horse racing info

Rosehill Guineas

The Rosehill Guineas is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds held annually in late March at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions and worth $600,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Rosehill Guineas was won by D'Argento from Tangled with Furore third.

Rosehill Guineas Day is held on the first day of the Rosehill autumn carnival and offers a number of quality feature races, including the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes, Gr1 George Ryder Stakes and Gr1 The Galaxy.

Rosehill Guineas info

Date: Saturday 23rd March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $600,000
2018 Winner: D'Argento

The Rosehill Guineas is a good horse's race and one of the better three-year-old events during the Sydney autumn racing carnival and is the first test at 2000m for three-year-olds at the elite level. The Gr1 Randwick Guineas is the logical lead up to this race.

Both It's A Dundeel (2013) & Metal Bender (2009) have taken out the Randwick Guineas & Rosehill Guineas double in recent years, while a number of horses have managed to either win or place in both races.

Many of our very best three-year-olds have won the Rosehill Guineas including It's A Dundeel, Jimmy Choux (2011), Metal Bender (2009), Sky Heights (1999), Tie The Knot (1998), Octagonal (1996), Danewin (1995), Naturalism (1992) and Sky Chase (1988).

The Guineas is the first real staying test for three-year-olds in group one class and is often a good pointer to the premier 3yo event of the autumn, the Gr1 ATC Australian Derby over 2400m later in the month at Randwick. In recent times It's A Dundeel (2013), Eremein (2005) and Sky Heights (1999) have all take out the Rosehill Guineas & ATC Derby double.

Interestingly enough, Sacred Halls (2nd in 2013) managed to take out the Gr1 Doncaster Handicap at Randwick at his next start following his second place finish in this race.

D'Argento (2018) ran seventh in the Randwick Guineas over 1600m at Randwick before procing too classy in this event and recent Rosehill Guineas winners incude Gingernuts (2017) and Tarzino (2016).

2018 Rosehill Guineas result

1. $3.80 D'Argento 56.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $81.00 Tangled 56.5 Michael Walker
3. $12.00 Furore 56.5 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $15.00 Vin De Dance 56.5 Jason Waddell
5. $8.50 Cliff’S Edge 56.5 John Allen
6. $7.00 Ace High 56.5 Tye Angland
7. $18.00 Mission Hill 56.5 Damian Lane
8. $31.00 Mongolianconqueror 56.5 Opie Bosson
9. $11.00 Villermont 56.5 Blake Shinn
10. $61.00 Capital Gain 56.5 Ben Melham
11. $18.00 The Lord Mayor 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
12. $20.00 Main Stage 56.5 Mark Zahra
13. $101.00 Condor 56.5 Luke Currie
14. $11.00 Kaonic 56.5 Zac Purton
15. $41.00 So You Win 56.5 Craig Williams
16. $31.00 Endowment 56.5 Damien Oliver
17. $51.00 Age Of Fire 56.5 Jason Collett
18. $101.00 Terwilliker 56.5 Andrew Adkins

Margins: 1.3 len, 1 len
Time: 2:06.10

Rosehill Guineas Day has a number of group races on the card including the Gr1 Ranvet Stakes, Gr3 Birthday Card Stakes, Gr3 Epona Stakes & Gr3 NE Manion Cup.

Bet now on the Rosehill Guineas

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Rosehill Guineas odds.

Rosehill Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 D'Argento Tangled Furore 2:06.1
2017 Gingernuts Inference So Si Bon 2:11.4
2016 Tarzino Montaigne Jameka 2:03.5
2015 Volkstok'n'Barrell Preferment Hallowed Crown 2:03.4
2014 Criterion Thunder Fantasy Teronado 2:05.9
2013 It's A Dundeel Sacred Falls Tatra 2:02.2
2012 Laser Hawk Ocean Park Silent Achiever 2:02.1
2011 Jimmy Choux Retrieve Shamrocker 2:05.3
2010 Zabrasive Rock Classic Run For Naara 2:04.5
2009 Metal Bender Sousa Rock Kingdom 2:03.2
2008 Dealer Principal Kingda Ka Littorio 2:04.5
2007 He's No Pie Eater Ambitious General Flumicino 2:02.7
2006 De Beers Oh Oklahoma Primus 2:03.5
2005 Eremein Nevis Outback Prince 2:01.3
2004 Niello Grand Zulu Elvstroem 2:01.1
2003 Helenus Mummify Sunday Joy 2:02.7
2002 Carnegie Express Don Eduardo Pentastic 2:00.8
2001 Sale Of Century Danamite Scenic Warrior 2:01.0
2000 Diatribe Freemason Crawl 2:04.3
1999 Sky Heights Dignity Dancer Arena 2:00.1
1998 Tie The Knot Tycoon Lil Pursuits 2:01.3
1997 Tarnpir Lane Intergaze Ebony Grosve 2:00.5
1996 Octagonal Saintly Nothin' Leica Dane 1:59.9
1995 Danewin Sharscay Turridu 1:59.9
1994 Star Of Maple Waikikamukau March Hare 2:03.4
1993 Innocent King Irish Rort Corregidor 2:01.9
1992 Naturalism Veandercross Skylock 2:05.0
1991 Surfers Paradise St Jude Centro 2:02.9
1990 Solar Circle Stargazer Zabeel 2:06.3
1989 Riverina Charm Power Of Destiny Our Krona 2:06.4
1988 Sky Chase Brixton Town Hunter 2:04.4