horse racing info

Bill Ritchie Handicap

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is a Group 3 race for 3yo and upward horses held each September in Sydney at Randwick racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Bill Ritchie Handicap was won by Comin' Through from Tom Melbourne with Burning Passion third.

This race takes place on the same day as the Gr1 George Main Stakes and the winner is exempt from a ballot and penalty in the Epsom Handicap.

2018 Bill Ritchie Handicap info

Date: Saturday 15th September 2018
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo+ Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2017 Winner: Comin' Through

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is a handicap race over 1400m and can sometimes attract horses planning to progress to the Gr1 Epsom Handicap on the final day of the carnival over an extra 200 metres.

Generally won by a handy horse rather than a topliner, the Bill Ritchie Handicap has not been a great guide to the Epsom Handicap in recent times, although Captain Sonador (2010) managed to win the Epsom at his next start after running third in this race.

Races such as the Gr3 Newcastle Cameron Handicap at Newcastle and to a lesser extent the Gr2 Theo Marks Stakes at Rosehill are sometimes used as lead-up races to this event.

Comin' Through (2017) took out a BM90 race over 1400m at Randwick before scoring a solid victory in this event and recent Bill Ritchie Handicap winners include Sons Of John (2016) and Sadler's Lake (2015).

2017 Bill Ritchie Handicap result

1. $2.30 Comin' Through 53.0 Michael Walker
2. $3.20 Tom Melbourne 57.0 Blake Shinn
3. $5.50 Burning Passion 56.0 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $61.00 Pajaro 54.5 Andrew Adkins
5. $11.00 No Doubt 53.0 Jeff Penza
6. $14.00 New Tipperary 53.5 Brenton Avdulla
7. $41.00 Havana Cooler 57.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:21.67

Bet now on the Bill Ritchie Handicap

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Bill Ritchie Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Comin' Through Tom Melbourne Burning Passion 1:21.6
2016 Sons Of John Torgersen Federal 1:22.7
2015 Sadler's Lake Rudy Heart Testa 1:24.7
2014 Manawanui Rock Sturdy Tougher Than Ever 1:21.7
2013 Boban Beltone Choice Bro 1:21.8
2012 Steps In Time Said Com Wild And Proud 1:23.1
2011 Thankgodyou'rehere Startsmeup Miss Keepsake 1:22.2
2010 Drumbeats Kenny's World Captain Sonador 1:22.8
2009 McClintock Walking Or Dancing Faulconbridge 1:23.5
2008 Judged Rockwood Kiloton 1:23.1
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Coalesce New Edge Flaming 1:21.6
2005 Flaming Devil Messiaen 1:21.3
2004 Osca Warrior Utzon In a Bound 1:21.7
2003 Zabarra Britt's Best Forum Floozie 1:22.6
2002 Zabarra This Manshood Swiss Echo 1:23.8
2001 Fouardee Defier Adamantly 1:21.7
2000 Landsighting Tie The Knot Valuate 1:21.7
1999 Brave Prince Al Mansour Stanzaic 1:23.0
1998 Bezeal Bay Deep Snip Super Crest 1:22.8
1997 Holy Roller Pimpala Son Prairie 1:23.7
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille Persian Flyer Headstrong 1:23.2
1995 Monopolize Juggler Flight To Fantasy 1:22.6
1994 Rouslan Over The Top Big Dreams 1:22.2
1993 Belas Knap Cohort Telesto/Mighty Tango 1:21.6
1992 Prince Of Praise East Ocean Friend Stormy Guest 1:22.2
1991 Rechabite Somalia Be Able 1:24.0
1990 Our Poverty Bay Remember Peter Mocha 1:22.7
1989 Royal Reel Our Palliser Black Routine 1:23.5
1988 Pleasant Flight Gold Trump Regal Native 1:22.2