horse racing info

Thousand Guineas

The Thousand Guineas is a Group 1 set weights race for three-year-old fillies that takes place annually at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Thousand Guineas was won by Global Glamour from I Am A Star with Whispering Brook third.

After being held on the middle day (Wednesday) of the three-day Caulfield spring racing carnival since 1988, the Thousand Guineas has been moved to the first day (Saturday) of the carnival for the 2013/2014 season to be held alongside the male equivalent of this race, the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas.

The winner of this race is eligible for a $250,000 bonus by winning the Caulfield Classic (formerly Norman Robinson Stakes) the following Saturday.

2017 Thousand Guineas info

Date: Saturday 14th October 2017
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2016 Winner: Global Glamour
bet now 2017 Thousand Guineas odds

The Thousand Guineas is the Melbourne Racing Club's premier event of the spring for three-year-old fillies. Winners and placegetters will generally continue on to the tried & tested route of the Gr2 Wakeful Stakes on Derby Day and then the Gr1 VRC Oaks on the third day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington in November.

With the advent of the $750,000 Caulfield Classic for 2014 at the same track one week later, the lure of good prizemoney may see many filles opting for the Classic, as it is held at the same track and is a natural increase in distance for staying types.

The Thousand Guineas, much like its male counterpart, the Caulfield Guineas, is run over the same distance of 1600 metres, and if a top quality filly stands out from the rest then, she will most likely dominate this race and also the Wakeful Stakes and VRC Oaks along the way.

The best guide to the Thousand Guineas over the years has been the Gr2 Edward Manifold Stakes held a couple of weeks earlier at Flemington on Turnbull Stakes day.

Gallica (2008), Alinghi (2004) and Special Harmony (2003) all won the Edward Manifold & Thousand Guineas double, while Commanding Jewel (2012), Serious Speed (2007) and Miss Finland (2006) both placed in the Edward Manifold before winning this event. The set weight conditions of the race ensures the best filly will win more often than they lose.

Global Glamour (2016) took out the Gr1 Flight Stakes over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to score a thrilling victory in this event and recent Thousand Guineas winners have been Stay With Me (2015) and Amicus (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

A number of Thousand Guineas winners have gone on to taste success in the VRC Oaks at Flemington in recent times with Miss Finland (2006), Special Harmony (2003), Magical Miss (2001), Northwood Plume (1994), Arborea (1993) and Richfield Lady (1991) all victorious.

Second placegetters Dear Demi (2nd in 2012) and Mosheen (2nd in 2011) managed to win the VRC Oaks later in the spring after finishing runner-up in this event. Zydeco (3rd in 2012) ran second in the VRC Oaks behind Dear Demi.

Jameka (2nd in 2015) headed to Moonee Valley at her next start to claim the Gr2 AAMI Vase against the males.

May's Dream (2nd in 2013) went on to finish runner up in the Wakeful Stakes after running second here, while the classy Atlantic Jewel (2011) took out the Thousand Guineas & Wakeful Stakes double. Brazilian Pulse (3rd in 2010) managed to win the Wakeful Stakes & VRC Oaks during during the Flemington carnival and Heartsareforlove (2nd in 2010) ran third in the Wakeful Stakes.

Faint Perfume (3rd in 2009) had a wonderful Flemington carnival in November winning the Wakeful Stakes on her way to success in the VRC Oaks, while Melito (2nd in 2009) finished runner-up to Faint Perfume in the Wakeful Stakes.

2016 Thousand Guineas result

1. $4.40 Global Glamour 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $21.00 I Am A Star 55.5 Steven King
3. $8.50 Whispering Brook 55.5 Nicholas Hall

then followed
4. $4.20 Foxplay 55.5 Hugh Bowman
5. $10.00 Harlow Gold 55.5 Regan Bayliss
6. $31.00 Sebring Dream 55.5 Michael Walker
7. $9.00 Missrock 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
8. $12.00 La Luna Rossa 55.5 Damien Oliver
9. $31.00 Smart Amelia 55.5 James McDonald
10. $15.00 Leotie 55.5 Chris Parnham
11. $26.00 Samara Dancer 55.5 Dom Tourneur
12. $51.00 Sword Of Light 55.5 Damian Lane
13. $151.00 Fromparis Withlove 55.5 Ben E Thompson
14. $17.00 Legless Veuve 55.5 Mark Zahra

Margins: 1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:36.84

Bet now on the Thousand Guineas

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Thousand Guineas recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Global Glamour I Am A Star Whispering Brook 1:36.8
2015 Stay With Me Jameka Badawiya 1:35.8
2014 Amicus Traveston Girl Sabatini 1:36.4
2013 Guelph May's Dream Gregers 1:37.7
2012 Commanding Jewel Dear Demi Zydeco 1:37.1
2011 Atlantic Jewel Mosheen Sharnee Rose 1:35.8
2010 Yosei Heartsareforlove Brazilian Pulse 1.39:8
2009 Irish Lights Melito Faint Perfume 1:38.8
2008 Gallica Cats Whisker Glowlamp 1:38.6
2007 Serious Speed Extension of Time Antarctic Miss 1:36.3
2006 Miss Finland Permaiscuous Cheeky Choice 1:37.2
2005 Mnemosyne Rewaaya Serenade Rose 1:36.3
2004 Alinghi Hollow Bullet Ballet Society 1:37.1
2003 Special Harmony Hinting Spurcent 1:36.4
2002 Macedon Lady La Bella Dama Fuji Dancer 1:36.4
2001 Magical Miss Ha Ha Li Lo Lill 1:37.0
2000 All Time High Ponton Flyer Tanith 1:36.3
1999 Shizu Danglissa Beat The Fade 1:39.4
1998 Inaflury Danelagh St. Clemens Belle 1:38.3
1997 Lady Of The Pines Rose Of Danehill Regal Sashay 1:35.9
1996 Dashing Eagle Derobe Zeya 1:38.0
1995 Shame Saleous Not On Friday 1:36.4
1994 Northwood Plume Danarani Captiva 1:36.7
1993 Arborea Kapchat Rose Reward 1:35.6
1992 Azzurro Love Comes To Town Burst 1:37.4
1991 Richfield Lady Rouquin Electrique 1:38.0
1990 Whisked Triscay Lycra 1:38.3
1989 Tristanagh Ochiltree Gamine 1:36.0
1988 Riverina Charm Research Boardwalk Angel 1:37.2
1987 Bianco Flyer Midnight Fever Imposera 1:41.8
1986 Magic Flute Pseudonym Miss Shackle 1:36.1
1985 Shankhill Lass Heat Of The Moment Rebecca Gay 1:38.1
1984 Goleen Sauna Spirit Of Kingston 1:37.5
1983 Perfect Bliss Raging River Look Aloft 1:45.1
1982 Roms Stiletto Irish Heiress More Rain 1:40.1
1981 Copperama Voli Dream Rose Of Kingston 1:38.1
1980 Biscadale Royal Paree Verdi 1:38.6
1979 Brava Jeannie Ladys Slipper Delma Jay 1:38.6
1978 Kapalaran Scomeld Jewel Flight 1:36.2
1977 Princess Talaria Show Ego Diggers Daughter 1:36.9
1976 Savoir Red Rebecca Out Of Danger 1:43.7
1975 Toy Show Maloja Denises Joy 1:37.9