horse racing info

Craven Plate

The Craven Plate is a Group 3 weight-for-age race that takes place at Randwick racecourse in early October each year in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $500,000 in prizemoney. The 2017 Craven Plate was won by Classic Uniform from Happy Clapper with Mccreery third.

Held during the during the Sydney spring racing carnival, the Craven Plate received a huge prizemoney boost this year to make it a more attractive proposition for champion gallopers who were likely heading to Melbourne for the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes on the same day.

Craven Plate info

Date: Saturday 13th October 2018
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $500,000
2017 Winner: Classic Uniform

The Craven Plate is the last weight-for-age race of the spring carnival in Sydney and the middle distance race suits those who are not contesting feature Group 1 events, the Epsom Handicap or The Metropolitan.

Generally attracting above average types, rather than the elite, some nice staying types have won this race in recent years including Mummify (2005), Yippio (2000 & 1997), Tie the Knot (1999) and Sharscay (1998).

Horses contesting this race may have previously tackled races like the Gr2 Hill Stakes. Classic Uniform (2017) and Moriarty (2014) were the last two gallopers to claim the Hill Stakes & Craven Plate double.

Classic Uniform (2017) took out the Hill Stakes over 1800m at Randwick before winning this event in narrow fashion and recent Craven Plate winners include It's Somewhat (2016) and Complacent (2015).

2017 Craven Plate result

1. $21.00 Classic Uniform 59.0 Tim Clark
2. $1.50 Happy Clapper 59.0 Blake Shinn
3. $11.00 Mccreery 59.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $6.50 Star Exhibit 59.0 Tye Angland
5. $12.00 Mackintosh 59.0 Brenton Avdulla
6. $151.00 Prince Cheri 59.0 Joshua Parr
7. $21.00 Embley 59.0 Jason Collett
8. $26.00 He's Our Rokkii 59.0 Regan Bayliss
9. $101.00 Shalmaneser 59.0 Andrew Adkins
10. $151.00 Willy White Socks 59.0 Ms Rachel King

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:04.34

Bet now on the Craven Plate

join sportsbet Get best of Australian TABs or SP with 'Top Tote Plus' for racing! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join beteasy Better than three Australian TABs with Best Tote Plus Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Craven Plate odds.

Craven Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Classic Uniform Happy Clapper Mccreery 2:04.3
2016 It's Somewhat Spiritjim Pinstripe Lane 2:02.5
2015 Complacent Hauraki I'm Imposing 2:01.8
2014 Moriarty Rising Romance Vilanova 2:02.6
2013 Honorius Masked Marvel Vaquera 2:03.7
2012 Mourayan Western Symbol Dare To Dream 2:02.4
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Shootoff Gazza Guru 2:04.3
2010 C'est le Guerre Purple Triple Honour 2:02.2
2009 Miss Marielle Nom Du Jeu Fulmonti 2:08.3
2008 Lorne Dancer Riva San Ice Chariot 2:06.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Cateclipse Testafiable Gawne 2:03.4
2005 Mummify Wild Iris Natural Blitz 2:03.1
2004 Fiery Venture Restless Ain't Seen Nothin' 2:07.8
2003 Shower of Roses So Assertive Mon Mekki 2:02.8
2002 Manner Hill Spillway Forest Jim 2:03.9
2001 The Man Altiero Viva La Vie 1:49.8
2000 Yippyio Pravda Freemason 2:05.6
1999 Tie The Knot Arena Pasta Express 2:01.7
1998 Sharscay Yippyio Turridu 2:02.8
1997 Yippyio Magic Of Sydney Kassani 2:01.7
1996 Adventurous Saintly Donar 2:02.0
1995 Stony Bay Protara's Bay Desert Chill 2:03.0
1994 Fraternity Silk Ali Deposition 2:03.8
1993 Mahaya Durbridge Oppressor 2:04.2
1992 Telesto Donegal Mist Captain Cook 2:02.9
1991 Lord Revenir Just A Dancer Dorset Downs 2:04.2
1990 Dual Treasures Just Trish High Regard 2:02.8
1989 Sarah Fay Coshking Final Scene 2:01.7
1988 Balciano Regal Prize Sound Gold 2:05.2