horse racing info

Toorak Handicap

The Toorak Handicap is a Group 1 open handicap race held annually at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne Spring racing carnival in October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $400,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Toorak Handicap was won by He's Our Rokkii from Great Esteem with Tivaci third.

From 1981-84 the race was known as the ‘The IXL’ and then from 1985-89 the ‘The Elders Mile’ and from 1990 onwards it has been the Toorak Handicap.

The Toorak Handicap takes place at Caulfield racecourse on Guineas day which is the first day of the three-day Caulfield racing carnival and is one of three Group 1 races held on the day alongside the Caulfield Guineas and Caulfield Stakes.

The second day of the Caulfield carnival the following Wednesday features the Group 1 Thousand Guineas for fillies while the third and final day is the next Saturday which sees the running of the main feature race of the Caulfield carnival, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

2017 Toorak Handicap info

Date: Saturday 14th October 2017
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2016 Winner: He's Our Rokkii

The Toorak Handicap is one of the better mile races of the spring carnival and attracts good horses each year, although the race is better suited to seasoned sprinter milers rather than Cup staying types. A capacity field is usually assembled for the Toorak and barrier draws can play an important part, with those drawn out wide at a distinct disadvantage.

The Gr1 Sir Rupert Stakes at Caulfield is a handy lead-up race to this event and Trust In A Gust (2014), Barely A Moment (2005) and Regal Roller (2004) have managed to take out the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes & Toorak Handicap double in recent years.

Winners of this race tend to continue performing best in similar type handicap events around the same distance or slightly longer, up to 2000m, rather than the longer distances of the major cups.

He's Our Rokkii (2016) won a Handicap race over 1400m at Caulfield before gaining a late split to win this event in classy style and recent Toorak Handicap winners include Lucky Hussler (2015) and Trust In A Gust (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

Stratum Star (3rd in 2015) returned to Caulfield the following Saturday to win the Gr3 David Jones Cup while Disposition headed to Flemington to win the Gr3 Chatham Stakes on the first day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Solzhenitsyn (2012) ran third in the Gr2 Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate day after winning this race. Poor Judge (3rd in 2011) took out the Gr3 Chatham Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington after finishing third here.

All American (8th in 2009) scored an easy victory in the Gr1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington on the final day of the carnival and , Gold Salute (2nd in 2009) ran third the same race.

2016 Toorak Handicap result

1. $2.50 He's Our Rokkii 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
2. $31.00 Great Esteem 52.0 Chris Parnham
3. $21.00 Tivaci 52.0 Patrick Moloney

then followed
4. $11.00 Royal Rapture 55.0 Mark Zahra
5. $19.00 Awesome Rock 58.0 Stephen Baster
6. $7.50 Bon Aurum 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $26.00 Jacquinot Bay 55.0 Damian Lane
8. $15.00 Thames Court 52.0 Corey Brown
9. $15.00 Moral Victory 52.0 Ben Allen
10. $5.50 Counterattack 54.5 James McDonald
11. $61.00 Cosmic Cube 53.0 Craig Newitt
12. $17.00 Miss Rose De Lago 54.0 Ms Katelyn Mallyon

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:36.18

Bet now on the Toorak Handicap

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Toorak Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 He's Our Rokkii Great Esteem Tivaci 1:36.1
2015 Lucky Hussler Disposition Stratum Star 1:34.5
2014 Trust In A Gust Speediness Desert Jeuney 1:35.2
2013 Solzhenitsyn Trevieres Blackie 1:36.4
2012 Solzhenitsyn Spirit Song Yosei 1:35.2
2011 King Mufhasa King's Rose Luen Yat Forever 1:36.2
2010 More Joyous We're Gonna Rock Poor Judge 1:36.4
2009 Allez Wonder Gold Salute Rock Kingdom 1:35.0
2008 Alamosa Rockwood Pillar of Hercules 1:36.9
2007 Divine Madonna Niconero Wonderful World 1.37.3
2006 Red Dazzler Rewaaya Niconero 1.37.5
2005 Barely A Moment Super Kid Calveen 1.37.9
2004 Regal Roller Osca Warrior Infinite Grace 1.37.4
2003 Roman Arch Fields Of Omagh Umrum 1.36.0
2002 Shot Of Thunder Umrum Pernod 1.36.1
2001 Show A Heart La Zagaletta Shot Of Thunder 1.35.8
2000 Umrum Go Flash Go Crawl 1.36.4
1999 Umrum Nina Haraka Go Flash Go 1.36.0
1998 Marble Halls Rustic Dream Umrum 1.38.2
1997 Penghulu Catalan Opening Ravarda 1.35.2
1996 Poetic King Scenic Royale Shame 1.35.8
1995 Sober Suit Seascay Danarani 1.35.2
1994 Oppressor Poetic King Spring Theme 1.35.2
1993 Golden Sword Never Undercharge Azzurro 1.35.8
1992 Ready To Explode Excited Angel Prince Salleri 1.43.7
1991 Comrade Livistona Lane Black Sun 1.36.1
1990 Ricochet Rosie Comrade Cool Credit 1:37.2
1989 Cole Diesel Glenview Planet Ruler 1:36.0
1988 Planet Ruler Hazy Pond Our Westminster 1:35.3
1987 Caledonian Boy Vo Rogue Globetrotter 1:35.9
1986 Canny Lass Lockleys Tradition Federalism 1:36.2
1985 King Phoenix Wise Call Shifnal Prince 1:36.8
1984 Mr Ironclad Riverdale King Phoenix 1:36.1
1983 Showmeran Ringtrue French Current 1:36.4
1982 Magari Avatar Oriental Ruler 1:36.7
1981 Penny Edition Silver Bounty My Axeman 1:36.0
1980 Torbek Consenting Watney 1:39.6
1979 Manaroa Marjoleo Grey Sapphire 1:40.5
1978 Salamander Crepellox Hyperno 1:36.5
1977 Nunkalowe Tulla Honey Lady Blintz 1:37.4
1976 Visit My Good Man Military Road 1:42.5