horse racing info

The Metropolitan

The Metropolitan is a Group 1 handicap event held annually in early October at Randwick racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2400 metres and worth $750,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 The Metropolitan was won by Foundry from Big Duke with Chocante third.

Held on Epsom Handicap Day on Randwick's biggest race day of the soring, The Metropolitan takes place alongside the Group 1 Epsom Handicap and Group 1 Flight Stakes.

2017 The Metropolitan info

Date: Saturday 30th September 2017
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: 3yo&up Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $750,000
2017 Winner: Foundry

The Metropolitan is the premier staying event of the ATC spring racing carnival at Randwick and is run run under much the same conditions as the Gr1 Caulfield Cup in Melbourne later in the spring.

The race is more often than not won by a solid handicapper rather than a top galloper and the list of winners in this race has been quite diverse. In recent years, Tawqueet (2006) and Railings (2005) both travelled to Melbourne and won the first leg of the major spring double in Melbourne, the Caulfield Cup over 2400m, while Kelinni (2nd in 2012) managed to clam the Gr3 The Lexus Stakes at Flemington dorung the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

The Gr3 Kingston Town Stakes at Rosehill the previous month is a handy lead in to this race, but the Gr3 Colin Stephen Quality held one week earlier at the same course and distance has been the best guide in recent times.

Railings (2005), Dress Circle (2001), Coco Cobana (2000), Vita Man (1999), In Joyment (1998), Heart Ruler (1997), and Hula Flight (1996) all won the Colin Stephen Quality then went on to win The Metropolitan.

County Tyrone (2004) ran 3rd in the Newcastle Gold Cup over a similar distance of 2300m before winning this race, while Lodge The Deeds (2nd in 2009) ran second in both races in the spring of 2009.

Foundry (2017) ran fourth in a Handicap race over 2040m at Moonee valley in Melbourne before heading to Sydney to win this event and recent The Metropolitan winners include Sir John Hawkwood (2016) and Magic Hurricane (2015).

horse racing free bet

2017 The Metropolitan result

1. $10.00 Foundry 50.5 Michael Dee
2. $5.00 Big Duke 55.0 Brenton Avdulla
3. $21.00 Chocante 54.5 Corey Brown

then followed
4. $16.00 Who Shot Thebarman 57.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $6.50 Broadside 52.0 Tim Clark
6. $8.50 Libran 57.0 Glyn Schofield
7. $6.50 Antonio Giuseppe 54.5 Joao Moreira
8. $91.00 My Diamantine 50.0 Andrew Spinks
9. $4.20 Life Less Ordinary 51.0 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $41.00 Destiny's Kiss 55.5 Jason Collett

Margins: 0.5 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:27.73

Bet now on the The Metropolitan

join sportsbet Get Best of the three Aussie TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join crownbet Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join william hill Best of fixed odds taken or best TAB odds with 'Best Tote' Bet now

The Metropolitan recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Foundry Big Duke Chocante 2:27.7
2016 Sir John Hawkwood Antonio Giuseppe Allergic 2:30.4
2015 Magic Hurricane Beaten Up Havana Cooler 2:28.5
2014 Junoob Opinion Araldo 2:26.5
2013 Seville Julienas Sneak A Peek 2:32.0
2012 Glencadam Gold Kelinni Reuben Percival 2:29.7
2011 The Verminator Hawk Island Lamasery 2:33.4
2010 Herculian Prince Mourayan No Wine No Song 2:29.9
2009 Speed Gifted Lodge The Deeds Fiumicino 2:35.1
2008 Newport Bianca Get Up Jude 2:33.0
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Tawqeet Activation Vanquished 2:31.1
2005 Railings Run Rita Run Men At Work 2:28.5
2004 County Tyrone Itemise Don Raphael 2:33.6
2003 Bedouin Daneborogh Bodie 2:34.4
2002 Victory Smile Piachay Dress Circle 2:31.3
2001 Dress Circle Danyon Homewrecker 2:29.4
2000 Coco Cobanna Pasta Express Citra's Prince 2:44.3
1999 Vita Man Able Master Ask The Waiter 2:48.4
1998 In Joyment Doriemus Joss Sticks 2:45.7
1997 Heart Ruler Linesman Court Of Honour 2:41.6
1996 Hula Flight Nothin' Leica Dane Saintly 2:44.4
1995 Electronic The Phantom Chance Stony Bay 2:42.5
1994 Glastonbury Oompala Irish Rort 2:41.6
1993 Zamination Azzaam (USA) Salcantay 2:49.0
1992 Te Akau Nick Sir Winston Beachside 2:44.1
1991 Lord Revenir Maharajah Magnolia Hall 2:41.1
1990 Donegal Mist I'm In Heaven Princeville 2:44.0
1989 Hunter Sea Legend Coshking 2:42.8
1988 Natski Zamakima Copatonic 2:41.8
1987 Balciano Kensei The Brotherhood 2:40.8
1986 Born To Be Queen Indian Raj Rising Fear 2:42.2
1985 Spritely Native Foxseal Mr. Mako 2:44.2
1984 Hayai Our Compromise Foxseal 2:43.0
1983 Hayai Chiamare Noble Heights 2:27.8
1982 Nicholas John Lancelotto Wellington Road 2:42.5
1981 Belmura Lad Peninsula El Laurena 2:42.3
1980 Brindisi Sovita Sutimie 2:42.0
1979 Earthquake McGoon Red Nose Salamander 2:42.0
1978 Ming Dynasty Arwon Popular Demand 2:45.2
1977 Sir Serene Grey Affair Clear Day 2:41.1
1976 Battle Heights Participator Gold And Black 2:46.9
1975 Bon Teint Calypso Leica Lover 2:43.7
1974 Passetreul Frozen Section High Sail 2:43.3
1973 Analie Campanello Gold Skin 2:42.7
1972 Altai Khan Mixed Grill Passetreul 2:46.3
1971 Oncidon Tails Lincoln's Inn 2:43.1
1970 Tails Charlemagne Gallicus 2:45.0