horse racing info

Oakleigh Plate Preview

The Oakleigh Plate is a Group 1 Open Handicap race held annually each February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Oakleigh Plate was won by Booker from Encryption with Eduardo third.

Held on the Melbourne Racing Club's biggest race day of the autumn, Blue Diamond Stakes day, the Oakleigh Plate takes place alongside feature autumn races, the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes & Group 1 Futurity Stakes.

Oakleigh Plate info

Date: Saturday 22nd February 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2019 Winner: Booker
bet now Oakleigh Plate odds

The Oakleigh Plate is the premier handicap sprint event of the Caulfield autumn racing carnival and always attracts a classy field of sprinters. Final acceptances usually sees a capacity field of horses entered, with many genuine chances and the winner hard to find, unless there is an outstanding galloper going around. Class gallopers Starspangledbanner (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Fastnet Rock (2005) and Schillaci (1992) have all won this event in recent times.

The Gr3 Rubiton Stakes on CF Orr Stakes day at Caulfield is a likely lead-up race to this event, along with the Gr1 Lightning Stakes at Flemington. Lankan Rupee (2014) was the last horse to win the Rubiton Stakes & Oakleigh Plate double, while Fastnet Rock (2005) was the last galloper to snare the Lightning Stakes & Oakleigh Plate double.

Sprinters tackling this race may then continue on to the Gr1 Newmarket Handicap down the Flemington straight 1200m course on Super Saturday of Racing. Weekend Hussler (2008) was the most recent galloper to take out the Oakleigh Plate & Newmarket Handicap double, while Swiss Ace (2009) ran second in the Newmarket after winning this event. The Quarterback (6th in 2016) took out the Newmarket Handicap at his next start after running sixth here.

Booker (2019) resumed from a spell to score and outstanding victory in this event for the Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra stable anf recent Oakleigh Plate winners include Russian Revolution (2018) and Sheidel (2017).

2019 Oakleigh Plate result

1. $18.00 Booker 52.0 Dean Yendall
2. $19.00 Encryption 51.0 Craig Williams
3. $5.00 Eduardo 52.0 Brian Park

then followed
4. $10.00 Bons Away 54.0 Ms Linda Meech
5. $15.00 Spright 53.5 Michael Walker
6. $18.00 Fell Swoop 55.5 Hugh Bowman
7. $51.00 Ellicazoom 52.0 Jye McNeil
8. $19.00 Viddora 57.0 Joe Bowditch
9. $41.00 Bel Sonic 52.0 Ben Thompson
10. $2.30 Nature Strip 56.5 Damian Lane
11. $51.00 Usain Bowler 52.0 Patrick Moloney
12. $51.00 I'll Have A Bit 52.0 Chris Parnham
13. $151.00 From Within 52.0 Beau Mertens
14. $101.00 Crown Witness 52.0 Damien Thornton
15. $71.00 Steel Frost 52.0 Jamie Kah
16. $41.00 Charge 50.0 Michael Dee
17. $101.00 Sensei 52.0 Dean Holland
18. $101.00 Fuhryk 52.0 Cory Parish

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:01.94

A number of group races are held on Blue Diamond Stakes day alongside the feature group one events, including the Gr2 St George Stakes, Gr2 Angus Armanasco Stakes, Gr2 Autumn Classic, Gr3 Mannerism Stakes & Zeditave Stakes.

Bet now on the Oakleigh Plate

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Oakleigh Plate odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Oakleigh Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Booker Encryption Eduardo 1:01.9
2018 Russian Revolution Snitty Kitty Hellbent 1:03.0
2017 Sheidel Faatinah Extreme Choice 1:02.1
2016 Flamberge Fell Swoop Heatherly 1:02.5
2015 Shamal Wind Under The Louvre Fast 'n' Rocking 1:02.2
2014 Lankan Rupee Spirit Of Boom Knoydart 1:02.7
2013 Mrs Onassis Facile Tigre Spirit Of Boom 1:03.1
2012 Woorim Elite Falls Facile Tigre 1:03.4
2011 Eagle Falls Avenue Hinchinbrook 1:02.2
2010 Starspangledbanner =2 Here De Angels =2 Arinos 1:03.1
2009 Swiss Ace Lucky Secret Typhoon Zed 1:02.8
2008 Weekend Hussler Magnus Tramuntana 1:03.2
2007 Undue Poets Voice Magnus 1:02.7
2006 Snitzel Virage De Fortune Takeover Target 1:04.4
2005 Fastnet Rock Segments Legally Bay 1:02.5
2004 Reactive Ancient Song Suit 1:03.4
2003 River Dove North Boy Choisir 1:04.5
2002 Sudurka Mistegic Straight Ace 1:02.5
2001 Miss Kournikova Miss Pennymoney Show A Heart 1:02.0
2000 Sports Falvelon Rancho Spark 1:04.5
1999 Dantelah Paint Magic Music 1:02.8
1998 Singing The Blues Rock You Jugulator 1:03.2
1997 Spartacus Rock You Clang 1:02.7
1996 Drum Prince Marauding Centisle 1:05.7
1995 Khaptingly Royal Discard The Heavyweight 1:03.4
1994 Kenvain Sublimate Blue Boss 1:02.4
1993 Mookta Isnt She Gorgeous Storaia 1:04.3
1992 Schillaci Dark Beau Dappers Hope 1:02.7
1991 With Me Paklani Joanne 1:02.8
1990 Scarlet Bisque Show County Power Prince 1:03.0
1989 Clay Hero Lonely Dreamer Scarlet Bisque 1:03.2
1988 Snippets Rancho Ruler In Wonderland 1:02.8