horse racing info

Australian Cup

The Australian Cup is a Group 1 Weight-for-age race held each March at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne, Victoriad. The Victoria Racing Club (VRC) runs this race over a distance of 2000 metres offering prize money of $1,500,000.

Fifty Stars won the 2020 Australian Cup from Regal Power and Vow And Declare in a time of 2:02.1.

The Australian Cup takes place on the VRC's feature race meeting of the Melbourne autumn racing carnival, Super Saturday of Racing, alongside the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap.

Australian Cup info

Date: Saturday 7th March 2020
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,500,000
2020 Winner: Fifty Stars
bet now Australian Cup odds

The Australian Cup is the premier staying event held at Flemington during the autumn racing carnival and one of the highlights of Super Saturday race day in March. The race is a time honoured event and many of Australia's finest gallopers have saluted in this race.

This event has a long and proud history of producing winners who often go on to become Australian turf stars..

Many of Australia's best gallopers have their name etched on the Australian Cup honour roll, including Zipping (2010), Makybe Diva (2005), Lonhro (2004), Northerly (2003 & 2001), Octagonal (1997), Saintly (1996), Better Loosen Up (1991) and Vo Rogue (1990-89).

The Group 2 St George Stakes held earlier in the autumn has proven the best guide to this race in recent years. Fiorente (2014), Pompeii Ruler (2007), Lonhro (2004), Northerly (2001), Istidaad (1999), Dane Ripper (1998), Durbridge (1994), Let's Elope (1992) & Vo Rogue (1989) all St George Stakes & Australian Cup double winners.

Thesio (2nd in 2009) won the St George Stakes before finishing runner-up here as an odds-on favourite.

Fifty Stars (2020) captured the Group 1 Blamey Stakes at Flemington before storming home late to win this event in outstanding style for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable.

Harlem (2018-2019) ran seventh in the St George Stakes over 1800m at Caulfield before winning this race for the second year in a row at big odds for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable at Euroa.

Recent Australian Cup winners include Harlem (2018-2019) and Humidor (2017).

2020 Australian Cup result

1. $7.00 Fifty Stars 59.0 John Allen
2. $6.00 Regal Power 59.0 William Pike
3. $14.00 Vow And Declare 59.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $19.00 Harlem 59.0 Jamie Kah
5. $3.20 Avilius 59.0 Dwayne Dunn
6. $13.00 Mirage Dancer 59.0 Ben Melham
7. $21.00 Southern France 59.0 Michael Dee
8. $16.00 Miss Siska 57.0 Damian Lane
9. $101.00 Suzuka Devious 59.0 Dean Yendall
10. $8.00 Kings Will Dream 59.0 Jye McNeil
11. $41.00 Hush Writer 59.0 Brad Rawiller
12. $26.00 Constantinople 58.5 Glen Boss
13. $41.00 Cape Of Good Hope 58.5 Regan Bayliss
14. $151.00 Venice Beach 59.0 Fred W Kersley

Margins: 0.5 len, 0,75 len
Time: 2:02.18

Super Saturday of Racing at Flemington also features the Group 2 Kewney Stakes, Group 2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes, and Group 3 Matron Stakes.

Bet now on the Australian Cup

Join either of our recommended bookmakers for the best Australian Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Australian Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Fifty Stars Regal Power Vow And Declare 2:02.1
2019 Harlem Shillelagh Trap For Fools 2:01.5
2018 Harlem Gailo Chop Ventura Storm 2:00.4
2017 Humidor Jameka Exospheric 2:01.0
2016 Preferment Awesome Rock Rising Romance 2:03.9
2015 Spillway Extra Zero Happy Trails 2:00.0
2014 Fiorente Green Moon Foreteller 2:03.6
2013 Super Cool Fiveandahalfstar Tanby 2:00.9
2012 Manighar Southern Speed Americain 2:01.2
2011 Shocking Linton Playing God 2:00.9
2010 Zipping Sirmione Moatize 2:03.6
2009 Niconero Theseo Zagreb 2:03.1
2008 Sirmione Princess Coup Casino Prince 2:00.8
2007 Pompeii Ruler Marasco Tawqeet 2:01.5
2006 Roman Arch Candy Vale Our Smoking Joe 2:02.8
2005 Makybe Diva Winning Belle Lad Of The Manor 1:58.7
2004 Lonhro Delzao Elvstroem 2:01.6
2003 Northerly Natural Blitz Don Eduardo 2:01.4
2002 Old Comrade Northerly Rain Gauge 1:59.8
2001 Northerly Hit The Roof Kaapstad Way 1:59.4
2000 Intergaze Arena Streak 2:00.9
1999 Istidaad Intergaze Thackeray 1:59.4
1998 Dane Ripper Delinquent Marble Halls 2:02.4
1997 Octagonal Gold City Juggler 2:01.0
1996 Saintly Vialli Peep On The Sky 2:02.1
1995 Starstruck Jeune Station Hand 2:00.4
1994 Durbridge Station Hand Mahogany 2:02.2
1993 Veandercross Star Of The Realm Fraar 2:01.3
1992 Lets Elope Shivas Revenge Prince Salieri 2:00.0
1991 Better Loosen Up Vo Rogue Prince Salieri 2:01.6
1990 Vo Rogue Better Loosen Up Super Impose 2:00.9
1989 Vo Rogue Super Impose Our Poetic Prince 2:01.6
1988 Dandy Andy Vo Rogue Bonecrusher 2:01.5