horse racing info

Hill Stakes

The Hill Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age event held at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales, during the Sydney spring racing carnival in September each year. The race is run over a distance of 1800 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Hill Stakes was won by Ace High from It's Somewhat with Egg Tart third.

Held on the same day as the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, the Hill Stakes is a good support race on Randwick's biggest feature race day of the spring.

Hill Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th October 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $500,000
2018 Winner: Ace High

The Hill Stakes is raced at weight-for-age and usually attracts better type horses, although some years it can be contested by just an ordinary bunch. Some quality horses have saluted in this race including Tie the Knot (1999), Arena (1998), Saintly (1996) and the great miler Super Impose in 1991.

Horses who contested the Gr2 Chelmsford Stakes over 1600m earlier in the carnival at Rosehill might consider tackling the extra distance of this race. Hartnell (2016) and Trusting (2011) are the most recent gallopers to win the Chelmsford Stakes & Hill Stakes double.

Those gallopers looking for a bit of extra distance might consider going on to a race like the Gr3 Craven Plate over 2000m at Randwick, as it is run under the same weight-for-age conditions. Classic Uniform (2017) is the last galloper to win the Hill Stakes & Craven Plate double. Mourayan (2012) took out the Craven Plate at his next start after finishing second in this event.

The 2015 Hill Stakes proved to be a great guide to upcoming feature race winners with the first three placegetters all winning at their next start. Preferment (2015) took out the Gr1 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington in Melbourne, as did Hartnell (2016) the following year. Magic Hurricane (2nd in 2015) and Complacent (3rd in 2015) both headed to Randwick to claim the Gr1 The Metropolitan and Gr3 Craven Plate respectively.

Ace High (2018) ran fourth in the Gr1 George Main Stakes over 1600m at Randwick before scoring an easy victory in this event for trainer David Payne.

Recent Hill Stakes winners include Classic Uniform (2017) and Hartnell (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Hill Stakes result

1. $3.00 Ace High 58.0 Tye Angland
2. $6.50 It's Somewhat 59.0 James McDonald
3. $2.50 Egg Tart 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $12.00 One Foot In Heaven 59.0 Tommy Berry
5. $17.00 Luvaluva 56.0 Michael Walker
6. $19.00 Who Shot Thebarman 59.0 Hugh Bowman
7. $151.00 Master Of Arts 59.0 Craig Williams
8. $81.00 Allergic 59.0 Jason Collett
9. $21.00 Satono Rasen 59.0 Glyn Schofield
10. $201.00 Prince Cheri 59.0 Corey Brown

Margins: 2 len, 0.2 len
Time: 2:02.57

Bet now on the Hill Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Hill Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Hill Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Ace High It's Somewhat Egg Tart 2:02.5
2017 Classic Uniform Embley Mackintosh 1:49.9
2016 Hartnell Who Shot Thebarman Storm The Stars 2:04.1
2015 Preferment Magic Hurricane Complacent 2:06.8
2014 Junoob Criterion Bagman 2:06.1
2013 Moriarty Glencadam Gold Masked Marvel 2:03.6
2012 Lamasery Mourayan Lights Of Heaven 2:06.2
2011 Trusting Hawk Island Tullamore 2:02.9
2010 Descarado Triple Honour Purple 1:56.4
2009 Miss Marielle Pacino Roman Emperor 1:56.1
2008 Fiumicino Dealer Principal Hurrah 1:57.3
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Desert War Eremein Grand Zulu 1:56.3
2005 Desert War Portland Singa Dizelle 1:56.7
2004 Natural Blitz Vouvray Just Polite 1:56.6
2003 Excellerator Platinum Scissors Carnegie Express 1:56.8
2002 Dress Circle Bedouin Republic Lass 1:56.6
2001 Mulan Princess Altiero Dottoressa 1:47.0
2000 Pasta Express Pravda Padfoot Charlie 1:57.8
1999 Tie The Knot Joss Sticks Melora 1:58.8
1998 Arena Yippyio Super Slew 1:57.2
1997 Ebony Grosve Alfa Sharscay 1:59.2
1996 Saintly Nothin' Leica Dane Donar 1:56.3
1995 Stony Bay Flying Spur Joie Denise 1:57.4
1994 Slight Chance Simulcast Irish Rort 1:55.0
1993 Silk Ali Durbridge Kingston Bay 1:56.4
1992 Muirfield Village Super Impose Better Loosen Up 1:55.7
1991 Super Impose Just A Dancer Stargazer 1:56.7
1990 Eastern Classic Stargazer Right Missile 1:48.2
1989 Riverina Charm Zamoff Young Carbinier 1:45.6
1988 Natural Habit Balciano Lord Hybrow 1:53.9