, Caulfield Guineas - Caulfield Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Caulfield Guineas

The Caulfield Guineas is a classic Group 1 race for three-year-olds held annually at Caulfield racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight conditions and worth $2,000,000 in prize money. The 2020 Caulfield Guineas was won by Ole Kirk from Aysar with Grandslam third.

Caulfield Guineas day kicks off the big three-day Caulfield spring racing carnival in style with four group one races on the card, including the female equivalent of this race, the Thousand Guineas. Supporting feature races include the Caulfield Stakes and Toorak Handicap.

The Caulfield carnival runs over consecutive Saturdays, with the second day being held midweek on the Wednesday. The final Saturday is highlighted by Caulfield's premier race, the time honoured Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

Caulfield Guineas info

Date: Saturday 9th October 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Open - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $2,000,000
2020 Winner: Ole Kirk
spring racing 2021 Caulfield Guineas odds

The Caulfield Guineas is the Melbourne Racing Club's premier event for three-year-olds and has earned a great reputation over the years as one of the classic races of the spring racing carnival for 3yo gallopers. The winner of this race is eligible for a $250,000 bonus by winning the Caulfield Classic (formerly Norman Robinson Stakes) the following Saturday.

First run in 1881, the Caulfield Guineas attracts the best colts & geldings available, along with and more than capable fillies, and is generally won by a top class three-year-old who often goes on to bigger and better things in seasons to come.

The race itself has proven a wonderful guide to stars of the future and quality gallopers such as All Too Hard (2012), Starspangledbanner (2009), Weekend Hussler (2007), Lonhro (2001), Redoute's Choice (1999) and Mahogany (1993) have all won this event. The last filly to win the Caulfield Guineas was the brilliant Surround in 1976.

It's not a race that leads to Caulfield Cup or Melbourne Cup winners very often. Caulfield Guineas winners seem to perform best in the WS Cox Plate where they receive a significant weight advantage over the older horses.

The Gr2 Stan Fox Stakes in Sydney in September has provided multiple Caulfield Guineas winners in recent times with both Press Statement (2015) and Shooting To Win (2014) claiming the Stan Fox Stakes & Caulfield Guineas double.

Super Seth (2019) ran fifth in the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude over 1400m at Caulfield before flying home in the final 100 metres to score a breathtaking victory in this event for trainer Anthony Freedman.

Recent Caulfield Guineas winners include The Autumn Sun (2018) and Mighty Boss (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Soul Patch (8th in 2019) scored an outstanding victory in the Group 2 Moonee Valley Vase at his next start, while Levendi (6th in 2017) headed to Flemington to capture the Gr3 Carbine Club Stakes during the Melbourne Cup Carnival following his unlucky run in the Guineas.

Sacred Elixir (8th in 2106) won the Moonee Valley Vase at his next start and Good Standing (7th in 2016) took out the Gr3 Caulfield Classic at Caulfield.

Top gallopers All Too Hard (2012) and Pierro (2nd in 2012) went on to run second and third respectively in the WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley before retiring the following autumn.

Manawanui (2nd in 2011) also snared Moonee Valley Vase after finishing second in this event.

Starspangledbanner (2009) went on to win the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate and then ran third in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap the following autumn before venturing overseas and enjoying Group 1 success on the world stage.

Manhattan Rain (3rd in 2009) was runner-up in the 2009 Cox Plate as a three-year-old after a third placing in this race, while So You Think (5th in 2009) went on to score a memorable win in the 2009 Cox Plate under the Bart Cumming's polish.

Whobegotyou (2008) won the AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley later in the spring before finishing runner-up in the Group 1 Victoria Derby at Flemington. Whobegotyou also went on to win the Gr2 Feehan Stakes (2009-10) and Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2009)

2019 Caulfield Guineas result

1. $7.50 Super Seth 56.5 Mark Zahra
2. $5.00 Alligator Blood 56.5 Ryan Maloney
3. $13.00 Groundswell 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $16.00 Subedar 56.5 Brad Rawiller
5. $3.60 Dalasan 56.5 Hugh Bowman
6. $51.00 Conqueror 56.5 Damian Lane
7. $41.00 Vegas Knight 56.5 Craig Williams
8. $17.00 Soul Patch 56.5 Dwayne Dunn
9. $41.00 Skiddaw 56.5 Damien Oliver
10. $151.00 Stand To Attention 56.5 James Winks
11. $26.00 Roccabascerana 56.5 Ms Linda Meech
12. $21.00 Express Pass 56.5 Ben Melham
13. $31.00 Yourdeel 56.5 Michael Walker
14. $7.50 Kubrick 56.5 James McDonald
15. $31.00 Eric The Eel 56.5 Brett Prebble
16. $201.00 Exeter 56.5 Luke Nolen

Margins: 0.1 len, 2.25 len
Time: 1:36.44

Bet now on the Caulfield Guineas

We recommended Unibet for the best Caulfield Guineas odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Caulfield Guineas winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Ole Kirk Aysar Grandslam 1:36.3
2019 Super Seth Alligator Blood Groundswell 1:36.4
2018 The Autumn Sun Vassilator Oohood 1:35.5
2017 Mighty Boss Kementari Catchy 1:36.0
2016 Divine Prophet Seaburge Hey Doc 1:36.5
2015 Press Statement Lizard Island Ready For Victory 1:36.4
2014 Shooting To Win Rich Enuff Wandjina 1:35.5
2013 Long John Divine Calling Shamus Award 1:36.7
2012 All Too Hard Pierro Epaulette 1:36.0
2011 Helmet Manawanui Huegill 1:35.3
2010 Anacheeva Run For Levi Masquerader 1:37.0
2009 Starspangledbanner Carrara Manhattan Rain 1:35.6
2008 Whobegotyou Time Thief Von Costa De Hero 1:36.4
2007 Weekend Hussler Scenic Blast Marching 1.36.4
2006 Wonderful World Excites Court Command 1.35.9
2005 Gods Own Paratroopers Primus 1.37.6
2004 Econsul Barely A Moment Under Command 1.38.0
2003 In Top Swing Face Value Kempinsky 1.36.0
2002 Helenus Bel Esprit Choisir 1.35.4
2001 Lonhro Ustinov Pure Theatre 1.36.7
2000 Show A Heart Fubu Sale Of Century 1.35.8
1999 Redoutes Choice Testa Rossa Commands 1.35.8
1998 Kenwood Melody Lauries Lottery Spectacular Gold 1.38.0
1997 Encounter Schubert General Nediym 1.36.2
1996 Alfa Intergaze Encosta De Lago 1.35.9
1995 Our Maizcay Ravarda Octagonal 1.36.7
1994 St Covet Marwina Blevic 1.35.6
1993 Mahogany Port Watch Lets Cut Loose 1.36.3
1992 Palace Reign Palace Symphony Shoeshine Henry 1.45.4
1991 Chortle Naturalism Ready To Explode 1.36.7
1990 Centro Integra Chime Zam 1.38.3
1989 Procol Harum Zamoff Prince Salieri 1.37.8
1988 Vitalic Almurtajaz Kings High 1.36.8
1987 Marwong Our Poetic Prince Kaapstad 1.36.1
1986 Abaridy Tristram Broad Reach 1.36.4
1985 Drawn Shankhill Lass Acumen 1.36.5
1984 Red Anchor Lord Of Camelot Spirit Of Kingston 1.37.0
1983 Beechcraft Sir Dapper Handsome Seattle 1.36.5
1982 Grosvenor Veloso Cossack Prince 1.37.9
1981 Binbinga Lead Role Rose Of Kingston 1.36.5
1980 Sovereign Red Joy Summer Devant 1.38.2
1979 Runaway Kid Bold Diplomat Kingston Town 1.40.8
1978 Manikato Karaman Hauberk 1.36.6
1977 Luskin Star Princess Talaria Guns Away 1.37.8
1976 Surround Family Of Man Great Lover 1.41.1