horse racing info

Cantala Stakes

The Cantala Stakes is a Group 1 handicap race that takes place at Flemington racecourse on VRC Derby day in late October or early November during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2016 Cantala Stakes was won by Le Romain from Mccreery with Tivaci third.

In 2016, the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) and Racing Victoria announced changes to the first & last day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival. The Emirates Stakes (previously held on the final day) would revert to its registered name, the Cantala Stakes, and moved to Derby Day (the first day), while the Mackinnon Stakes (previously held on the first day) would be renamed the Emirates Stakes and moved to the final day.

The Cantala Stakes now takes place alongside the Gr1 AAMI Victoria Derby on the first Saturday of the four-day Flemington carnival, further enhancing the appeal of the entire Melbourne spring racing carnival, both here and abroad.

Derby day is widely regarded as one of the best days of racing anywhere in the world. Every race on Derby day is a group race, and features two more group one events, the Coolmore Stud Stakes and Myer Classic, rounding out four top quality group races for the day.

2017 Cantala Stakes info

Date: Saturday 4th November 2017
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2016 Winner: Le Romain
bet now 2017 Cantala Stakes odds

The Cantala Stakes is the premier 1600m race of the Flemington carnival and the race itself has grown significantly in recent times. Prizemoney has increased dramatically, now worth more than $1,000,000, making it one of the richest mile events in the country. The VRC are hoping to lure international trainers in the hope they might consider bringing along a quality miler with their Melbourne Cup hopefuls.

Strong milers are suited in the Cantala Stakes as the long Flemington straight will find out any horses who lack a bit of intestinal fortitude in the final stanza. Races like Gr2 Crystal Mile on Cox Plate day and the Gr1 Toorak Handicap on Caulfield Guineas day are generally good guides to this race.

Some classy performers have saluted in this event including All Silent (2008), Better Loosen Up (1989), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990) and the classy Testa Rossa (2000).

Le Romain (2016) ran fifth in the Gr1 Epsom Handicap over 1600m at Randwick in Sydney before ehading to Melbourne to win this event and recent Cantala Stakes winners have been Turn Me Loose (2015) and Hucklebuck (2014).

horse racing free bet

2016 Cantala Stakes result

1. $15.00 Le Romain 55.5 Hugh Bowman
2. $21.00 Mccreery 52.0 Craig Newitt
3. $41.00 Tivaci 52.0 Patrick Moloney

then followed
4. $6.00 The United States 57.0 Steven Arnold
5. $6.00 Mackintosh 53.0 Joao Moreira
6. $19.00 Hopfgarten 53.5 Craig Williams
7. $18.00 Good Project 54.0 Zac Purton
8. $13.00 Seaburge 50.0 Chad Schofield
9. $41.00 Humidor 52.5 Michael Walker
10. $12.00 He's Our Rokkii 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
11. $9.50 Palentino 57.0 Mark Zahra
12. $7.50 Voodoo Lad 55.0 Blake Shinn
13. $31.00 Stratum Star 56.0 Damian Lane
14. $20.00 Bon Aurum 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy
15. $16.00 Thunder Fantasy 55.0 Tye Angland
16. $81.00 Great Esteem 52.0 Chris Parnham

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:34.92

Bet now on the Cantala Stakes

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join luxbet 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

Cantala Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Le Romain Mccreery Tivaci 1:34.9
2015 Turn Me Loose Politeness Rock Sturdy 1:36.2
2014 Hucklebuck Lucky Hussler The Cleaner 1:34.6
2013 Boban Smokin' Joey Speediness 1:36.5
2012 Happy Trails Fawkner Secret Admirer 1:35.9
2011 Albert The Fat King's Rose Secret Admirer 1:36.0
2010 Wall Street Dao Dao Chasm 1:36.7
2009 All American So You Think Gold Salute 1:33.9
2008 All Silent Sea Battle Mimi Lebrock 1:35.8
2007 Tears I Cry Bird Dancer Shinzig 1:35.2
2006 Divine Madonna Niconero Valedictum 1:35.5
2005 Valedictum Infinite Grace Shania Dane 1:34.9
2004 Sky Cuddle Lad Of The Manor Skewiff 1:39.1
2003 Titanic Jack True Glo Crawl 1:34.7
2002 Scenic Peak Crawl Excellerator 1:33.4
2001 Desert Eagle Emission La Bella Dama 1:37.3
2000 Testa Rossa Weasel Will Crawl 1:35.5
1999 Bonanova Umrum Nina Haraka 1:38.2
1998 Bezeal Bay Buster Jones Pursuits 1:35.2
1997 Catalan Opening Penghulu Sweet Delight 1:34.9
1996 Miss Margaret Scenic Royale Headstrong 1:35.8
1995 Seascay Tolanda Juggler 1:36.0
1994 Seascay Idea Western Red 1:37.0
1993 Primacy Excited Angel Pharoah 1:37.2
1992 Planet Ruler Soho Square = 2 Vows = 2 1:34.2
1991 Pontormo Shaftesbury Avenue Prince Salieri 1:35.1
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue Spot The Rock Pressmans Choice 1:36.8
1989 Better Loosen Up Our Krona Swiftsynd 1:35.4
1988 Our Westminster Eastern Classic True Dreams 1:38.0
1987 Warned Groucho Isomer 1:35.5
1986 Chanteclair Eastern Classic True Dreams 1:38.0
1985 Dazzling Duke Mrs. Fitzherbet Lord Ballina 1:38.7
1984 Riverdale Exemplify Keepers 1:37.0
1983 Honest Promise French Current Feeling Fit 1:35.1
1982 Magari Getting Closer Pride Of Century 1:37.3
1981 Tower Belle Pride Of Century Sovereign Red 1:35.4
1980 Silver Bounty Blazing Bags Western Bay 1:35.9