same year, while Red Tracer (2013) managed to finish second in the Queen Of The Turf Stakes after victory in the Millie Fox Stakes.

The Gr1 Coolmore Stud Classic held the following month at Rosehill may also be on the radar for those better females up to the challenge, while a race like the Gr3 Wenona Girl Handicap at Randwick may suit some of the lesser lights. A Time For Julia (2nd in 2014) took out the Wenona Girl Handicap at her next start after finishing second in the Millie Fox Stakes.

Smart mare Red Tracer won this race in three consective years in 2012, 2013 and 2014, while Montana Flyer won it in successive years in 2010 and 2011.

In Her Time (2017) took out the Gr2 Breeders Classic over 1200m at Randwick before scoring the easiest of victories in this event and recent Millie Fox Stakes winners include Catkins (2015) and Red Tracer (2012-14).

2017 Millie Fox Stakes result

1. $7.50 In Her Time 56.0 Joshua Parr
2. $4.60 Euro Angel 55.0 Tommy Berry
3. $5.00 Daysee Doom 54.0 Andrew Adkins

then followed
4. $7.50 Denmagic 54.0 Glyn Schofield
5. $26.00 Sold For Song 54.0 Robert Thompson
6. $13.00 Circular 54.0 Brenton Avdulla
7. $20.00 Single Gaze 58.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
8. $21.00 French Emotion 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $9.50 Heavens Above 55.5 Adam Hyeronimus
10. $15.00 Tsaritsa 56.0 Tye Angland
11. $15.00 I Am Zelady 54.0 Tim Clark
12. $11.00 Private Secretary 54.0 Ben Melham

Margins: 2.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:17.63

Bet now on the Millie Fox Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Millie Fox Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 In Her Time Euro Angel Daysee Doom 1:17.6
2016 First Seal Telepathic I've Got The Looks 1:16.4
2015 Catkins Plucky Belle Avoid Lightning 1:16.4
2014 Red Tracer A Time For Julia Lucky Lago 1:19.2
2013 Red Tracer Risk Aversion Ladys Angel 1:19.6
2012 Red Tracer Crafty Irna Older Than Time 1:20.5
2011 Montana Flyer Graceful Anna Jersey Lily 1:16.3
2010 Montana Flyer Chakvetadze Subtle Cove 1:16.8
2009 Neroli Pravana Belong To Many 1:16.3
2008 November Flight Absolutelyfabulous Swissac 1:16.4
2007 A Country Girl Pasikatera Spinner's Magic 1:16.6
2006 Wild Queen Steflara Regal Cheer 1:17.2
2005 Tivoli Dancer Lil Elsa Johan's Toy 1:10.0
2004 Seances In A Bound Recurring 1:09.7
2003 Gentle Genius Snow Hero Ancient Song 1:09.8
2002 Triko Vita Pirouettes 1:11.2
2001 Nanny Maroon Stella Maree Poppett 1:08.9
2000 Verdict Declared Sorrento Zastov 1:10.1
1999 Wynciti Rubitoff Sash 1:10.1
1998 Just Like Crystal Amber St. Pamela Ann 1:09.2
1997 Dashing Eagle Seika Amber 1:08.4
1996 Chlorophyll Amber Dipping 1:09.1