horse racing info

David Jones Cup

The David Jones Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held at Caulfield racecourse each year in October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 David Jones Cup was won by Vanbrugh from Tom Melbourne with It's Somewhat third.

Held on the final day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day racing carnival, the David Jones Cup takes place alongside the MRC's biggest race, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

David Jones Cup info

Date: Saturday 21st October 2017
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2016 Winner: Vanbrugh

The David Jones Cup is a middle distance race for open horses and attracts handy milers and those horses looking to step up in distance towards the longer races to come during the spring carnival.

Known as the Coongy Handicap, the David Jones Cup provides a handy lead-up race for horses who may be contesting the Caulfield Cup. In recent times it has proven a reasonable guide to upcoming distance races such as the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup at Moonee Valley on Cox Plate Day and the Gr2 The Lexus Stakes at Flemington on Derby Day.

Vanbrugh (2016) finished unplaced in the Gr1 Epsom Handicap over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before travelling to Melbourne to win this event in solid style and recent David Jones Cup winners have been Stratum Star (2015) and Contributer (2014).

horse racing free bet

Spring Carnival Guide

This race has not been a great guide to any upcoming big race winners and the most recent winner to do anything of note was Ginga Dude (2010) who went on to run third in the Gr1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington on Derby Day. Dream Pedlar (4th in 2010) managed to win the listed Bendigo Cup later in the month at Epsom racecourse in Bendigo.

Shocking (2009) scored a big win in the the The Lexus Stakes on Derby day before winning the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday and Baughurst (2008-09) went on to run placings in both the 2008 Moonee Valley Cup and 2008 Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Fire in the Night (2007) ran 3rd in the listed HKJC Plate on Melbourne Cup day of the same year, while Maybe Better (2006) went on to win The Lexus Stakes on Derby day before running 3rd in that years Melbourne Cup.

2016 David Jones Cup

1. $5.00 Vanbrugh 54.5 Ben Melham
2. $4.80 Tom Melbourne 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
3. $2.60 It's Somewhat 59.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $101.00 Rose Of Virginia 54.0 Ben E Thompson
5. $26.00 Honorius 54.0 Dean Yendall
6. $21.00 Bring Something 54.0 Craig Newitt
7. $13.00 The Cleaner 59.0 Steven Arnold
8. $5.50 Maurus 55.5 Craig Williams
9. $51.00 Calvin Williams 54.0 Michael Dee

Margins: 0.5 len, 3 len
Time: 2:02.17

Bet now on the Coongy Handicap

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Coongy Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Vanbrugh Tom Melbourne It's Somewhat 2:02.1
2015 Stratum Star Awesome Rock Leebaz 2:02.1
2014 Contributer Noble Protector Signoff 2:05.2
2013 Spurtonic Bass Strait Garud 2:03.1
2012 Lightinthenite Bagman Extra Zero 2:04.2
2011 Foreteller Extra Zero Midnight Martini 2:03.1
2010 Ginga Dude Purple Zoomin 2:06.6
2009 Baughurst Shocking Pacino 2:03.6
2008 Baughurst Pacino Annenkov 2:02.0
2007 Fire In The Night Molotov Pachino 2:02.4
2006 Maybe Better King Of Ashford Temple Hills 2:01.2
2005 Activation Studebaker Uprize 2:00.6
2004 Reclaim Pretorius Star Of Grechen 2:05.7
2003 Frightening Crawl Adolescence 2:03.5
2002 Mr Lofty Little Miss Quick Society Beau 2:02.
2001 Citras Prince Indian Ridge Tempest Morn 2:04.1
2000 Typhoon Avilde Slavonic 2:00.9
1999 Oliver Twist Make A Scene Nahayan 2:03.5
1998 Its All In Fun Kalastaire Madonna 2:16.3
1997 Our Sumo Sunny Lane Toil 2:15.8
1996 Circles Of Gold Filante Beau Heed 2:03.0
1995 Macdrury Waikikamukau Makarpura Star 2:03.6
1994 Excited Angel Ball Park Over The Top 2:02.8
1993 Silk Ali Maraakiz Notwithstanding 2:01.6
1992 Fraar Brave Expectations Mountain Rule 2:02.5
1991 Mantlepiece Majestic Boy Centro 2:01.1
1990 Kessem Kingston Rule Goliath 2:00.6
1989 Eye Of The Sky Perfect Answer Chigarow 2:01.6
1988 Ideal Centreman Be Reasonable Exocet 2:00.1