horse racing info

Futurity Stakes

The Futurity Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held late February or early March each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and has prizemoney of $500,000. The 2017 Futurity Stakes was won by Black Heart Bart from Tosen Stardom with Ecuador third.

Taking place on the Melbourne Racing Club's biggest race day of the autumn, Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Futurity Stakes takes place alongside feature autumn races, the Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes & Gr1 Oakleigh Plate.

The Futurity Stakes is the first leg of the Asian Mile Challenge which is a four-race international series with a total purse of more than $12.5 million, organised jointly by the Hong Kong Jockey Club, the Japan Racing Association, the Melbourne Racing Club and the Dubai Racing Club.

Open to horses from around the world, the Asian Mile Challenge feature races are the Futurity Stakes in Melbourne, the The Dubai Duty Free in Dubai, The Champions Mile in Hong Kong and the The Yasuda Kinen in Japan.

2018 Futurity Stakes info

Date: Saturday 24th February 2018
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2017 Winner: Black Heart Bart

The Futurity Stakes is one of the more prominent weight-for-age races of the Caulfield autumn racing carnival and the 1400m distance is attractive to a variety of gallopers, including strong sprinters and quality middle distance types, which assures a top field is assembled each year.

Sprinters in this event may come via the Gr1 CF Orr Stakes which is a weight-for-age race at Caulfield in February, and staying types may consider heading on to the Gr1 Australian Cup at Flemington on Super Saturday of Racing in March.

In recent times Black Heart Bart (2017), Moment Of Change (2014), All Too Hard (2013) & Typhoon Tracy (2010) have all taken out the CF Orr Stakes & Futurity Stakes double, while Niconero (2009) was the last galloper to take out the Futurity Stakes & Australian Cup double.

Some quality thoroughbreds have saluted in this event over the years including More Joyous (2011), Fields Of Omagh (2006), Testa Rossa (2000), Encounter (1998), Schillaci (1993 & 1995), Redelva (1991) and Zeditave (1989). The Futurity Stakes is a race for good horses and is always one of the highlights of the Melbourne autumn racing carnival.

Classy Peter Moody trained galloper Dissident travelled to Sydney to win the Gr1 All Aged Stakes at Randwick following his third placing in this event.

Black Heart Bart (2017) took out the Gr1 CF Orr Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before taking out this event in classy fashion and recent Futurity Stakes winners include Turn Me Loose (2016) and Suavito (2015).

2017 Futurity Stakes result

1. $1.90 Black Heart Bart 59.0 Brad Rawiller
2. $17.00 Tosen Stardom 59.0 Craig Williams
3. $10.00 Ecuador 59.0 Adam Hyeronimus

then followed
4. $41.00 Attention 55.5 Blake Shinn
5. $17.00 Lucky Hussler 59.0 Damian Lane
6. $8.00 Palentino 59.0 Mark Zahra
7. $26.00 He's Our Rokkii 59.0 Dwayne Dunn
8. $6.50 Turn Me Loose 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $81.00 Fast 'N' Rocking 59.0 Regan Bayliss

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:22.96

Other group races on Blue Diamond Stakes day at Caulfield include the Gr2 St George Stakes, Gr2 Autumn Classic, Gr2 Angus Armanasco Stakes, Gr3 Mannerism Stakes & Gr3 Zeditave Stakes.

Bet now on the Futurity Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Futurity Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Black Heart Bart Tosen Stardom Ecuador 1:22.9
2016 Turn Me Loose Stratum Star Suavito 1:22.2
2015 Suavito Smokin' Joey Dissident 1:23.0
2014 Moment Of Change Sertorius Pinwheel 1:23.4
2013 All Too Hard Glass Harmonium King Mufhasa 1:23.0
2012 King Mufhasa Pinker Pinker Adamantium 1:23.8
2011 More Joyous Whobegotyou Dao Dao 1:21.7
2010 Typhoon Tracy Dao Dao Sniper's Bullet 1:34.4
2009 Niconero Light Fantastic Alamosa 1:36.4
2008 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Finland 1:34.8
2007 Aqua Damore Seachange El Segundo 1:35.7
2006 Fields Of Omagh Red Dazzler Rosden 1:34.2
2005 Regal Roller Super Elegant Modem 1:24.6
2004 Reset Vocabulary Yell 1:23.7
2003 Yell Innovation Girl Roman Arch 1:21.9
2002 Dash For Cash Chattanooga Aquiver 1:23.0
2001 Desert Sky Porto Roca Mr Murphy 1:22.8
2000 Testa Rossa Miss Pennymoney Redoutes Choice 1:23.7
1999 Rustic Dream Al Mansour Helm 1:22.1
1998 Encounter Al Mansour Rebel 1:23.5
1997 Mouawad Shame Cut Up Rough 1:23.0
1996 Star Dancer Flying Spur Buzzoff 1:24.0
1995 Schillaci Jeune Spanish Mix 1:23.8
1994 Primacy Deposition Schillaci 1:22.0
1993 Schillaci Excited Angel Hulastrike 1:23.2
1992 Mannerism Planet Ruler Wrap Around 1:23.9
1991 Redelva Bureaucracy Planet Ruler 1:22.6
1990 Ark Regal Lightning Bend Sydeston 1:23.7
1989 Zeditave Jet Fighter Redelva 1:22.4
1988 Vo Rogue Campaign King Rancho Ruler 1:22.2