horse racing info

Mannerism Stakes

The Mannerism Stakes is a Group 3 set weight & penalty race for Mares that takes place each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and has prizemoney of $150,000. The 2019 Mannerism Stakes was won by Jamaican Rain from Naantali with Teleplay third.

The Mannerism Stakes takes place on the Melbourne Racing Club's premier race day of the autumn, Blue Diamond Stakes day, featuring the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes, Group 1 Futurity Stakes & Group 1 Oakleigh Plate.

Mannerism Stakes info

Date: Saturday 23rd February 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Jamaican Rain

The Mannerism Stakes is a more than handy females only race that usually attracts a fairly strong field of mares for this time of year. The set weight & penalty conditions favor the better performed mares and if there are no standout females, then finding a winner can often be difficult, as is usually the case with these types of mares races.

The Gr3 Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes is a typical lead up to this race and Tycoon Tara (2015) was the last mare to claim the Bellmaine Stakes & Mannerism Stakes double. Both Azkadellia (2016) and Silent Sedition (2017) ran second in the Bellmaine Stakes prior to winning this event.

Mares contesting this race may continue on to a race like the Gr3 Frances Tressady Stakes at Flemington, which is a race for mares only on Gr1 Australian Guineas day. They might also consider tackling the Gr3 Matron Stakes for mares on Gr1 Australian Cup day on Super Saturday of racing at Flemington. Bonaria (2014) took out the Matron Stakes for the second year in a row after winning this race beforehand.

Jamaican Rain (2019) resumed from a spring spell to win this event in quality style for the Richard Laming stable at Cranbourne.

Recent Mannerism Stakes winners include Silent Sedition (2017-2018) and Azkadellia (2016).

2019 Mannerism Stakes result

1. $6.00 Jamaican Rain 58.0 Damien Oliver
2. $4.40 Naantali 56.0 Damian Lane
3. $11.00 Teleplay 58.0 Michael Dee

then followed
4. $6.00 Spanish Reef 59.0 Mark Zahra
5. $19.00 Think Bleue 58.0 John Allen
6. $3.90 I Am A Star 59.0 Ben Melham
7. $7.50 Supre 55.0 Luke Currie
8. $14.00 Payroll 55.5 Jamie Mott
9. $91.00 Tiffany's Lass 55.0 Stephen Baster
10. $101.00 Prussian Vixen 58.0 Jake Noonan

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.50 len
Time: 1:23.46

Other group races held on Blue Diamond Stakes day at Caulfield are the Gr2 St George Stakes, Gr2 Autumn Classic, Gr2 Angus Armanasco Stakes & Zeditave Stakes.

Bet now on the Mannerism Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Mannerism Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Mannerism Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Jamaican Rain Naantali Teleplay 1:23.4
2018 Silent Sedition Samovare Montoya's Secret 1:23.5
2017 Silent Sedition Thames Court Miss Rose De Lago 1:23.1
2016 Azkadellia Tuscan Sling Miss Rose De Lago 1:23.2
2015 Tycoon Tara Choose Street Allure 1:23.2
2014 Bonaria Hazard Hi Belle 1:23.7
2013 Star Of Giselle Family Crest Hi Belle 1:25.0
2012 Hi Belle I'm Discreet Slow The Flow 1:24.3
2011 Red Flair Simply Put Mayneda Strategy 1:23.1
2010 Tootsie Be Positive Flying Tessie 1:23.7
2009 Symphony Miss Flying Ruby Dane Julia 1:23.6
2008 Catechuchu Translate Brom Felinity 1:24.7
2007 Seachange Lucky Diva Coniston Gem 1:23.1
2006 Kats Clause Maxerelle Kammoora 1:26.5
2005 Lyrical Bid Uprize Infinite Grace 1:23.5
2004 Royal Sash Sweet Corn Dance On Wood 1:23.9
2003 Galapagos Girl Ella Fire Flash Bash 1:25.0
2002 Spurn Transparent Lover Miss Power Bird 1:22.7
2001 Typhoon Billie Piavonic Fashion Flame 1:21.3
2000 Londolozi Northern Song Lady Elsie 1:22.5
1999 Miss Jugah La Volta Wellington Dreamer 1:22.6
1998 Blue Storm Cheval Place Burning Embers 1:23.6
1997 Red Nile Chlorophyll Belle Bellotto 1:24.5
1996 Tolanda Calypso Viminaria 1:24.8
1995 Laura's Express Procrastinate Aunty Mary 1:23.3
1994 Princess Plume Time Of My Life Not Related 1:21.7
1993 Tarare Lady Cimarosa Special Sculpture 1:24.6
1992 Val De Grace Giorgio Princess Pushy 1:24.4
1991 Princess Pushy Hot Set Spring Thaw 1:23.5
1990 Memphis Blues Lady Jess Gondobelle 1:23.5
1989 English Charm Mardisi Iolani Bay 1:22.6
1988 Even True Classified Lady Our Draw 1:23.4