horse racing info

CF Orr Stakes

The CF Orr Stakes is a Group 1 Weight-for-age race held annually each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres with prizemoney of $500,000. The 2017 CF Orr Stakes was won by Black Heart Bart from Turn Me Loose with Ecuador third.

CF Orr Stakes day is the second biggest race day of the autumn for the Melbourne Racing Club, second only to Blue Diamond Stakes day a fortnight later at the same track.

2018 CF Orr Stakes info

Date: Saturday 10th February 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2017 Winner: Black Heart Bart

The CF Orr Stakes is a quality weight-for-age race that always attracts well above average gallopers and the honour roll over the years has seen many a top class horse on the winner's list, including champion mares Black Caviar (2012) and Typhoon Tracy (2009-10).

Other top class gallopers to win the CF Orr Stakes include All Too Hard (2013), El Segundo (2007), Lonhro (2004), Redoute's Choice (2000), Saintly (1997) and three-time winner Vo Rogue (1988-90), to show the quality of horse to salute in this event.

The Gr2 Australia Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley in January is a good lead up race for the CF Orr Stakes as the step up to 1400m of this race is a natural progression, plus it suits those gallopers wanting to contest upcoming longer races such as the Gr2 St George Stakes over 1800m at Caulfield.

Any capable three-year-olds contesting the CF Orr Stakes will generally head on to the Gr1 Australian Guineas at Flemington in March. Cox Plate winner Shamus Award (3rd in 2014) went on to win the Australian Guineas after running third in this race.

Black Heart Bart (2017) finished runner-up in the Gr2 Australia Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley before his impressive victory in this event and recent CF Orr Stakes winners include Suavito (2016) and Dissident (2015).

2017 CF Orr Stakes result

1. $3.20 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
2. $21.00 Turn Me Loose 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $14.00 Ecuador 59.0 Adam Hyeronimus

then followed
=4. $31.00 Palentino 59.0 Mark Zahra
=4. $19.00 Jameka 57.0 Luke Nolen
6. $3.80 Malaguerra 59.0 Ben Melham
7. $41.00 Awesome Rock 59.0 Stephen Baster
8. $19.00 He’S Our Rokkii 59.0 Regan Bayliss
9. $12.00 Divine Prophet 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
10. $8.00 Lucky Hussler 59.0 Damian Lane
11. $31.00 Miss Rose De Lago 57.0 Damien Oliver
12. $21.00 Arod 59.0 Craig Williams

Margins: 1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:22.55

A number of group races are held on Orr Stakes day including the Gr2 Autumn Stakes, Gr3 Rubiton Stakes, Gr3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, Gr3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G), Gr2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F), Gr3 Carlyon Cup & Gr3 Boronia Stakes.

Bet now on the CF Orr Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

CF Orr Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Black Heart Bart Turn Me Loose Ecuador 1:22.6
2016 Suavito Lucky Hussler Hucklebuck 1:23.4
2015 Dissident Entirely Platinum Mourinho 1:23.3
2014 Moment Of Change Eurozone Shamus Award 1:23.0
2013 All Too Hard Mawingo Mr Moet 1:22.8
2012 Black Caviar Southern Speed Playing God 1:25.1
2011 Typhoon Tracy Heart Of Dreams Ortensia 1:22.7
2010 Typhoon Tracy Heart Of Dreams Sirmione 1:23.4
2009 Maldivian Alamosa Theseo 1:24.0
2008 Shinzig Niconero Rubiscent 1:23.8
2007 El Segundo Marasco Aqua Damore 1:23.2
2006 Perfect Promise Lad Of The Manor Fields Of Omagh 1:22.3
2005 Elvstroem Savabeel Lad Of The Manor 1:22.8
2004 Lonhro Vocabulary Sound Action 1:21.9
2003 Yell Fields Of Omagh Innovation Girl 1:22.5
2002 Barkada Northerly Cent Home 1:24.6
2001 Desert Sky Skoozi Please Hit The Roof 1:21.6
2000 Redoutes Choice Miss Pennymoney Intergaze 1:24.1
1999 Grand Archway Bezeal Bay Istidaad 1:24.0
1998 Special Dane Al Mansour Might And Power 1:22.5
1997 Saintly Cut Up Rough Star Dancer 1:25.6
1996 Racers Edge Count Rivas Circles Of Gold 1:26.4
1995 Jeune Hurricane Sky Schillaci 1:21.1
1994 Primacy Asian Incline Fraar 1:23.7
1993 Durbridge Jolly Old Mac Corndale 1:21.9
1992 Lets Elope Prince Salieri Braashee 1:22.0
1991 Planet Ruler Ark Regal Vo Rogue 1:23.0
1990 Vo Rogue Super Impose Kings High 1:23.3
1989 Vo Rogue Super Impose Marwong 1:23.3
1988 Vo Rogue King Phoenix Groucho 1:24.3