horse racing info

Sky High Stakes

The Sky High Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap that takes place in March each year at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1900 metres and is worth $350,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Sky High Stakes was won by Red Cardinal from Rodrico with Goathland third.

Formerly a listed event, the Sky High Stakes was granted Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and is held on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Classic on the first day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival at Rosehill.

Sky High Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th March 2019
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1900 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $350,000
2019 Winner: Red Cardinal

The Sky High Stakes is a middle distance event for 3yo & upwards gallopers that typically assembles a field of local handy types that are generally competitive in similar type events without rising to any great heights during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Earlier autumn races such as the Gr3 Liverpool City Cup at Warwick Farm provide a good lead up to this race, while the upcoming Gr3 Epona Stakes & Gr3 Neville Sellwood Stakes at Rosehill are attractve propositions later in the carnival.

Better class stayers may head on the Gr1 The BMW later in the carnival at Rosehill and Hartnell was the last galloper to claim the Sky High Stakes and The BMW double.

Auvray (2018) ran sixth in the Listed Paramatta Cup over 1900m at Rosehill before winning this event and recent Sky High Stakes winners include Tavago (2017) and Sir John Hawkwood (2016).

2018 Sky High Stakes result

1. $9.00 Auvray 55.5 Glyn Schofield
2. $3.40 Libran 56.5 Brenton Avdulla
3. $7.00 Mackintosh 56.5 Tye Angland

then followed
4. $7.00 Salsamor 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $3.90 Stampede 55.5 Tim Clark
6. $15.00 Get On The Grange 55.0 Blaike McDougall
7. $10.00 Who Shot Thebarman 56.5 Blake Shinn
8. $51.00 Lasqueti Spirit 56.0 Jay Ford
9. $41.00 More Energy 55.0 Ms Jess Taylor

Margins: 1.3 len, 0.1 len
Time: 2:03.72

Bet now on the Sky High Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sky High Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Sky High Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Red Cardinal Rodrico Goathland 2:08.3
2018 Auvray Libran Mackintosh 2:03.7
2017 Tavago Antonio Giuseppe Allergic 2:03.8
2016 Sir John Hawkwood Messene Who Shot Thebarman 2:03.2
2015 Hartnell Opinion Hawkspur 2:02.6
2014 Entirely Platinum Midsummer Sun Desert Jeuney 1.55.7
2013 Julienas Lunayir Le Roi 1:56.0
2012 Single Southern Skye Fiumicino 1:56.0
2011 Older Than Time Luen Yat Forever Syreon 1:55.8