July: Nil
August: Memsie Stakes

BEST GROUP 1 BOOKIE - LUXBET Claim up to $150 BONUS BETS when you open a new online betting account at Luxbet and deposit up to $50 or more! >>> More info here...


Where to Bet

Lightning Stakes

Bookmaker Review Bonus
william hill William Hill 502 join offer
sportsbet Sportsbet 501 join offer
ladbrokes Ladbrokes 500 join offer
palmerbet Palmerbet 500 join offer
betfair Betfair 300 join offer
unibet Unibet 300 join offer
luxbet Luxbet 150 join offer
crownbet CrownBet 100 join offer
Join, deposit $20 get $80

Start a Free Punters Club

sportsbet punters club

Bet on Racing at William Hill

Bet on the Net at Sportsbet

Bet on Horse Racing at Luxbet

Bet on Horse Racing at CrownBet

Summer Racing Special Offer

pick your own free bet

Daily Racing Special Offers

Watch Live Victorian Racing

watch live racing

Free BlackBook Service

free sportsbet black book

Enjoy a Free BlackBook service to follow your favourites and get an Email or SMS when they race!

Sign up here for a Free BlackBook

Note: All joining offers exclude SA, VIC, NSW and WA residents due to gaming regulations in each state.

Due to recent gambling regulation changes, NSW residents are ineligible to receive any money back offers from Australian bookmakers. Please ensure you read all terms and conditions.

The Lightning Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race that takes place in February each year at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over the sprint distance of 1000 metres with prizemoney of $750,000. The 2017 Lightning Stakes was won by Terravista from Spieth with Star Turn third.

One of the most anticpated weight-for-age sprint races of the autumn in Melbourne, the Lightning Stakes is held alongside the Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes and Group 3 Vanity Stakes, both for three-year-olds.

The Melbourne Racing Club renamed this race the 'Black Caviar Lightning' in 2013 in honour of champion mare Black Caviar, who became the first galloper to win the Lightning Stakes three years in a row during the 2012/2013 racing season.

2017 Lightning Stakes info
Date: Saturday 18th February 2017
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $750,000
2017 Winner: Terravista

The Lightning Stakes is the premier weight-for-age 1000m sprint event of the Flemington autumn carnival and always attracts the best sprinters going around. A long list of Australia's best sprinters have won this race over the years including Black Caviar (2011-13), Scenic Blast (2009), Apache Cat (2008), Miss Andretti (2007) and Takeover Target (2006).

The Lightning is run down the Flemington '1000m' straight course with no turns involved, suiting some horses more than others. Horses with an affinity for the Flemington track, or proven down the straight, are ones to consider when assessing the form for this race.

The Gr2 Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley in January is a typical lead up race to this event as it is raced under the same weight-for-age conditions, and Black Caviar (2012) was the last horse to win the Australia Stakes & Lightning Stakes double in the same year.

The better sprinters from this race may consider tackling races such as the Gr1 Oakleigh Plate on Blue Diamond Stakes day later in the month at Caulfield or the Gr1 Newmarket Handicap at Flemington on Super Saturday of Racing in March.

The weight-for-age Gr1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley in March is another option for sprinters contesting this event, with champion mare Black Caviar (2013) the last galloper to take out the Lightning Stakes & William Reid Stakes double. Black Caviar also managed to take out the Lightning Stakes & Newmarket Handicap double in 2011.

Terravista (2017) resumed from a spell to win this event in narrow style and recent Lightning Stakes winners include Chautauqua (2016) and Lankan Rupee (2015).

2017 Lightning Stakes result
1. $15.00 Terravista 58.5 Corey Brown
2. $6.00 Spieth 58.5 Hugh Bowman
3. $4.00 Star Turn 55.5 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $41.00 Flamberge 58.5 Brad Rawiller
5. $21.00 Illustrious Lad 58.5 Anthony Darmanin
6. $9.00 Heatherly 56.5 Damian Lane
7. $3.60 Flying Artie 55.5 Damien Oliver
8. $21.00 Counterattack 58.5 Mark Zahra
9. $9.00 Supido 58.5 Luke Nolen

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 0:57.26

Global Sprint Challenge

The Lightning Stakes is the first leg of the 'Global Sprint Challenge' which is a series of eight sprint races run in Hong Kong, Australia, England and Japan. The Australian legs of the series are the Gr1 Lightning Stakes held at Flemington in January and the Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic held on the final day of the Flemington spring carnival in November.

Global Sprint Challenge races
Gr1 Lightning Stakes - Flemington Racecourse - Australia - January
Gr1 Dubai Golden Shaheen - Meydan racecourse - Dubai - March
Gr1 Takamatsunomiya Kinen - Chukyo racecourse - Japan - March
Gr1 Chairman's Sprint Prize - Sha Tin racecourse - Hong Kong - May
Gr1 King's Stand Stakes - Royal Ascot racecourse - England - June
Gr1 DIamond Jubilee Stakes - Royal Ascot racecourse - England - June
Gr1 July Cup - Newmarket Racecourse - England - July
Gr1 Sprinters Stakes - Nakayama Racecourse - Japan - October
Gr1 VRC Sprint Classic - Flemington Racecourse - Australia - November
Gr1 Hong Kong Sprint - Sha Tin Racecourse - Hong Kong - December

The Champion Sprinter trophy is awarded to the connections of the horse that accumulates 42 points or more in a single season, and participates in challenge races in at least three countries. Challenge winners since the Global Series inception have been Cape of Good Hope (2005), Takeover Target (2006), Miss Andretti (2007) and Apache Cat (2008), Scenic Blast (2009) and Starspangledbanner (2010).

Bet now on the Lightning Stakes
join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
Lightning Stakes recent winners & placegetters
Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Terravista Spieth Star Turn 0:57.2
2016 Chautauqua Terravista Japonisme 0:57.0
2015 Lankan Rupee Brazen Beau Deep Field 0:56.2
2014 Snitzerland Shamexpress Samaready 0:57.1
2013 Black Caviar Moment Of Change Golden Archer 0:55.4
2012 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering 0:55.5
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Warm Love 0:57.2
2010 Nicconi Wanted Shellscrape 0:57.1
2009 Scenic Blast Typhoon Zed Grand Duels 0:56.9
2008 Apache Cat Swick Stanzout 0:57.3
2007 Miss Andretti Magnus Ticklish 0:57.2
2006 Takeover Target Gods Own Cape Of Good Hope 0:56.8
2005 Fastnet Rock Alinghi Cape Of Good Hope 0:57.3
2004 Regimental Gal Our Egyptian Raine Mistegic 0:57.0
2003 Choisir Spinning Hill Azevedo 0:56.9
2002 Spinning Hill Mistegic Chong Tong 0:57.1
2001 Sports Black Bean Easy Rocking 0:57.0
2000 Testa Rossa Falvelon Magic Music 0:56.0
1999 Isca Toledo Scandinavia 0:57.6
1998 General Nediym Notoire Show No Emotion 0:57.9
1997 Mahogany Cangronde Spartacus 0:57.0
1996 Gold Ace Strategic Sequalo 0:56.9
1995 Mahogany Alannon Keltrice 0:56.9
1994 Keltrice Schillaci Kenvain 0:56.1
1993 Schillaci Clever Zoe Oozook 0:56.0
1992 Schillaci Umatilla Wrap Around 0:55.9
1991 Shaftesbury Avenue Bureaucracy Lightning Bend 0:57.4
1990 Redelva Show County Strawberry Ranch 0:57.0
1989 Zeditave Special Clay Hero 0:56.5
1988 Special Snippets Redelva 0:55.5

Best Australian Bookmaker for Lightning Stakes free bets


© 2008 - 2017 | Horse Racing Info | ABN: 70 863 499 360 | Beejayville Pty Ltd | All content on this website may NOT be used or reproduced without permission.
All free bets and bookmaker offers are subject to terms & conditions and free bet joining offers exclude NSW, VIC, WA & SA residents.