horse racing info

Sapphire Stakes

The Sapphire Stakes is a Group 2 race for fillies & mares that takes place each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and worth $300,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Sapphire Stakes was won by Quilista from Ravi with White Moss third.

Held alongside the $4 Million Group 1 ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes on the second day of The Championships, the Sapphire Stakes is one of a number of group races on a huge day of feature racing action for the Australian Turf Club.

Sapphire Stakes info

Date: Saturday 13th April 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2018 Winner: Quilista

The Sapphire Stakes is a race for fillies & mares only that will attract more than handy types who may come via the Gr3 Birthday Card Stakes held on Rosehill Guineas Day in late March at Rosehill. Two Blue (2016) ran sixth in the Birthday Card Stakes before winning this race at her next start.

In recent times Quilista (2018) and Arinosa (2013) have claimed the Birthday Card Stakes & Sapphire Stakes double, while Beaded (2nd in 2010) and Miss Stellabelle (2nd in 2013) placed in both races. Court (2009) ran third in the Birthday Card Stakes prior to winning the Sapphire Stakes.

Female gallopers that previously contested a stronger mares race like the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Classic earlier in the carnival at Rosehill may also consider tackling this event. A capacity field of in form mares generally assembles for the Sapphire Stakes, making it a tough job for punters trying find the winner.

Interestingly enough, Aerobatics (5th in 2014), Plucky Belle (4th in 2014) and Cosmic Endeavour (2014) all went on to run 1-2-3 in the Gr3 Hawkesbury Crown at Hawkesbury on Gr3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup day.

Quilista (2018) won the Gr3 Birthday Card Stakes over 1200m at Rosehill on her way to an impressive victory in this event and recent Sapphire Stakes winners include Secret Agenda (2017) and Two Blue (2016).

sportsbet odds

Terms & conditions apply. Excludes VIC, NSW, SA & WA.

2018 Sapphire Stakes result

1. $5.50 Quilista 55.0 Damian Lane
2. $7.50 Ravi 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $13.00 White Moss 55.0 Michael Dee

then followed
4. $12.00 Invincibella 54.0 Brenton Avdulla
5. $15.00 Lubiton 55.0 Blake Shinn
6. $14.00 Ghisoni 56.0 Hugh Bowman
7. $17.00 Nieta 54.0 Corey Brown
8. $26.00 Slow Burn 54.5 Michael Walker
9. $61.00 Shazee Lee 55.0 Christian Reith
10. $71.00 Hetty Heights 54.0 Andrew Adkins
11. $13.00 Spright 55.5 Jay Ford
12. $26.00 Faraway Town 55.0 Tim Clark
13. $4.40 Sugar Bella 55.0 Jason Collett
14. $41.00 Fragonard 54.0 Craig Williams
15. $51.00 Danish Twist 55.0 Ben Melham
16. $19.00 Raiment 55.5 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 1.8 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:09.38

Bet now on the Sapphire Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Sapphire Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker includint state exclusions. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.

Sapphire Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Quilista Ravi White Moss 1:09.3
2017 Secret Agenda Missrock Artistry 1:13.2
2016 Two Blue Secret Agenda Brook Road 1:10.8
2015 Avoid Lightning Griante Fine Bubbles 1:12.1
2014 Cosmic Endeavour Avoid Lightning Belle De Coeur 1:10.7
2013 Arinosa Miss Stellabelle Forarainyday 1:10.5
2012 Atlantic Jewel Mid Summer Music Ladys Angel 1:08.9
2011 Hurtle Myrtle Kimillsy Marquardt 1:10.6
2010 Renaissance Beaded Jersey Lily 1:10.5
2009 Court Belong To Many Cajou 1:10.8
2008 Belong to Many Tenant's Tiara Fritz's Princess 1:11.1
2007 Fire Song Whoever Splashing Out 1:12.9
2006 Coolroom Candidate Imana Shalimar Sky 1:10.6
2005 Glamour Puss With My Wild Queen 1:12.0
2004 Recurring Fair Embrace Cataclysm 1:10.4
2003 Fatoon Provokes Miss Helterskelter 1:11.4
2002 Fair Embrace Spinning Hill Hot Riff 1:09.2
2001 Spinning Hill Nanny Maroon Marlina 1:10.3
2000 Spinning Hill Snippets' Lass Heather 1:09.7
1999 Little Pattie Snippets' Lass Sash 1:10.6
1998 What Can I Say Airs 'n' Graces Bridled Chance 1:12.3