, Canterbury Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Canterbury Stakes

The Canterbury Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held annually each March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 Canterbury Stakes was won by The Bostonian from Savatiano with Mister Sea Wolf third.

Elevated from Group 2 to Group 1 status in September 2012, the winner of the Canterbury Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes.

Canterbury Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th March 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: The Bostonian
bet now Canterbury Stakes odds

The Canterbury Stakes is a good quality weight-for-age race that takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Randwick Guineas and generally attracts above average gallopers with the weighted conditions of the race favouring the better horses engaged.

More often than not the winner will simply be an above average galloper, although every now and then a topliner may find their name etched upon the honour roll such as brilliant Gai Waterhouse mare More Joyous (2011-12), who won this race two years in a row before returning for a third attempt and finishing runner-up to her stablemate, another outstanding galloper in Pierro (2013).

Typically, the Canterbury Stakes is a good lead up race to the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes at the same track on Golden Slipper day and Pierro (2013) is the last galloper take out the Canterbury Stakes & George Ryder Stakes double. Catkins (2nd in 2015) managed to win the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes at Randwick after running second in this race.

Trapeze Artist (2019) ran fourth in the Group 2 Expressway Stakes over 1200m at Rosehill before scoring an easy victory in this event for local trainer Gerald Ryan.

Recent Canterbury Stakes winners include Happy Clapper (2018) and Le Romain (2017).

2020 Canterbury Stakes result

1. $7.50 The Bostonian 59.0 Nash Rawiller
2. $2.35 Savatiano 57.0 James McDonald
3. $31.00 Mister Sea Wolf 59.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $26.00 White Moss 57.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
5. $5.50 Alizee 57.0 Hugh Bowman
6. $3.80 Standout 56.0 Tommy Berry
7. $21.00 Begood Toya Mother 59.0 Declan Bates

Margins: 1.3 len, 3 len
Time: 1:16.21

Bet now on the Canterbury Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Canterbury Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Canterbury Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 The Bostonian Savatiano Mister Sea Wolf 1:16.2
2019 Trapeze Artist Shoals Prompt Response 1:14.1
2018 Happy Clapper Global Glamour Invincible Gem 1:14.2
2017 Le Romain Chautauqua Hauraki 1:20.0
2016 Holler First Seal Kermadec 1:15.4
2015 Cosmic Endeavour Catkins Criterion 0:56.7
2014 Appearance Not Listenin'Tome Red Tracer 1:17.2
2013 Pierro More Joyous Solzhenitsyn 1:15.9
2012 More Joyous Monton Metal Bender 1:18.4
2011 More Joyous Love Conquers All Demerit 1:17.8
2010 Hot Danish Black Piranha Mr Baritone 1:16.4
2009 All Silent Forensics Royal Discretion 1:16.5
2008 Mentality Racing To Win Sniper's Bullet 1:32.3
2007 Malcolm Cheeky Choice Kosi Bay 1:16.5
2006 Paratroopers Patezza Dance Hero 1:16.2
2005 Dance Hero Falkirk Ike's Dream 1:17.0
2004 Yell Grand Armee True Glo 1:16.0
2003 Defier Cosmic Rays Gordo 1:09.1
2002 Empire Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge 1:10.3
2001 Shogun Lodge Assertive Lad El Mirada 1:10.0
2000 Easy Rocking Referral Guineas 1:11.5
1999 Kidman's Cove Prowl Shinkansea 1:09.7
1998 Quick Flick Guineas Masked Party 1:09.8
1997 All Our Mob Quick Flick Sovereign State 1:08.4
1996 Sprint By Peruzzi Identikit 1:10.5
1995 Miss Kariba Alert Me Navy Seal 1:09.9
1994 Al Akbar Big Dreams Just Awesome 1:10.3
1993 Big Dreams Cavalier Spearman 1:11.8
1992 Alishan Schillaci Old Role 1:09.6
1991 Show County All Archie Zabeel 1:09.8
1990 Straussbrook Cole Diesel Groucho 1:11.8
1989 At Sea Campaign King Groucho 1:10.3
1988 At Sea Targlish Prince Anton 1:10.0