horse racing info

Crystal Mile

The Crystal Mile is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held each year at Moonee Valley racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $200,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Crystal Mile was won by Lucky Hussler from Religify with It's Somewhat third.

Formerly an open handicap event, the Crystal Mile changed to a weight-for-age race in 2012 to enable a WFA race to be held over 1600m between the Group 1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield in October and the Group 1 Cantala Stakes at Flemington in November.

This race is held on the same day as the Moonee Valley Racing Club's most prestigious race, the Group 1 WS Cox Plate.

2018 Crystal Mile info

Date: Saturday 27th October 2018
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2017 Winner: Lucky Hussler

The Crystal Mile is the prominent mile race of the spring for the Moonee Valley Racing Club and usually attracts above average horses to make a hotly contested race. The race suits strong milers who can run a solid 1600m, and those horses with good track & distance form around the tight Moonee Valley track have a decided advantage over any interstate horses racing at the track for the first time.

The Gr1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield provides provides the ideal lead up to this event and horses contesting this race might consider making their way to the Gr1 Emirates Stakes on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington. Turn Me Loose (2015) was the last galloper to take out the Crystal Mile & Emirates Stakes double.

Now that the Crystal Mile is a weight-for-age event the better horses engaged are destined to figure in the finish most of the time. Generally the winner of this race will simply be a more than handy miler best suited in Group 2 races or lower, but occasionally the winner may be capable of winning a Group 1 event later in the spring.

Lucky Hussler (2017) ran unplaced in the Listed Weekend Hussler Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before demolishing his rivals in this event and recent Crystal Mile winners include The United States (2016) and Turn Me Loose (2015).

Spring Carnival Guide

The Murray Baker trained Turn Me Loose (2015) claimed the Emirates Stakes at Flemington after winning this race and Speediness (2nd in 2013) ran third in the Emirates Stakes following his second in the Crystal Mile. Rain Drum (4th in 2013) ran second in the Gr3 Eclipse Stakes at Sandown.

He's Remarkable (3rd in 2011) finished runner-up in the Gr1 Railway Stakes at Ascot in Perth after running third in this race, while Gathering (6th in 2010) managed to win Railway Stakes after finishing unplaced here.

All American (3rd in 2009) went on to win the Emirates Stakes during the Melbourne Cup carnival at Flemington while Sea Battle (2nd 2008) managed to finish runner-up in the 2008 Emirates Stakes.

Orange County (2nd in 2007) won the 2008 Gr1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes the following spring while Tears I Cry (3rd in 2007) took out the Emirates Stake the following month.

2017 Crystal Mile result

1. $9.00 Lucky Hussler 59.0 Blake Shinn
2. $5.00 Religify 59.0 Hugh Bowman
3. $4.40 It's Somewhat 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy
4. $5.50 Sound Proposition 59.0 Corey Brown
5. $6.00 Burning Front 59.0 Mark Zahra
6. $17.00 Wyndspelle 58.5 Beau Mertens
7. $11.00 Antonio Giuseppe 59.0 Craig Williams
8. $31.00 Calderon 59.0 Luke Currie
9. $19.00 Petrology 59.0 Cory Parish

Margins: 3 len, 1 len
Time: 1:34.56

Bet now on the Crystal Mile

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Crystal Mile recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Lucky Hussler Religify It's Somewhat 1:34.5
2016 The United States Lidari Ulmann 1:39.7
2015 Turn Me Loose Bow Creek Lucky Hussler 1:35.0
2014 Hooked Bull Point Desert Jeuney 1:34.9
2013 Toydini Speediness Sacred Falls 1:36.0
2012 Silent Achiever Rangirangdoo Solzhenitsyn 1:35.6
2011 Testa My Patience Hawks Bay He's Remarkable 1:36.7
2010 Sound Journey Trader Drumbeats 1:36.7
2009 Rangirangdoo Sound Of Nature All American 1:34.9
2008 Sea Battle Conquering Orange County 1:36.3
2007 Sonic Quest Orange County Tears I Cry 1.35.9
2006 Flash Trick New Edge Rockford Bay 1:37.2
2005 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Potential 1:39.4
2004 Lad Of The Manor Lord Mick Sir Dex 1:37.0
2003 Rosina Lad Walk On Air Archave 1:38.3
2002 Royal Code Weasel Will Excellerator 1:36.5
2001 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Typhoon 1:37.3
2000 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Czar Hero 1:38.7
1999 Le Zagaletta Daicos Bebetto 1:36.6
1998 Rustic Dream Corporate James Irish Air 1:36.0
1997 Holy Roller Miss Tessla Mighty Way 1:36.2
1996 Lochrae Scenic Royale Buzzoff 1:36.6
1995 Juggler State Taj Sportsbeat 1:36.7
1994 State Taj Play Or Pay Innocent King 1:35.1
1993 Carsons Cash Station Hand Mr Untouchable 1:34.3
1992 Solvit Vows Instrumental 1:33.8
1991 Fire Commander Brunchtime Gamine/Cheval C'lier 1:35.2
1990 Ark Regal Comrade Brilliant Invasion 1:33.2
1989 Fendalton High Baliff Acid Print 1:34.6
1988 True Dreams Tierra Rist Eastern Classic 1:36.9