horse racing info

Doomben Roses

The Doomben Roses is a Group 2 set weights race for three-year-old fillies that takes place each May at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland, during the Brisbane winter racing carnival. The race is run over the staying distance of 2000 metres and worth $175,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Doomben Roses was won by Kenedna from Oklahoma Girl with Perilous Love third.

Held on Group 1 Doomben Cup day, the last edition of the Doomben Roses was run as the 'Magic Millions Roses' and is held on the second day of the three-day Doomben racing carnival.

2018 Doomben Roses info

Date: Saturday 19th May 2018
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $175,000
2017 Winner: Kenedna

The Doomben Roses is a fillies only staying event for three-year-olds raced over a distance of 2000 metres. Local gallopers typically make up the majority of the field, although now and then a more than handy eastern states galloper might consider tackling this event if up to the challenge.

The set weight conditions of the race favours the better females engaged and the classier fillies will generally come to the fore. The race itself provides the ideal lead up race to the Gr1 Queensland Oaks over 2400m at Eagle Farm in June and both Gondokoro (2nd in 2013) and Quintessential (4th in 2012) went on to win the Oaks after placing in this race.

Caulfield & Melbourne Cup winner Ethereal (2001) was the last filly to take out the Doomben Roses & Queensland Oaks double, while Purple (3rd in 2009) managed to win the Queensland Oaks at her next start. Marheta (2010) finished runner-up in the Oaks after winning the Doomben Roses beforehand.

Better quality staying fillies might go on and tackle the Gr1 Queensland Derby on Stradbroke Day the following month at Eagle Farm and Dariana (3rd in 2010) ran third in the Doomben Roses before going on to score a big win in the Queensland Derby at her next start.

Occasionally the race might throw up a more than handy galloper amongst the unplaced runners, such as Jessicabeel (6th in 2009), who had a very successful 2010 autumn carnival at Randwick in Sydney taking out the Gr2 Chairmans Handicap & Gr1 Sydney Cup double.

Kenedna (2017) finished runner-up in the Gr1 Australasian Oaks over 2010m at Morphettville in Adelaide, South Australia, before heading north to Brisbane to win this event and recent Doomben Roses winners include Kebede (2016) and Bohemian Lily (2015).

2017 Doomben Roses result

1. $3.00 Kenedna 56.5 John Allen
2. $8.50 Oklahoma Girl 56.5 James Doyle
3. $31.00 Perilous Love 56.5 Opie Bosson

then followed
4. $31.00 Shenandoah 56.5 Blake Shinn
5. $26.00 Mia Rosa 56.5 Tim Clark
6. $8.00 Invincibella 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $26.00 Lipstick Lover 56.5 Robbie Fradd
8. $7.00 Candika 56.5 Damian Browne
9. $4.60 The Pinnacle 56.5 Corey Brown
10. $151.00 Nordic Show 56.5 Luke Rolls
11. $31.00 Savvan 56.5 Glyn Schofield
12. $101.00 Clever Blaze 56.5 Jim Byrne
13. $101.00 Benfica Princess 56.5 Michael Cahill
14. $51.00 Fallacy 56.5 Jeff Lloyd

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:08.00

The Gr3 BRC Sprint also takes place on Doomben Cup day.

Bet now on the Doomben Roses

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Doomben Roses recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Kenedna Oklahoma Girl Perilous Love 2:08.0
2016 Kebede Sebring Sally Imposing Lass 2:02.5
2015 Bohemian Lily Col 'n' Lil Whatalovelyday 2:04.0
2014 Arabian Gold Tinto Tornado Miss 2:03.0
2013 Dear Demi Gondokoro Vaquera 2:05.3
2012 Invest Miss Artistic Scorpio Queen 2:04.1
2011 Scarlett Lady Savannah's Choice Divorces 2:04.0
2010 Marheta Femina Fashion Dariana 2:03.5
2009 Awesome Planet Ekstreme Purple 2:04.3
2008 Heavenly Glow Pentacity Miss Maren 2:05.5
2007 Lasoron My Ladys Chamber Eskimo Queen 2:03.0
2006 Gaze Upstaged Zenarta 2:03.5
2005 Cinque Cento Ponte Piccolo Fiery Sunset 2:04.0
2004 Natural Woman Charmview Imana 2:04.3
2003 The Jewel Crianca Domielle 2:04.9
2002 Palidamah Faiza Quays 2:01.9
2001 Ethereal Life Is Beautiful Dandify 2:04.3
2000 Avilde Miss Zoe Citirecruit 2:05.4
1999 Episode Elegant Beauty Shahne Tartan 2:06.2