horse racing info

Royal Sovereign Stakes

The Royal Sovereign Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-old colts & geldings that takes place in April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and is worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Royal Sovereign Stakes was won by Catchy from Showtime with I Am Excited third.

Held alongside the Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes on the second day of The Championships, the Royal Sovereign Stakes is the autumn sprint championship for three-year-old sprinters

Royal Sovereign Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2018 Winner: Catchy

The Royal Sovereign Stakes is a set weights race for three-year olds that has been moved to later in the autumn carnival to attract the best 3yo sprinters going around. With the rise in prizemoney to $500,000 for the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Royal Soveriegn Stakes will become a target race for quality three-year-olds in the years ahead.

Top class gallopers Lonhro (2002), Guineas (1998), Danewin (1995) and Shaftesbury Avenue (1990) have all won this race and the Gr2 Light Fingers Stakes earlier in the carnival at Rosehill is the fillies equivalent of this race.

Lesser lights may consider tackling a race like the Gr3 Hawkesbury Guineas at Hawkesbury on Gr3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup day and both Spill The Beans (8th in 2016) and Chautauqua (7th in 2014) managed to take out the Hawkesbury Guineas after finishing unplaced in this race.

Interestingly enough, both Nostradamus (6th in 2015) and Dothraki (5th in 2014) went on to win the Gr3 Gold Coast Guineas in Queensland after finishing just behind the placegetters in the Royal Sovereign Stakes.

Catchy (2018) ran third in the Gr3 PJ Bell Stakes before scoring a classy win in this event and recent Royal Sovereign Stakes winners include Derryn (2017) and Japonisme (2016).

sportsbet odds

Terms & conditions apply. Excludes VIC, NSW, SA & WA.

2018 Royal Sovereign Stakes result

1. $9.00 Catchy 54.5 Joao Moreira
2. $14.00 Showtime 56.5 Corey Brown
3. $5.00 I Am Excited 54.5 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $7.50 Booker 54.5 Dwayne Dunn
5. $14.00 She Will Reign 54.5 Ben Melham
6. $5.00 Houtzen 54.5 Glyn Schofield
7. $9.50 Pariah 56.5 Mark Zahra
8. $4.20 Viridine 56.5 Hugh Bowman
9. $26.00 Perast 56.5 Damian Lane

Margins: 1.5 len, 0.3 len
Time: 1:10.22

Bet now on the Royal Sovereign Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Royal Sovereign Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Royal Sovereign Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Catchy Showtime I Am Excited 1:10.2
2017 Derryn Global Glamour Impending 1:12.6
2016 Japonisme Counterattack Takedown 1:10.3
2015 Delectation Bring Me The Maid Rekindled Power 1:11.7
2014 Sidestep Bounding In Cahoots 1:10.2
2013 Rebel Dane Urquidez Taxmeifyoucan 1:10.7
2012 Hot Snitzel Manawanui Moment Of Change 1:08.9
2011 Master Harry Audacious Spirit Skilled 1:10.2
2010 Shoot Out More Than Great Viking Legend 1:10.7
2009 Youthful Jack Over the Wicket Desuetude 1:11.3
2008 El Cambio Kingda Ka Solo Flyer 1:10.3
2007 Mutawaajid Sniper's Bullet Mearas 1:09.5
2006 Flying Pegasus Racing To Win De Beers 1:10.0
2005 Dance Hero Eremein Star Cat 1:10.0
2004 Exceed and Excel Ambulance Impaler 1:08.2
2003 Athelnoth Planchet Charlie Bub 1:10.1
2002 Lonhro Viking Ruler Shags 1:11.0
2001 Assertive Lad Continum Century Kid 1:09.9
2000 Hire Easy Rocking Condotti 1:09.9
1999 Lawyer Dracula Arena 1:10.0
1998 Guineas Return To Go Tricove 1:03.6
1997 Sovereign State Monet's Cove Clang 1:05.0
1996 Catalan Opening Filante Ravarda 1:09.9
1995 Danewin Brave Warrior Ivory's Irish 1:10.1
1994 Rouslan The Heavyweight Clearly Chosen 1:09.7
1993 Coronation Day Pre-Eminence Chagall 1:09.4
1992 Big Dreams Belas Knap Tierce 1:10.4
1991 All Archie Bureaucracy Stradmore 1:09.3
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Majestic Boy Coconut Shy 1:10.2
1989 Ima Carpenter Swiftly Carson Bill 1:08.9
1988 Dream Faith Don't Play Pleasant Express 1:09.9