horse racing info

Autumn Stakes

The Autumn Stakes is a Group 2 set weights & penalty race for three-year-olds that takes place each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and has prizemoney of $200,000. The 2019 Autumn Stakes was won by Hawkshot from Dealmaker with Ringerdingding third.

Held on Gr1 C.F. Orr Stakes day, which is the Melbourne Racing Club's second biggest day of the autumn carnival behind Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Autumn Stakes was run as the 'Hyland Race Colours' during the 2014/2015 racing season.

Autumn Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th February 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2019 Winner: Hawkshot

The Autumn Stakes is a good quality three-year-old race in the autumn and serves as a good lead up event to the Gr1 Australian Guineas on Super Saturday at Flemington the following month. Heart Of Dreams (3rd in 2009) went on to win the Guineas after placing in this event.

A number of quality gallopers have won this race over the years including Denman (2010), Apache Cat (2006), Special Harmony (2004), Titanic Jack (2003), Dignity Dancer (1999) and St Covet (1995).

The set weight plus penalty conditions of the Autumn Stakes gives an advantage to the classier three-year-olds engaged and more often than not the best horse in the race will typically make his presence felt and prove a tough nut to crack.

Hawkshot (2019) won the VOBIS Gold Carat over 1200m at Moonee Valley before scoring an outstanind all the way victory in this event for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable.

Recent Autumn Stakes winners include Holy Snow (2018) and Oak Door (2017).

2019 Autumn Stakes result

1. $6.50 Hawkshot 56.0 Mark Zahra
2. $6.50 Dealmaker 56.0 Michael Walker
3. $4.60 Ringerdingding 58.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $13.00 Aramayo 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $3.20 Social Spin 56.0 Ben Melham
6. $18.00 Quadriga 56.0 Dwayne Dunn
7. $9.00 Declares War 56.0 Damian Lane
8. $21.00 Good 'n' Fast 56.5 Luke Nolen
9. $21.00 Secret Blaze 56.0 Luke Currie

Margins: 3.75 len, 1 len
Time: 1:23.47

Other group races held on Orr Stakes day include the Gr3 Rubiton Stakes, Gr3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes, Gr3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G), Gr2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F) and Gr3 Carlyon Cup.

Bet now on the Autumn Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Autumn Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Autumn Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Hawkshot Dealmaker Ringerdingding 1:23.4
2018 Holy Snow Mr So And So Astoria 1:24.8
2017 Oak Door Attention Knowable 1:23.5
2016 Mahuta Sailing By Snoopy 1:23.4
2015 San Nicasio Zebulon Firehouse Rock 1:23.6
2014 Thunder Fantasy Rock Hero Late Charge 1:23.8
2013 Mulaazem Fiveandahalfstar Super Cool 1:23.6
2012 Pied A Terre Proliferate Adamantium 1:24.7
2011 Dusty Star Under The Eiffel Eclair Mystic 1:37.2
2010 Denman Guru Bob Most Immediate 1:23.3
2009 Fravashi Nicconi Heart Of Dreams 1:22.8
2008 Light Fantastic Vivacious Spirit Viatorian 1:23.2
2007 Catechuchu Haradasun Eclair Passion 1:24.7
2006 Apache Cat God's Own Empress Lily 1:24.7
2005 Shinzig Not A Single Doubt Danehill Express 1:23.4
2004 Special Harmony Youth Dane Fever 1:23.5
2003 Titanic Jack Storm Prince Step Ahead 1:25.1
2002 Dash For Cash Barkada Zonked 1:24.1
2001 Desert Sky Desert Eagle Crop 1:25.1
2000 Sudurka Skymaker Noble Sensation 1:24.0
1999 Dignity Dancer Destruction Point Paris Dream 1:23.0
1998 Blaze The Turf Pleasure Giver Dodge 1:22.7
1997 Tampir Lane King Ivor Catainer 1:23.2
1996 Nick On The Run Tuscany Flyer Zoffcoast 1:24.8
1995 St Covet Dry Humour Baryshnikov 1:21.7
1994 Royal Rubiton Star Of Maple Voting 1:23.8
1993 Just Juan Air Seattle Palace Reign 1:22.9
1992 Laranto Jolly Old Mac Dapper's Hope 1:22.4
1991 Canny Lad Vain Rancher Meg's Ego 1:23.6
1990 The Oval Zaparri Tango Master 1:23.1
1989 King's High Aforesaid Blazing Sword 1:23.7
1988 Havelock's Pride Kaapstad Lygon Armns 1:25.6