horse racing info

Liverpool City Cup

The Liverpool City Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held in late February or early March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Liverpool City Cup was won by Crack Me Up from Care To Think with Burning Passion third.

Held on Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes day during the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the winner of this race is exempt from ballot and penalty for the Doncaster Handicap.

Liverpool City Cup info

Date: Saturday 2nd March 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Crack Me Up

The Liverpool City Cup is a quality handicap that tends to attract more than handy sprinters and the 1300m distance of the race lends itself to horses who can finish strongly over 1200m or those unable to run out a strong 1400m.

Horses contesting this race may come via the Gr3 Southern Cross Stakes which is run under the same conditions and Terravista (2014) was the last horse to win both races in the same year, while The Free Stater (2007) was the most recent before that.

A race such as the Gr3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap run under similar conditons may be next on the agenda for horses competing this event.

Guy Walter mare Skyerush (2013) had a very good autumn return after winning this race, taking out the Gr3 Doncaster Prelude and Gr3 Emancipation Stakes later in the carnival.

Crack Me Up (2018) finished unlaced in the restricted Magic Millions Cup over 1400m on the Gold Coast in Queensland before heading south to win this event in impressive style and recent Liverpool City Cup winners include McCreery (2017) and Charlie Boy (2016).

2018 Liverpool City Cup result

1. $17.00 Crack Me Up 59.0 Jason Collett
2. $2.50 Care To Think 58.5 Jeff Lloyd
3. $14.00 Burning Passion 57.0 Joshua Parr

then followed
4. $11.00 Egg Tart 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $41.00 Oxford Poet 55.0 Jay Ford
6. $8.50 Interlocuter 57.5 Tye Angland
7. $51.00 Mccreery 58.0 Glyn Schofield
8. $9.50 Artlee 54.5 Brenton Avdulla
9. $101.00 Burradoo 53.0 Ms Jess Taylor
10. $13.00 Mackintosh 58.0 Hugh Bowman
11. $6.00 Arbeitsam 57.0 Tim Clark
12. $31.00 Boss Lane 59.0 Andrew Adkins

Margins: 0.5 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:16.52

Bet now on the Liverpool City Cup

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Liverpool City Cup odds.

Liverpool City Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Crack Me Up Care To Think Burning Passion 1:16.5
2017 Mccreery Arod Testashadow 1:19.2
2016 Charlie Boy Rock Sturdy Good Project 1:15.0
2015 It's Somewhat Rudy Gypsy Diamond 1:15.8
2014 Terravista El Roca Ninth Legion 1:16:5
2013 Skyerush Riva De Lago Bagman 1:16.4
2012 Ofcourseican Somepin Anypin Fast Clip 1:17.9
2011 Triple Elegance Graceful Anna Pureness 1:15.9
2010 Dreamscape Triple Honour Mr Baritone 1.17:2
2009 Judged El Cambio Faulconbridge 1:15.5
2008 Danleigh Friday Creek Bobadah 1.16.5
2007 The Free Stater Regal Cheer Century Serb 1.10.2
2006 Utzon All Bar One Patezza 1.09.5
2005 Sam Sung a Song Falkirk Patezza 1.09.8
2004 Carael Boy Patezza Amex 1.12.1
2003 Planchet Snowland Moon Dragon 1.09.8
2002 Bomber Bill Defier Maitland Gold 1.09.7
2001 Continuum Phoenix Park Nanny Maroon 1.10.5
2000 Catatonic Mr. Bureaucrat King Of Acapulco 1.10.8
1999 Return To Go Sovereign State Antiquity 1.09.9
1998 Monopolize Sherwood Montana Sands 1.10.8
1997 Accomplice Celestial Choir Montana Sands 1.09.0
1996 Chlorophyll Suntain Our Lance 1.10.2
1995 So Keen Sympose Belas Knap 1.11.4
1994 Silver Flyer Cobbora Skating 1.09.5
1993 Pharaoh Friend's Venture Stavros 1.08.8
1992 All Archie Mezmerize King's Ransom 1.08.8
1991 All Archie Bassie's Pride The Bullfighter 1.10.6
1990 Boasting Livistona Lane Merimbula Bay 1.09.3
1989 Boasting Nova Edition Magic Gleam 1.08.6
1988 Breakfast Creek New Atlantis Royal Reel 1.09.0